We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upbeat hotel close to all Asheville has to offer!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aloft Asheville Downtown
Ranked #19 of 66 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Upbeat hotel close to all Asheville has to offer!”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Stayed here for a girls' night out in July and can't say enough about this fabulous hotel! We were treated like royalty by the staff - with an upgraded cabana room so we could walk out to the pool area. That is the way to go! The rooms are light and bright with bagged ice & filtered water in the hallways for your convenience. Very clean and hip hotel. Second floor checkin included a bar, pool table, fireplace, Starbucks with great breakfast & open air seating on couches and comfy chairs. Walking out the front door takes you to Asheville's finest restaurants, bars, clubs & shops all within a block or two! Would definitely recommend this wonderful hotel!

Room Tip: Cabana room was the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzesilb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

978 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    513
    316
    84
    42
    23
See reviews for
154
496
47
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

very disappointing.
in fact, a bit infuriating.

We were given a "mountain view room." see the photo.
Do NOT stay in room #334.

Dog hair on the floor.
dead bugs in light fixtures
AND...the hotel doesn't clean your room in between a two night stay. for $350 a night, what are we paying for?!

Room Tip: I should have gone immediately to the front desk and asked for a different room with an actual mount...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Gervais H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily F, Starwood Hotels at Aloft Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Gervais H,
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. Our General Manager has shared that you have since spoken with him directly and the situation rectified. We appreciate you brining everything to our attention and further talking with us, and we hope you will consider staying with us again so we will have another opportunity to impress you. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oriental, NC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We spent three nights in a corner suite in this hotel with a great view of the action on the street below. This is a great location so just park your car and walk. Love the vibe of the place. It is dog friendly and although I didn't have my little guys with me, I enjoyed being in an environment where folks were traveling with their four legged friends. Our suite was very comfortable with modern furniture and two large screen TVs. The bed was comfortable and I loved all of the room in the bedroom to spread out suitcases and personal items. I also liked the coffee machine (easy to use), and filtered water and plenty of bagged ice right outside our door. So sensible and better than lugging bottled water up to the room. The bar and common areas were busy every night and the roof pool area is super. They even have a dog walk on the roof so that you do not have to take Fido out to the street to do his business. Staff could not have been nicer.

I only have a couple of criticisms of the suite: The bath had no robe hooks or places to hang damp towels and there was no magnifying mirror in the bath for applying makeup and shaving. The modern furniture is not the most comfortable but is very appealing visually.

We would definitely return.

Room Tip: Liked our corner suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goodsailing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

It's new, expensive, and quite modernist in style. The company spent more on the outside and the lobby than on the rooms, which are smaller than they appear on the advertisement. We had a "king" bed, smaller than your typical king, but it took up most of the room. We had a fine view of the mountains westward and the pool deck below.

Others have complained about the parking deck, but it is a minor hassle at most. The room key does not work; you have to buzz the front desk on the intercom; but the clerk answers promptly and the gate is opened right away. Of course, you can park on the street. When we were there, we saw available parking on the streets behind the hotel. If you park on the street, you have to feed the meter, so we decided that $5 a day for the parking deck was worth it.

As other reviewers have pointed out, the location cannot be better. You can easily walk to cool shops, bars and restaurants, breweries. One of the most popular brew pubs, Barley's Taproom, is just across the street, Wicked Weed brewery is one block down, as is the Orange Peel, and you can get a good breakfast at City Bakery, also across Biltmore Ave.

We spent our anniversary here and were promised a bottle of champagne, but it was never delivered. However, in Asheville it's easy to find plenty of wine, beer, and spirits!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beachtrekr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

My husband and I spent Thanksgiving here in 2013. We checked in on a Monday and checked out on a Friday. We had a standard room with a view of the town. Upon entering the room we found it to have stains on the floor and an odor that didn't seem fresh. We didn't spend much time in the room on the first day as we were out that night. However, upon exiting the shower the next morning I found where the odor was coming from. There was dried urine all up and down the door to the bathroom next to the toilet. We took pictures and went down to the front desk to let them know. I will say that they handled everything appropriately--- took 1 night stay off the bill, upgraded our room to a view of the mountains, and took off all parking and bar charges, plus gave us drink vouchers. They really tried to make it right-- thanks Ben!

The location is the best thing this hotel has going for it. The bar is fun and we enjoyed a game of pool. I don't think we would return to this hotel unless they did some refurb. ( time to remove the carpet in the rooms and put hardwoods down). The housekeeping staff need to be trained to check for all areas of filth in the room-- not just change linens and vacuum.

The previous stay we had in Asheville was at the Grand Bohemian and although not in the center of town, we just parked the car at the Aloft parking garage and went about our day.

Room Tip: Bring your own cleaning supplies and prepare to disinfect before settling in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank stayeatshop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily F, Starwood Hotels at Aloft Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear stayeatshop,
Thank you for your review. We are very glad to hear that although you were not fully satisfied with your stay, our helpful staff was attentive to your concerns in order to create a good experience for you and your husband. Rest assured that since your stay, we have worked with our housekeeping staff to improve cleanliness as this is very important to us. We hope you will decide to stay with our hotel again so we can make this up to you. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Great location. Walk everywhere. Room was wonderful, great view from 408. Parking easy, Biltmore deck is great. Bar and family "play" area work well together. The open air concept with the sliding doors is awesome. Only complaint, housekeeping not spectacular but good enough to not have any issues. Book this hotel. Oh, pool area looks fab, just did not have enough time to visit.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelgirllibra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a weekend in order to try out some of the local breweries. The hotel is in a perfect location for walking to shops, restaurants, breweries, you name it. We didn't have to take our car out once. Hotel is dog friendly, so there were many folks with their dogs. Luckily I had read reviews talking about the noise so I requested a room on a high floor facing the mountains/pool so we never had an issue. The room was small, but it was big enough for the 2 of us, plus we weren't really in the room much anyway. Here are my pros and cons:

Pros:
- Great location for walking to lots of stuff in downtown Asheville
- Lounge was very cool with outside seating that looked down on street
- Our shower was great- no leaking as some folks seemed to have issues with. And the water pressure was really good too.
- Liked that the ice wasn't from some gross machine that probably is never cleaned. You get little individual bags of ice instead.
- Free wifi always great.

Cons:
- Our room had a weird smell about it. We suspect it might be because of the dog friendliness of the hotel, but we aren't sure. I would suggest that maybe the hotel offer some dog free rooms for folks.
- Elevator was a little slow.

Would definitely stay again and request the same room view.

Room Tip: Pay a little more for a "mountain view" so it doesn't look out over the street. Higher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlotteHokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Haywood Park Hotel
#3 of 66 in Asheville
737 reviews
Downtown Asheville
Hilton Garden Inn Asheville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Asheville
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft Asheville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Asheville Downtown

Property: Aloft Asheville Downtown
Address: 51 Biltmore Avenue, Asheville, NC 28801-3626
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville > Downtown Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 66 Hotels in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Asheville Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aloft Asheville Downtown hotel offers a great view of the mountains while being situated in the heart of downtown Asheville, within walking distance of shopping, restaurants, and art galleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Aloft Asheville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing