We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the middle of everything!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aloft Asheville Downtown
Ranked #20 of 66 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We travel to Asheville frequently but this is the first time we've ever stayed at Aloft. It was the perfect location. We were able to walk everywhere we wanted to go - the Live After 5:00 event, the Orange Peel for a concert, tons of restaurants and shops...we parked the car Friday and never got back in it until time to leave Sunday.

The staff at Aloft were so very nice and friendly - we spent an afternoon drinking on the bar patio and it was very comfortable with great people watching.

The rooms are funky and trendy - standard hotel room size but the arrangement is cool and makes it feel very cozy and nice.

If you want to stay somewhere in the heart of Asheville, this is it. We most certainly will go back.

Oh and VERY dog friendly!!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Stacy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,019)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

655 - 661 of 1,019 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2014

Husband and I have been here a couple times. Although not right in the central of downtown, this hotel has a great restaurants/bars/coffee shops/etc all around it. Everything is updated and clean and everything we were interested in doing was within walking distance. Great pool that we weren't able to enjoy because it was in the fall when we went but they had fires with couches around it which was very cozy to sit by at night. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

This place was an absolute delight. The staff at the front desk gave me a great walk-in rate and even got me in a room with a view. I was delighted with the lobby art and common areas. The room itself was clean, comfortable, and relatively quiet.
There is an attached parking garage and once you park you won't need your car again until you leave. All of the wonderful shops, spas, and restaurants of Asheville are all within walking distance of this location. The wi-fi was fast, bed was comfortable, and the shower was piping hot so all my criteria were met.
There were only a couple annoyances that kept this place from getting full marks. There was a dog in the room next door whose tail started beating on the wall at dawn. This was unfortunate as the owners of this sweet lab (I'm guessing) stayed up well after midnight with drunken escapades that kept us up too. Boo. I didn't call the front desk or complain to the lousy neighbors so that complaint is on me.
However, the fact that the room key to enter and leave the garage never worked so we had to buzz the front desk every time we tried to leave did suck - especially because you pay extra to park there. That, and the overpriced drinks at the bar were really terrible. Which is a bummer because Aloft bars normally have great drinks with great bar crowds.

Pros:
- Clean rooms with a great view
- Discounted walk-in rate
- Speedy wifi
- Close to everything
- Friendly staff
- Overall the other guests are pretty cool so there is always someone interesting to talk to in the lounge

Cons:
- Maybe too dog-friendly
- Bar drinks are frat-tastic
- Card access in and out of the garage didn't work
- The coffee bar in the lounge is lousy

Overall:
- I will absolutely be back. This is by far the best value in downtown Asheville!

Room Tip: There are a couple Juliet balconies and they have fantastic views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ellabeas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

This was a great hotel in an awesome location. It was very dog friendly. They supplied a doggy bed and a gift pack of treats and a water bowl and a toy. They had a pool on the 3rd floor where they had a fenced in dog run where you could turn your dogs free to dash about while you overlooked hype mountain or pool. Also a grassy lot right behind the hotel for potty breaks. They allowed dogs in the bar and on the deck. They had live music the dogs could enjoy with their people.

That being Said it was all new, ver modern decor, bliss hair and bath products, rooms on pool level had patios with privacy curtains. The street the hotel was located on had lots of great food locations and shopping. It was a wonderful place to stay.

Room Tip: We faced the mountains and the view was very nice. Third floor goes out to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Unfamiliar with Asheville, I booked the Aloft because it was downtown and had parking. Great decision. We just loved the Aloft. It's a perfect location within minutes of everything downtown Asheville including numerous restaurants and a great bakery/coffee shop across the street.
Inside, they've hit all the right notes. Like the rest of the hotel, our room was contemporary décor with comfortable bed, great pillows and bed and bath linens, and impeccably kept. They've given guests plenty of vanity space and had a cool modern sink and nicely done bathroom. Our room was light and bright with large windows. They had a great bar area that was good for a glass of wine and apps with an option to sit outside. Staff was very helpful and friendly. We'd stay here for sure if we visited Asheville again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cloudyskiies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

This hotel is in the perfect part of town with tons of options for drinks and dining. Staff was very friendly and atmosphere was very relaxed but in a good way. Room was clean - did have issue with sink draining and didn't bother to call for I was only there for one night and was limited on time. Shower tile could have used an extra scrub to remove buildup too but not a deal breaker. Made sure to request room on high floor away from noise. Cute pool area too. I would definitely recommend this hotel & stay here again!

Room Tip: High floor to avoid street noise and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank topserviceFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

This was our first time staying at an Aloft hotel and we will seek them out in the future. Loved the design of the rooms and public spaces. Check in was friendly and quick. Max at the front desk was very helpful. He called the room once we arrived to make sure all was well (I love when that happens). We had a room overlooking the city, not the pool and mountains. The hotel is pet-friendly so I'd asked for a pet-free room due to husband's allergies. They told us the manager had personally made sure the room was allergy free. That's good service!

Parking is only $5 which is fantastic and unexpected. The location is excellent for visiting local breweries. shops and restaurants.

The room itself was on the small side but we loved the setup. The bed faces the windows which have desk/shelf areas for storage. One small complaint is that the blinds are noisy and we could hear when our neighbours in the next room opened and closed theirs. We really loved the water carafe and ice bags available in the hall. A great solution that's more environmentally friendly than bottled water.

We used the pool and it is gorgeous with a view of the mountains. There's great seating out there and even fire pits in the evening. We stayed on a Monday night and didn't have any problem with noise at all.

Our rate included 2 free cocktails, and although they were good, the bartender was not very friendly. There was some kind of dance lesson going on in the lobby and the bar was very nice with a pool table and outdoor balcony seating.

Overall we loved this hotel and were sad our trip to Asheville was so short.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cuteontariocouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
The Residences at Biltmore
#25 of 66 in Asheville
1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Asheville
Hilton Garden Inn Asheville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft Asheville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Asheville Downtown

Address: 51 Biltmore Avenue, Asheville, NC 28801-3626
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville > Downtown Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 66 Hotels in Asheville
Price Range: £117 - £348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Asheville Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aloft Asheville Downtown hotel offers a great view of the mountains while being situated in the heart of downtown Asheville, within walking distance of shopping, restaurants, and art galleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Aloft Asheville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing