We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great location but a little noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aloft Asheville Downtown
Ranked #20 of 66 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Stayed out this hotel recently for a few nights. We had a street facing room; the room was small but was laid out well and very nicely appointed. There was some noise from the street as well as the bar downstairs but nothing to keep us up at night. We traveled with our Dog and enjoyed how welcome the hotel made us feel. The hotel has very nice facilities; we especially liked the 2nd floor pool area with the fire pit; you can watch the sun set over the mountains from there. The king size bed was excellent as were the pillows and the service was great - the staff here do a wonderful job. The hotel's location is top notch; you can walk to everything in downtown asheville and can park your car at the hotel for $5 per night. I'm not sure if this hotel is family friendly; the hotel's bar was pretty active every night. We didnt see any families during our stay; mostly young couples. During the last night of our stay we were awoken at 4am by some loud people partying in an adjacent room. This hotel might not be the best choice for those looking for a quiet get away.

Room Tip: Choose a mountain view room not only for the views but to get away from the noise coming from biltmo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PointBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,019)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

650 - 656 of 1,019 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

Asheville is certainly worth a visit, and staying downtown is a must! The city is very lively, especially on weekends, with tons of bars, restaurants, music venues, and street musicians. The Aloft was an excellent choice for us, as we could safely park our car (USD5 per night) and then enjoy the city at its best.

The hotel is on Biltmore Ave, one of the three or four main party streets in town. It is nouveau chic and high energy, with an airy lobby on the second floor that extends to a large bar area and onto a nice terrace overlooking the street. Our room was a king mountain view room facing the pool and an astroturf dog walk area right next to the pool (yes, very urban!). The room was quiet, and the electric window shades created nice privacy and ensured a good sleep. The bed was on the soft side though. The bath room provided a lot of space, with good water pressure from the shower. Reading was a bit difficult, as the lights were dim. The pool was refreshing, with towel service. The dog walk area near the pool did not bother us, but it is rare to see such dog-friendly hotels in the US. But we were wondering how people with allergies would deal with the possibility of dog hairs in the room.

While we really liked the hotel because of its features and location, and its European feel, it was extremely pricey--even more so than, say, New York City! We paid more than USD300 per night (incl taxes) with a no-cancellation rate; a flexible rate would have been 50 percent higher. So this pulls the rating down.

Room Tip: Chose a mountain view room third floor or higher to avoid the loud music in the evening on the Biltm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SGECHAMPION
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan L, Starwood Hotels at Aloft Asheville Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear SGECHAMPION,
We are delighted to hear about your great stay at our hotel. Thank you for taking the time to write a review as we always appreciate hearing about our guests’ experiences during their stays. We are glad to hear you enjoyed Aloft Asheville Downtown’s great proximity to the downtown area and that you liked our guestrooms and bar. We hope you decide to stay with us again for your next visit to Asheville. Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This place is tops all the way around. Centrally located within walking distance to the city's most acclaimed restaurants & shopping. The staff was courteous and accommodating. I'd recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a great place to stay in Asheville. You won't need your car once you park in their on site garage. And, if you want to bring your dog or cat with you, this hotel is definitely for you!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Great, clean, ultra modern hotel with nice amenities. The parking garage is handy and it's within walking distance to many shops and restaurants downtown. The bed was very comfortable and the large pillows were a nice touch. The walk-in shower was a welcomed sight.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Sean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed there for two nights starting on 05-13-14. This was our first visit to an Aloft Hotel. Based on this stay we would try the chain again. Different from most hotels. The rooms seemed like rooms from a European hotel. Everything was very clean. Very modern and cool. The hotel was right in the middle of town. So many good restaurants and shops close to the hotel. All within walking distance. The parking was $5 a night which is super cheap. The air conditioning in the room was great and quiet. The town allows dogs to accompany their owners into common areas or outside areas of restaurants. We got to see a couple of dogs hanging in the lobby with their owners. There was a water bowl by the entrance to the lobby. We would stay here again during our next trip to Asheville.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We travel to Asheville frequently but this is the first time we've ever stayed at Aloft. It was the perfect location. We were able to walk everywhere we wanted to go - the Live After 5:00 event, the Orange Peel for a concert, tons of restaurants and shops...we parked the car Friday and never got back in it until time to leave Sunday.

The staff at Aloft were so very nice and friendly - we spent an afternoon drinking on the bar patio and it was very comfortable with great people watching.

The rooms are funky and trendy - standard hotel room size but the arrangement is cool and makes it feel very cozy and nice.

If you want to stay somewhere in the heart of Asheville, this is it. We most certainly will go back.

Oh and VERY dog friendly!!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Stacy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Husband and I have been here a couple times. Although not right in the central of downtown, this hotel has a great restaurants/bars/coffee shops/etc all around it. Everything is updated and clean and everything we were interested in doing was within walking distance. Great pool that we weren't able to enjoy because it was in the fall when we went but they had fires with couches around it which was very cozy to sit by at night. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
The Residences at Biltmore
#26 of 66 in Asheville
1,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Asheville
Hilton Garden Inn Asheville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft Asheville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Asheville Downtown

Address: 51 Biltmore Avenue, Asheville, NC 28801-3626
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville > Downtown Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 66 Hotels in Asheville
Price Range: £117 - £350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Asheville Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aloft Asheville Downtown hotel offers a great view of the mountains while being situated in the heart of downtown Asheville, within walking distance of shopping, restaurants, and art galleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Aloft Asheville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing