We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aloft Asheville Downtown
Ranked #18 of 63 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

My stay at this hotel was wonderful. The rooms are very modern in design, very clean and very comfortable. The staff was extremely pleasant and helpful. We had decided to stay at this hotel because it is extremely close to so many amazing testaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tlgroff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
efleishaker, Guest Relations Manager at Aloft Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Hello tlgroff,
I appreciate the review of your most recent stay. We aim to provide our guests with warm, welcoming service and accommodations, and I’m glad you had a positive experience with us. I will pass on your positive feedback to our team and hope you come back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

932 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    486
    303
    80
    41
    22
See reviews for
149
476
44
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

This hotel is clean, courteous, and in a great location! I stayed here with 10 other girls for a friends' bachelorette weekend and the hotel was more than accommodating! We rented 4 room with one of them being a corner king bed suite where we could all meet every morning for breakfast and for pre-gaming at night. The parking was attached and very reasonably priced! Every place near this hotel that we stopped in for a drink or to just miss the rain was great! I highly recommend this hotel and when I go back to Asheville I will revisit for sure!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChelseaFossum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnardsville, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013 via mobile

Decided to stay with Aloft Asheville to attend Holiday Hometown Jam. Initial reason to stay, convienience ! But I then discovered Aloft was pet friendly. I was SO happy to be able to bring my two little girls! Beds, water/food dishes, treat & toy bags delivered to the room, they were treated as guests as well as me! Eric at check in was very helpful, courteous,professional and prompt! I live (sort of) locally (Barnardsville) and I'm already looking to clear a day or two for a "staycation" for me, my husband and my "girls." A modern hotel, upscale without being pretentious. Every Aloft member reminded me of the charm of the city I moved too! I've been in hospitality and food service/bar tending in this town for years and the fresh faced generosity is a breath of fresh Asheville air! Thank you!!!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lenabauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
efleishaker, Guest Relations Manager at Aloft Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Hi Lena B,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I’m glad you (and the whole family) enjoyed your stay. We strive to make all four-legged friends feel at home, so I’m pleased that you were able to take advantage of our pet-friendly features and amenities. We take pride in our welcoming and helpful staff, and I thank you for your kind words about Eric. I will pass on your message to my hotel team. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peachtree City, Georgia
Level Contributor
177 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

Can't beat the location..........near everything in downtown Asheville. It's a little too trendy/modernistic/European for our basic American preferences. Friendly staff and a quick check in. Room was nice, but very modular and angular. It did have a nice, distant mountain view though. Designer washbasin is quaint, but doesn't leave a lot of room for all your bath and bedtime items. Never been a fan of their shower-mounted bath gel and shampoo dispensers. I understand the "green" vibe of the whole setup, but our dispensers were reluctant to give up much of anything. Not a lot of space in the rest of the room to put our 2+ suitcases full of stuff. There was too much to do in Asheville on this visit, so we didn't hit the hotel bar or firepit, although both looked quite nice. It's a dog-friendly hotel and there were a decent amount of dogs around, although none seemed to be a problem. The Aloft is not expensive, but not cheap either. An enjoyable stay overall, but as we age into our 50's, it seems we're more Crowne Plaza/Renaissance/Hyatt people,

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sshubeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
asheville
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

We live in Asheville so don't experience the local hotels. My sister-in-law came for a visit from Santa Barbara, CA and wanted to stay in a nice hotel. The Aloft was new and sounded good from the reviews online. Very disappointing; trendy, noisy; very arrogant, snotty youngsters running the place. If you want a place with a noisy bar in the center of the hotel (without doors) this is the place for you. If you want a nice hotel with class DO NOT stay here.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kdc2900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
huntersville
Level Contributor
93 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

My wife and I usually take day trips to Asheville and this time we decided to stay over night for our anniversary. We looked into hotels that had a great location (close to restaurants and downtown). By reading the reviews and the location, we chose Aloft. This was our first time staying with Aloft.

We were greeted as we entered the building and they quickly checked us in and explained everything the hotel had to offer. The staff was very friendly! To our surprise, we saw something on our bed. It was a handwritten note wishing us a happy anniversary with paper hearts. Attached to the note were two tickets for a free drink at the WXYZ bar to celebrate our anniversary.

The room was modern and overlooked the mountains. The sleeping area and bathroom was spotless and the bed was comfortable. The room had a small area for a bag and hanging close, but if you had multiple bags, you may have a difficult time storing them.

The location was great! You step out onto the street and you're walking distance to everything. We stayed for two nights and never used our car for the city. We walked everywhere - restaurants, bars, and shopping all around you.

Great stay, friendly staff and close to everything. Aloft Downtown Asheville was amazing and having them say something about our anniversary was awesome!

It's a must stay if you want to be close to everything! We'll be back!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 6th floor with a mountain view. You can see the mountains in the distance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevkid33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

My girlfriend and I arrived at the Aloft Hotel very late in the evening (3am) due to inclement weather. We were greeted by a friendly person at the front desk who gave us all the information we needed to check in and get some rest.

You should know that this hotel is very modern and it has great touches of architecture. However, I did find some things troubling about my stay. One, I was given a room appointed for handicapped persons. While this is not in itself a problem, some of the spaces in the room were odd for me to use. For example, the shower had a very large apparatus meant to help those in a wheelchair shower but because it took up a lot of the space I had a difficult time showering without hitting myself on the apparatus. Two, one of the front desk people was a bit rude and terse the next morning and seemed to be bothered by customers asking questions. Three, the room has very little lighting and that made it difficult to unpack and pack. Either way, the hotel is nice and well located in Asheville so I would recommend it, though I will probably ask for a different room next time...we just did not have the energy to ask since we arrived at 3am.

Enjoy!

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view room! :) Parking is very reasonable at $5. Do yourself a favor and park i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MMARI007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown
0.3 mi away
Haywood Park Hotel
Haywood Park Hotel
#2 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
1.8 mi away
Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 63 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
0.3 mi away
Renaissance Asheville Hotel
1.5 mi away
The Residences at Biltmore
The Residences at Biltmore
#22 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft Asheville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Asheville Downtown

Property: Aloft Asheville Downtown
Address: 51 Biltmore Avenue, Asheville, NC 28801-3626
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville > Downtown Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 63 Hotels in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Asheville Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aloft Asheville Downtown hotel offers a great view of the mountains while being situated in the heart of downtown Asheville, within walking distance of shopping, restaurants, and art galleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aloft Asheville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing