We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very trendy and cool”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aloft Asheville Downtown
Ranked #19 of 66 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2013

If you like modern, loft style design, this is the place to go. Centrally located in downtown Asheville with easy walking to restaurants, micro brew pubs and shops. We had a mountain view room with a really nice view. Staff was extremely nice and laid back, in a positive way. The parking garage underneath the hotel was only $5 a night and gives direct access to the lobby. Good drink selection at the very cool bar. Would definitely go back!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ralf_Stephanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy G, Starwood Hotels at Aloft Asheville Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013

Hi ralf_Stephanie,

Thank you for your feedback about your stay at Aloft Asheville Downtown. We are happy to know that our staff made you feel welcome and enjoyed our convenient location.

Thank you again for your comments, and we hope to host you in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,004)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

783 - 789 of 1,004 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2013

For now, the location and the newness of the hotel have supplied their saving graces. I can't get into enjoying the juxtaposition of ugly looking color blocks as a style that will endure. But the tastelessness that pervades the exterior, although it does have an influence on the interior, the guest room (witness the orange and blue telephone face), is pleasant and very commodious with plenty of room to pack and unpack and do all the things a traveler must in order to keep on truckin'. A particularly positive feature, the layered window coverings on permanent tracks for sun and privacy are easily operated and allow any amount of the outside- inside. My room had two large front facing windows and a side window. The city view room also had a view of mountains. On the more negative side: Coffee but no coffee cups in the room; an open, partially used roll of tp sitting on top of the tank and none on the spool; no second chair by the seating or desk area for a second guest. In fact no extra seating at all. There was a bench below the wall mounted TV, but that was only useful for holding luggage. The vessel sink required a guest to push the stopper to open and close. I am not sure that I'd want to put my hand in a sink filled with water and hair after a close shave just to drain it. The shower: Too large to turn the shower on and off without standing inside. A burst of cold water or hot water is likely the result for anyone turning it on for the first time. Service: I had to call twice to get two cardboard coffee cups delivered. Lots of youthful guest service representatives. Too youthful to deliver the goods-Service. The female representative at the front desk gave her room instructions so quickly I couldn't catch it all and had to ask for a repeat. So, the hotel is worth a stay but has a few issues that need to be addressed in order to remain in demand.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheCovertCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

My husband and I had a fantastic time in the city of Asheville. Your hotel was in the PERFECT location and our room overlooked the wonderful Smokey Mountains! I would go back in a minute! This hotel is hip and new and totally out of our comfort zone! We loved the bar and even received two drinks on the house! :)

Room Tip: Mountain View! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alissa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy G, Starwood Hotels at Aloft Asheville Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013

Hi Alissa D,

Thank you for your recent stay and sharing your experience with us. We are glad to hear you and your husband enjoyed your trip to Asheville, and your experience here at Aloft.

Come back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Hotel was perfect for a weekend stay in and around Asheville. Service was excellent. Room was clean but a bit small compared to other Aloft hotels. Lounge and lobby were great. Enjoyed breakfast and bar. Live music Fri and Sat nights were a bit odd and didn't fit with city vibe. Everything within walking distance, including Wicked Weed, Hi Wire and local Asheville shops. Highly recommend for anybody visiting Asheville.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank mrola13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Almost gave the Aloft a 3-star, but it's better than that. Almost gave it a 2-star, but it doesn't deserve that.

Aloft is new, hip, youthful, and smack dab in the middle of Asheville's vibrant downtown experience. Parking is in the attached public parking deck and is reasonable. The rooms are trendy-chic, but smacked a bit of IKEA--I worry that in a year or two they will be more shabby-chic than trendy. We booked a corner suite and really loved our spacious room with tremendous views. We were disappointed, however, that there was no club lounge--a feature that we have come to expect as longtime SPG folks. Worse, breakfast was decidedly pre-fab, and kind of expensive, and there weren't many (any?) convenient early-morning breakfast options nearby. The lounge/bar on the second floor was popular, and the city view terrace was a nice place to have a $6 beer. It was also loud, and our Sunday night experience makes me suspect that on the weekends the loudness of downtown in general will be bothersome.

It may be picking nits to complain about housekeeping, but it was (at least for the level of hotel that Aloft aspires to be) very inconsistent. Although the room was in general very clean, every day there was some small thing that wasn't done, or wasn't done right. No creamer in the coffee service, no bath mats, no hand towels, no sugar in the coffee service, no clean glasses, table top obviously not wiped down, sticky bathroom floor: 5 for 5 less-than-perfects on a 5 night stay is not the sort of thing one might hope for.

Anyway--you may LOVE your stay here, or you may be super-frustrated, If you are AT the loud party it won't bother you, and if you only stay a night or two then the housekeeping won't start to chafe. We're closer to love, but will have higher expectations (and a good breakfast plan) when we return.

Room Tip: Street side rooms may be loud--pool level rooms the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Aloft is one of the best places we've stayed in downtown Asheville. Love the decor! Rooms are wonderful! Beautiful view of the mountains. Love, love the shower :) We are looking forward to staying here again!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tiptoe2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindseyVDK, Guest Relations Manager at Aloft Asheville Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2013

Hi tiptoe2013,

So happy to hear you enjoyed your stay here in downtown Asheville! We're glad you liked our unique style, found our rooms comfortable, and enjoyed our breathtaking mountain views.

Come see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Great hotel, friendly staff, comfortable atmosphere and GREAT live music!! They have a pool and a great outdoor lounge area. Parking is easy and lively fun bar area. It is centrally located so you can walk to everything.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Downtown Asheville
Hilton Garden Inn Asheville Downtown
Haywood Park Hotel
#3 of 66 in Asheville
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Asheville
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft Asheville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Asheville Downtown

Address: 51 Biltmore Avenue, Asheville, NC 28801-3626
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville > Downtown Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 66 Hotels in Asheville
Price Range: £136 - £438 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Asheville Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aloft Asheville Downtown hotel offers a great view of the mountains while being situated in the heart of downtown Asheville, within walking distance of shopping, restaurants, and art galleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Aloft Asheville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing