We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location. Made me feel cooler than I actually am.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aloft Asheville Downtown
Ranked #19 of 66 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great location. Made me feel cooler than I actually am.”
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We had so much fun during our stay at the aLoft in Asheville. What a perfect location! Terrific and friendly restaurant right out the front door. The sublime Wicked Weed Brewery is only steps away. Fine spirits shop along the way. Rooms are typical aLoft which means unique layout and style. Fun, fun, fun! The staff is hipster cool so don't expect any phony smiles.

Room Tip: The lobby turns into a nightclub so ask for a room far away to avoid noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BookinIt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

975 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    512
    316
    83
    41
    23
See reviews for
154
493
47
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

Hotel is clean and decorated in a hip way. Breakfast was not included in the price which it should since it was quiet pricy. Aircondition made loads of noise until we put it on auto, then it was fine. When checking out there was no one in the reception so we had to go to another floor and fix that. Unfortunately, we did not get to try the nice pool. All in all, a good experience- and a top notch location.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OnklReisendeMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We enjoyed the central location - the modern design is a contrast with the old buildings downtown, more like you'd expect to see in Berlin, but it is somehow a perfect fit for Asheville. The room was very spacious, the bed was comfortable and it was quiet - contrary to a another recent review, our a/c was much quieter than most we've seen elsewhere. We even enjoyed the hotel bar at the end of a fun night - we usually don't bother with hotel bars but this place had a great jazz player and was a fun place to hang out.Overall, very welcoming and a good change from standard corporate hotel chains...if you want to stay downtown, and are open to a modern style, highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rcccward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oyster Bay, NY
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

First, the positives: the location of this Aloft is excellent for downtown Asheville. Everything is within close walking distance and shops and restaurants are close by. The hotel has the typical Aloft atmosphere of hip, funky and fun. The lounge area on the second floor is busy and vibrant. The staff at the second floor guest services desk (a young man in particular - sorry, cannot remember his name!) were friendly and helpful. Having said that, now the negatives: upon check in, we patiently waited to be somewhat greeted off-handedly by Susan, who had to end her personal phone call to help us. Things went downhill from there. Asking her a simple question about parking elicited a rude comment telling us to "just read the signs". When we inquired about the possibility of a room with a mountain view, she condescendingly told us that at the rate we were paying, we were assigned the "least desirable" room (I believe she called it LQ?) This was after she waffled back and forth, saying we requested a city view (we did not and produced the confirmation to prove this.) At this point, she literally stopped speaking and wouldn't respond to anything else we asked. Awkward!! Since we were only there for one night, we didn't press the issue, but were disappointed that our stay had such a negative start. The room was comfortable, and having stayed at other Alofts, we knew what to expect. However, the room showed some wear and tear and could have been cleaner. No major complaints though. This Aloft has the potential to be great.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank rumurr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy G, Starwood Hotels at Aloft Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Dear rumurr,

Thank you for your review about Aloft Asheville Downtown. We’re happy to hear that you enjoyed the shops and restaurants by our hotel. We’re also glad that the second floor guest services desk was so helpful – we will be sure to let them know. At the same time, we’re sorry to hear about the problems you encountered during check in with our staff. We aim to treat guests with respect and full attention, and we apologize for not upholding this standard upon your check-in service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baku, Azerbaijan
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Bro, check it. You need to be in the city center. This notion that you're going to make it back to some place on the far end of tunnel road at 3 am is totally unfeasible. Stayed here alot for concerts. Always impeccably clean and quiet. Very relaxed vibe, great security. A definite sense of seperate worlds.

Best location I've seen in a hotel.

Room Tip: On the real, SKIP the breakfast. City Bakery next door is the jam and maybe the hangover recovery c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heydar A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy G, Starwood Hotels at Aloft Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Hi Heydar A,

Thank you for your travels to Aloft! We’re so glad to hear you have enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere and location. It is great that you have been able to go to a lot of concerts during your trips. We look forward to seeing you next time, and thank you for recommending us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
277 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Usually, I'm not too picky about hotels, preferring to spend my money on great food, sightseeing, and shopping. This week, though, my husband and I were celebrating our birthdays at a downtown hot spot so we booked a room at this hotel, closest to our destination. When I pay more, I expect more, but this hotel didn't deliver. First, I was put off by the self-conscious hipness of the décor, the staff, even the check-in/out procedures. Starbucks? Wired magazine in the room? No channel guide (printed or on screen) for the TV! I really hated the lava lamp elevator floor -- how many people must throw up in there after an evening of bar hopping? Those complaints reflect my taste. However -- the A/C unit was both incredibly noisy and unable to keep the room at a comfortable sleeping temperature: the noise jarred us awake each time it cycled. The so-chic blinds didn't really block much light from the street. The shower was outfitted with bath gel -- nothing with which to scrub. And no shower cap. Won't be staying at this hotel -- or any other in the chain -- again.

Room Tip: Stay away from Biltmore Avenue
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LaurelParker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy G, Starwood Hotels at Aloft Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Hi LaurelParker,

Thank you for your review. Aloft Hotels aim to provide a unique experience to our customers, and we understand that the Aloft style is not always for everyone. We are sorry for the problems with the air conditioner -- we completely understand your frustration. We appreciate your comments, and we will be sure to use them for improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We stayed here for a few nights with our young children. I was concerned that it may be too hip for young ones, but the place was so kid friendly. There is a huge chalkboard wall in the lobby and the staff encouraged our kids to draw on it. The bar area on the 2nd floor had a patio where we had breakfast every morning and the pool had so much lounging area and a great view of the sunset. The pool area also had a fire pit, although it was too hot for us to sit around. We saw other kids and dogs on our floor, but didn't hear anyone. Our only negative experience was the air conditioner which was became really loud. Great location, with a nice bakery across the street. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: We asked for a high floor and got it, but it had a city view which had a view of a parking garage. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McHetal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy G, Starwood Hotels at Aloft Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Hi McHetal,

Thank you for your stay and your positive review about the Aloft Asheville Downtown! We’re happy to hear that your children enjoyed drawing on the chalkboard wall within the hotel lobby and that you were able to take advantage of our 2nd floor patio for breakfast. We apologize that the air conditioner was louder than you would have liked, and we are working to correct this issue.

We hope to see you and your family again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Haywood Park Hotel
#3 of 66 in Asheville
733 reviews
Downtown Asheville
Hilton Garden Inn Asheville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Asheville
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft Asheville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Asheville Downtown

Property: Aloft Asheville Downtown
Address: 51 Biltmore Avenue, Asheville, NC 28801-3626
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville > Downtown Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 66 Hotels in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Asheville Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aloft Asheville Downtown hotel offers a great view of the mountains while being situated in the heart of downtown Asheville, within walking distance of shopping, restaurants, and art galleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Aloft Asheville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing