We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Trying not to be overly critical but.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Asheville
Ranked #39 of 63 Hotels in Asheville
GreenLeadersBronze level
Saint Helena Island, South Carolina
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Trying not to be overly critical but.....”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I was disappointed in the room. Loyal Marriott customer and of all the local choices decided to try Springhill. My first and last time for this hotel concept. Room was regular size room cut up with a few walls which made the bed area extremely tight. Due to the tight spaces it puts the a/c unit within a foot of the bed. Typical wall unit without ability to modify blower speed so noisy and air blows on person sleeping on that side if the bed.....just poorly designed room. Staff member acknowledged that others also complain and newer properties may have resolved this. Do not stay in king size bedded room if this might be a problem for you. 2 queen rooms might be better so you can avoid the bed by the a/c. Window does open so you can turn unit off in good weather.
Housekeeping dropped the ball as well...old water bottle from prior guest left in corner and forgot to service our room one day. On the + side staff and breakfast comments from others are on target. Lots of folks staying here though so they must be okay with things, but not for me with so many other, higher rated choices nearby at comparable price.

Room Tip: Choose 2 queen room so more space than king. Top floor best to avoid noise from above. Walls are th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shsasheville, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Asheville, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Please accept my apologies for the inconveniences your experienced during your recent visit. Room layout isn't an easy fix and I certainly understand your views. The issues with housekeeping however are completely in our control and just as you said, we dropped the ball. Our goal is to have our guests look forward to returing to visit and I wish the same for you. If there is ever any way i can assist you when returning to our fine city, please do not hesitate to reach out to me. Thank you for your comments and rest assured, these incidences will be used to provide better service to our guests. I wish you only the most pleasant of stays with Marriott in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    135
    74
    29
    15
See reviews for
139
105
6
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The hotel rooms were very clean and quite large. With two queen beds and a separate space with a oversized couch (pullout) and desk/kitchenette area it would work well for a family. The shower and toilet could also be closed off from the sink area which made getting ready easier with multiple people. Housekeeping and staff at the breakfast area were very friendly and cheerful. There was a nice selection of items at breakfast -best of all, USA Today or the WSJ for guests. Located just off highway 40; it is only a couple minutes driving to downtown Asheville. It was a good value for the price of the room. We would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lebowski93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shsasheville, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Asheville, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Your kindness is so appreciated and we are happy your experience in Asheville, as well as our hotel was pleasant. Our goal is to provide excellent customer service to our guests in hope you will return for a future visit. We are already looking forward to your return! Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, NC
Level Contributor
139 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We recently spent a weekday night at this hotel. The room was large and clean. The breakfast had many choices including scrambled eggs, biscuits with gravy, bagels and fruit. The lady at the breakfast area was very nice and friendly and greeted every guest personally when they arrived to eat.
Overall it was a very nice experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mongo1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shsasheville, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Asheville, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
On behalf of the entire team at SpringHill Suites Asheville, thank you for your kindness! We are pleased your experience here was great and invite you to visit us again anytime. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Ridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I stayed here because the of the reviews. The staff is very friendly and polite (especially the breakfast waitstaff). My room was large w/sitting area and kitchenette. The sink are was seperated from the bath and shower. The furniture is already showing wear but the room and bath were clean. The hotel is close to the shopping mall. Breakfast was the usual fare (cereal, fruit, yogurt, pastries, bread, potatoes, sausage patties and scrambled eggs).

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trvln_d_wrld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shsasheville, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Asheville, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for staying at the SpringHill Suites Asheville...and for your compliments of our hotel and staff. Our team takes pride in providing excellent service to our guests in an effort to make you feel at home the moment you walk through our doors. Please visit us again in the future and as always, we wish you pleasant stays with Marriott.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buford, Georgia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Nice to have the space for the entire family to stay in one room. We were in Asheville for a lacrosse tournament at Buncombe Sports Park. An easy drive to the sports park, but close to a lot of restaurants and the downtown area for our free time. My kids enjoyed the indoor pool, and the courtesy breakfast buffet simplifies our mornings as we rush out the door. We have stayed at two different Springhill Suites this summer for tournaments, and both times there was a limited selection available for breakfast prior to the official start of the breakfast buffet, good for families with early game times that need to get out the door before 7:00 am!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justine_Warnstrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shsasheville, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Asheville, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you so much for you complimentary review of our hotel. I am pleased to know that you and your family enjoyed a comfortable and convenient stay with us. Our goal is to provide a pleasant experience for each guest in hopes that you will return to visit when you're in Asheville in the future. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
Level Contributor
831 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 392 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We just love this new Marriott suite concept hotel. Our room was very large, with a sitting area that came with a small kitchenette. The two queen size beds provided plenty of room. Bathroom has the toilet and shower separated from the sink area. Makes it easy to get ready for multiple people.

The staff is super friendly, especially the breakfast crew. The front desk person gave us $2 off coupon to Chimney Rock State Park when he provided direction to the park. We used this hotel as the base to explore near by attractions like the Blue Ridge Parkway and Great Smoky Mountain National Park. Asheville itself offers many interesting locations.

If we ever visit again, this will be the top choice! It is close to many restaurants, a gas station, and a mall. Our room was in the back with a view to the forest. Very quiet. Breakfast had the usual cereal, continental items, as well as sausage patties and scrambled eggs.

Room Tip: Pick the ones facing the forest
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brown_Samantha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shsasheville, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Asheville, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear Samantha,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on our property SpringHill Suites Asheville.
We are delighted that your stay with us was enjoyable.
Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience and your feedback is extremely valuable.
We will see you again on your next trip to Asheville!!

Sincerely,
Joylyn
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Arrived around 8:30 p.m. and everything went well. Reserved a suite through central reservation number, and somehow got changed to three suites. Corrected without a problem. Went to room and all was well. It appeared that the room had been remodeled maybe in the last year. Nice size, two double beds, partial wall separation from sitting area with pull out sofa bed. Liked that the bathroom sink and vanity was outside the private area of tub/toilet (spacious area, too). Expedited everyone getting ready, plus the mirrors didn't fog up after a shower. Full size mirror, too, as I recall in sink area. At first, we thought there was no hair dryer, but found it in a bag in the closet. Nice kitchenette style area with a separate sink, microwave, and refrigerator, desk.

Left hotel and ate at Carraba's next door since it was so late. Left hotel around 10:45 p.m. pick someone up at concert at the Grey Eagle. It's a little tricky finding it, especially at night, if you've never been there. We returned about midnight, and only one parking space left. Maybe there is an arrangement with one of the other businesses close by when more are needed, I don't know. The four disabled spots were open. In the morning, there were several kids in the hallways wearing soccer uniforms. I didn't hear them in the night or the morning. Slept soundly. We did not get up in time to try the breakfast so cannot comment on that. All, in all, I would stay at this hotel again. The room worked well for two adult females and an older teenage boy.

Room Tip: Three stories. We were on second. There seems to be only one elevator, so that might be an issue fo...
See more room tips
Green Features: The hotel has standard practices of other hotels in this area. Since we stayed just one night, was not an issue.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 61Dianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shsasheville, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Asheville, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear 61Dianne,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on our hotel. We are delighted that your stay with the SpringHill Suites Asheville was enjoyable.

Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience and your feedback is extremely valuable.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Sincerely,
Joylyn
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Asheville
Courtyard Asheville
#42 of 63 in Asheville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road
0.3 mi away
Extended Stay America - Asheville - Tunnel Rd.
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Asheville - Tunnel Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Asheville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Asheville

Property: SpringHill Suites Asheville
Address: 2 Buckstone Pl, Asheville, NC 28805-1808
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Asheville 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for Asheville hotels near Biltmore Estates, downtown Asheville and the Blue Ridge Parkway, experience the modern style of the newly renovated SpringHill Suites Asheville ,which is just minutes from it all. With incredible mountain views and nearby attractions like Chimney Rock Park, the Thomas Wolfe Auditorium, Nantahala Outdoor Center and the North Carolina Arboretum, you will surely enjoy your stay at our award-winning Asheville hotel. Our all suite SpingHill Suites by Marriott Asheville hotel feature rooms that are 25% larger than comparably priced hotel rooms, all while providing the amenities of a modern lifestyle. Enjoy free high-speed Internet, spacious work stations and modern furnishings with innovative room layouts. Our Asheville hotel offers a complimentary hot breakfast buffet, heated indoor pool & spa and a 24-hour fitness center. When visiting beautiful western North Carolina, you will never want to leave and the SpringHill Suites Asheville is here to make your stay memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your SpringHill Suites Asheville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Asheville Hotel Asheville
Asheville Springhill Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing