We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Fun Vibe”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aloft Asheville Downtown
Ranked #19 of 66 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester Hills, Michigan, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Location, Fun Vibe”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We found a great deal on this hotel day of on priceline. One of the best deals we have every gotten. The hotel was central to the bars and restaurants of the city. Great amenities and the room was very comfortable. The bar was a nice place to unwind and the hotel had many patios. Also appreciated that it was pet friendly.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

978 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    513
    316
    84
    42
    23
See reviews for
154
496
47
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

It has been about a year since we stayed here and it is still a favorite for downtown access. We did have an issue with the shower not sealing and allowing considerable water on the floor so bring your flip flops! Parking can be a challenge as the deck fills when Asheville is busy but head for the upper levels,

Room Tip: Request city or mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mario P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Let me start off by saying that this hotel has a wonderful location. It's a quick drive to the famous Biltmore Estate, great restaurants, Chimney Rock, etc. However my reasoning for giving it 2 stars is because of the following;

1) There is a public parking garage attached to the building. No where are there signs that say where to park if you are staying at the hotel, where to go, etc. No one greets you so park your car, grab your bags and head to the desk. Later, by sight and not by any hotel staff telling us, we saw that there are 7 or so, hotel-only parking spaces outside their door, in the parking garage on the main level.

2) I've never stayed at an aloft, so I'm not sure if this is typical, but if you have any problems that need addressing after-hours (after 9pm), good luck finding someone. We were woken up by a Bachelor party at the pool at 2am (woke the whole family up), and after calling "0" and not getting anyone, I left our room in my PJ's to find someone. After his failed attempts, we were woken up AGAIN at 3:30am!! The party was finally shut down. My main gripe was, why were they even allowed at the pool, when the sign clearly states that pool hours end at 11pm?!?! The hotel graciously discounted that night, but since I was up until 4:30am, I was a little grumpy.

3) The basic rooms are TINY. They look just like the pictures on the web, so don't think they will be larger when you get there. The carpet in our unit (#510), needs replacing. It's fraying, is badly worn and is stained.

4) Pool was ok. Never enough lounge chairs or towels. There's a bar out there that's never used. It was terribly hot out there. At least having some ice water out there would have been nice.

5) Housekeeping needs to be re-trained. Upon check-in, 3 towels looked used (one appeared to have yellow spots and the other two were dirty, our bathroom floor was NEVER cleaned in the 4 days we were there, and one day, they came in, replaced our towels, and made one of two beds.

On a positive note, there's a nice family friendly pool table in the 2nd floor, the bar is up there too, but kids can be in there. There's also a great long outdoor patio looking down on Biltmore Ave.

If you need a snack, their 2nd floor cafe (like a Starbucks) had chips, beverages, cut up fruit, whole fruit, granola bars, etc. even if it's closed, you can pay at the desk on the 2nd floor.

Laundry machines are in the 5th floor. You can obtain change, detergent, etc. at the desk on the 2nd floor.

When you stay here, visit Blackbird downstairs on the corner. Not affiliated with the hotel, but the food is excellent!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Monika G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan L, Starwood Hotels at Aloft Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Monika G,
While we are very pleased you enjoyed our hotel features and services, but we are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. We strive to make all of our guests as happy and comfortable as possible during their stay, and we sincerely apologize you were unable to get a good night’s rest due to the disturbances caused by the outside noise. Additionally, our team upholds a high standard in maintaining a clean environment, so we’ve addressed your comments to ensure everything is improved. Thank you for sharing this feedback with us and allowing the opportunity to improve our hotel. All the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Solid Starwood branded hotel in downtown Asheville. Convenient to all that is walkable in this wonderful progressive city. Hotel has small rooms but well thought out. More a budget choice but can be a bit expensive for Asheville. Fun bar with outdoor seating. Good live musical options on weekends in Bar/Lobby. Overall, a good choice for a modern option in Asheville.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirk R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

After overcoming the initial confusion of finding reception (it's upstairs), we were delighted to be upgraded into a very nice suite due to our SPG status. It's my first stay in an aloft hotel and it was as expected, a W "lite" (no bad thing). The staff were excellent, the bar has a lovely outside terrace to sit out and watch the Asheville party scene go by and we had no trouble with noise or disturbance, which was a slight worry given it was a Saturday night. We didn't eat in the hotel but the coffee bar was good and open on a Sunday morning which helped ease the onward journey. Would definitely return and wouldn't stay anywhere else in Asheville.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank KGM77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a business conference and then had a couple days to play tourist. Parking is on site in a parking garage, front desk service was great, and there is an in-hotel bar that serves some light meals, a coffee shop, and business center, all on the same floor. Convenient and stylish. Evening activities are catered to the younger (20's 30's) young professionals, with microbeers and pub food, music, and a balcony patio overlooking the street. Rooms were very well appointed, comfortable and right-sized. Fabulous bed, filtered drinking water, and very reasonable rates. I'd definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Pick the street side. Views are fun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Driver1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seneca, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Aloft was a perfect home base for our Asheville exploring. The staff was friendly. Our room was spotless, well decorated and included a sweet Birthday surprise from the staff! We had a beautiful mountain view. The workout area us well equipped. The pool was nice. We really love the location of Aloft. We were able to walk all over Asheville and still get back to Aloft quickly! Parking should be included, in lieu of $5 a day for guests. The Bliss Spa products were a great bonus!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank suzyf29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan L, Starwood Hotels at Aloft Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear suzyf29m,
Happy Birthday! We are so happy you decided to celebrate your birthday weekend with us, and it’s our pleasure to provide you with a little surprise upon your arrival to your room. We’re glad you had a great time and enjoyed our convenient location in the middle of downtown Asheville. Thank you for sharing your review with us, and we hope to see you again in the future. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Haywood Park Hotel
#3 of 66 in Asheville
737 reviews
Downtown Asheville
Hilton Garden Inn Asheville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Asheville
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft Asheville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Asheville Downtown

Property: Aloft Asheville Downtown
Address: 51 Biltmore Avenue, Asheville, NC 28801-3626
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville > Downtown Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 66 Hotels in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Asheville Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aloft Asheville Downtown hotel offers a great view of the mountains while being situated in the heart of downtown Asheville, within walking distance of shopping, restaurants, and art galleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Aloft Asheville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing