We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location super vibe”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aloft Asheville Downtown
Ranked #19 of 65 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location super vibe”
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Great location. Walk everywhere. Room was wonderful, great view from 408. Parking easy, Biltmore deck is great. Bar and family "play" area work well together. The open air concept with the sliding doors is awesome. Only complaint, housekeeping not spectacular but good enough to not have any issues. Book this hotel. Oh, pool area looks fab, just did not have enough time to visit.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelgirllibra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

959 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    500
    314
    82
    41
    22
See reviews for
152
485
45
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
79 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a weekend in order to try out some of the local breweries. The hotel is in a perfect location for walking to shops, restaurants, breweries, you name it. We didn't have to take our car out once. Hotel is dog friendly, so there were many folks with their dogs. Luckily I had read reviews talking about the noise so I requested a room on a high floor facing the mountains/pool so we never had an issue. The room was small, but it was big enough for the 2 of us, plus we weren't really in the room much anyway. Here are my pros and cons:

Pros:
- Great location for walking to lots of stuff in downtown Asheville
- Lounge was very cool with outside seating that looked down on street
- Our shower was great- no leaking as some folks seemed to have issues with. And the water pressure was really good too.
- Liked that the ice wasn't from some gross machine that probably is never cleaned. You get little individual bags of ice instead.
- Free wifi always great.

Cons:
- Our room had a weird smell about it. We suspect it might be because of the dog friendliness of the hotel, but we aren't sure. I would suggest that maybe the hotel offer some dog free rooms for folks.
- Elevator was a little slow.

Would definitely stay again and request the same room view.

Room Tip: Pay a little more for a "mountain view" so it doesn't look out over the street. Higher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlotteHokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
152 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We stayed one night at the Aloft while in town to visit the Biltmore Estate. The Aloft is located right downtown, walking distance from restaurants and nightlife. It's also a short, easy drive to the Biltmore. Our room was a standard Aloft room: small and simple, but nice, clean, and comfortable. As Starwood Preferred members, we got a credit to use at the bar or for breakfast. We opted for breakfast, which was much more than we expected. It was made-to-order - I had a bagel sandwich with avocado, which was great. Parking was included in the room charge. If we return to Asheville, I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1060WestAddison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed here after a beer festival downtown. The location is very good. Our room was on the front side. Luckily we had a discount room because of where my wife works or I would have been upset. The rooms are very small. We were on the 5th floor and we heard lots of street noise throughout the night. Our shower door leaked big time into the bathroom so we had to sop up water after showers. And the carpet had stains all over. It's just an okay hotel. Stands out like a soar thumb in downtown.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank naterday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Stayed out this hotel recently for a few nights. We had a street facing room; the room was small but was laid out well and very nicely appointed. There was some noise from the street as well as the bar downstairs but nothing to keep us up at night. We traveled with our Dog and enjoyed how welcome the hotel made us feel. The hotel has very nice facilities; we especially liked the 2nd floor pool area with the fire pit; you can watch the sun set over the mountains from there. The king size bed was excellent as were the pillows and the service was great - the staff here do a wonderful job. The hotel's location is top notch; you can walk to everything in downtown asheville and can park your car at the hotel for $5 per night. I'm not sure if this hotel is family friendly; the hotel's bar was pretty active every night. We didnt see any families during our stay; mostly young couples. During the last night of our stay we were awoken at 4am by some loud people partying in an adjacent room. This hotel might not be the best choice for those looking for a quiet get away.

Room Tip: Choose a mountain view room not only for the views but to get away from the noise coming from biltmo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PointBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
174 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Asheville is certainly worth a visit, and staying downtown is a must! The city is very lively, especially on weekends, with tons of bars, restaurants, music venues, and street musicians. The Aloft was an excellent choice for us, as we could safely park our car (USD5 per night) and then enjoy the city at its best.

The hotel is on Biltmore Ave, one of the three or four main party streets in town. It is nouveau chic and high energy, with an airy lobby on the second floor that extends to a large bar area and onto a nice terrace overlooking the street. Our room was a king mountain view room facing the pool and an astroturf dog walk area right next to the pool (yes, very urban!). The room was quiet, and the electric window shades created nice privacy and ensured a good sleep. The bed was on the soft side though. The bath room provided a lot of space, with good water pressure from the shower. Reading was a bit difficult, as the lights were dim. The pool was refreshing, with towel service. The dog walk area near the pool did not bother us, but it is rare to see such dog-friendly hotels in the US. But we were wondering how people with allergies would deal with the possibility of dog hairs in the room.

While we really liked the hotel because of its features and location, and its European feel, it was extremely pricey--even more so than, say, New York City! We paid more than USD300 per night (incl taxes) with a no-cancellation rate; a flexible rate would have been 50 percent higher. So this pulls the rating down.

Room Tip: Chose a mountain view room third floor or higher to avoid the loud music in the evening on the Biltm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SGECHAMPION
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan L, Starwood Hotels at Aloft Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear SGECHAMPION,
We are delighted to hear about your great stay at our hotel. Thank you for taking the time to write a review as we always appreciate hearing about our guests’ experiences during their stays. We are glad to hear you enjoyed Aloft Asheville Downtown’s great proximity to the downtown area and that you liked our guestrooms and bar. We hope you decide to stay with us again for your next visit to Asheville. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This place is tops all the way around. Centrally located within walking distance to the city's most acclaimed restaurants & shopping. The staff was courteous and accommodating. I'd recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a great place to stay in Asheville. You won't need your car once you park in their on site garage. And, if you want to bring your dog or cat with you, this hotel is definitely for you!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Haywood Park Hotel
#2 of 65 in Asheville
724 reviews
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 65 in Asheville
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Asheville
Hilton Garden Inn Asheville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft Asheville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Asheville Downtown

Property: Aloft Asheville Downtown
Address: 51 Biltmore Avenue, Asheville, NC 28801-3626
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville > Downtown Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 65 Hotels in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Asheville Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aloft Asheville Downtown hotel offers a great view of the mountains while being situated in the heart of downtown Asheville, within walking distance of shopping, restaurants, and art galleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Aloft Asheville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing