We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hill House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #19 of 39 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Hill House was amazing! The staff was very accommodating! This was our first time to stay at a BB and it was great- never want to stay at hotel again. We loved it here. We will def be back :)

Room Tip: Rooms are very clean and nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Honeymooners428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (572)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

341 - 347 of 572 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2012

Hill House B&B is within walking distance of downtown Asheville, has extensive and lovely gardens, and benefits from a special assistant, Matthew. Our particular room, on the ground floor, had a nice view of the garden but was too dimly lit to read in at night because we are elderly and need more light. Most of you would probably not notice this. Matthew is a real gem, willing to answer any question and help in any way he can. He was a huge help in telling us what to order at his favorite downtown restaurant, Curate (highly recommended). Despite our travels to several European countries, including Spain, we were not very familiar with tapas (missed that lesson in Barcelona), and he patiently marked our menu and told us a lot about his travels in Spain, his relatives who still live there, and his background in the tapas restaurant business. We took so much of his time (30 minutes?) that his job was neglected, for which we must apologize. He has such good manners that we could not have guessed we were taking him away from more important work. One suggestion for improvement would be to provide an ice machine in the guest kitchen so guests don't have to bother the owner or Matthew for ice. The warm weather, coupled with warm club soda stored in our room, caused the ice to melt at a rapid rate and required us to pester the owner for more ice. Other guests were having a problem finding ample ice as well - maybe just one day and not a normal occurrence. Also, a reading lamp in the room with a higher wattage bulb would be desirable. There is a breakfast cook who evidently also helps with tidying up the rooms; she is extremely energetic and moves so fast we didn't really get to say hello, but several guests were pleased with her breakfast offerings - she alternates sweet and savory, so if you stay two days you can try both. We can recommend Blue Spiral 1 gallery and the Co-op gallery downtown, in addition to Curate.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank mvpj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

My wife and I have been in BB in many countries, in particular in France, but this has been one of the best. Great keepers, clean, nicely decorated and comfortable room (we loved the shabby shic deco). We especially enjoyed the hang mat, the porch and the hospitality of David & Matthew, we had a great time!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benjamin g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

It was a last minute decision to visit Asheville after being in Atlanta visiting our grandkids. I found Hill House B&B on the internet and was able to book a room for the weekend. Our room had a beautiful view of the garden which has a hammock and wooden chairs for relaxing. The house is surrounded by beautiful trees and plants and provides privacy. Our host Matthew and the young man working the evening we arrived were very welcoming and gave us suggestions for dining in Asheville. The room was clean and the bed comfortable with plenty of pillows. There were pastries/coffee available at 7:00 and a formal breakfast at 9:00.The breakfast on Saturday morning was delicious; gourmet pancakes, mango/orange juice and plenty of coffee. It was a cool morning and all the guests had breakfast on the porch. We enjoyed talking to everyone and were given great ideas of things to do around Asheville. My husband and I have been to many B&B's over the years and this is one we would love to stay in again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank larcaro2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Reviews Write a review Your rating:
Your rating: Hated it
We stayed at the Hill House during the Mother's Day weekend of 2012. The reviews were great and the photos on the internet were beautiful. After driving 8 hours from Indiana and so much needing a "get away"....we were greatly DISAPPOINTED! Apparently the Inn is under new ownership. One night for 2 hours the air tub upstairs kept us awake sounding like an airplane or loud vaccum cleaner and the staff leaves at 9 pm at night so there is noone in the house to help you. The bed was terribly uncomfortable and the house lacks many comforts....like no microwave, no bottled water and don't expect breakfast until 9 AM. The staff was great.....but the owner did not seem interested in our concerns. When we travel we stay at B&B's and this one was one of the worst we have seen as far as being accomodating! Likes: staff and garden
We stayed at the Hill House during the Mother's Day weekend of 2012. The reviews were great and the photos on the internet were beautiful. After driving 8 hours from Indiana and so much needing a "get away"....we were greatly DISAPPOINTED! Apparently the Inn is under new ownership. One night for 2 hours the air tub upstairs kept us awake sounding like an airplane or loud vaccum cleaner and the staff leaves at 9 pm at night so there is noone in the house to help you. The bed was terribly uncomfortable and the house lacks many comforts....like no microwave, no bottled water and don't expect breakfast until 9 AM. The staff was great.....but the owner did not seem interested in our concerns. When we travel we stay at B&B's and this one was one of the worst we have seen as far as being accomodating! Likes: staff and garden

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank deb b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hill_House_Innkeeper, Owner at Hill House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2012

These guests seemed to have unrealistic expectations about what a 9-room inn is about. No, there is no staff available at a snap of the finger after 7:30 pm or on-call after 10 pm. We're not a hotel. Yes, breakfast is at 9 am, as it is in almost every B&B in Asheville. We will microwave items for guests upon requests in our main kitchen, but no, there is no microwave in our guest kitchen, because we don't want guests -- like these -- making a mess (as they did with our guest refrigerator) and leaving odors behind. No, we don't have bottled water, but we have refrigerated filtered water in a pitcher, which these guests knew about.

If they had been a bit more decent, I might feel badly they were disturbed by the air tub above them. We ask guests in that room not to use it after 10 pm. If these complaining guests had called me about the noise, I could have called the other guests and asked them to turn it off, but they didn't call me.

Upon their departure, they complained to me about all of this. I apologized for the air tub, and then kindly explained the rest of our policies to them, but did not offer them a refund nor did they request one, either in person or in writing. I think publicly complaining on Trip Advisor was more important to them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012 via mobile

My husband surprised me for our 6 month anniversary with a one night stay at the Hill House. It is a beautiful little house that is very well kept. The surrounding yard was gorgeous even in the rain. Our room was beautiful and flawless. The only mediocre part was the breakfast. They served eggs inpergatory, it was not the best of breakfasts that we had. Otherwise it is a highly recommended B&B!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linzy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

Hill House is a lovely, clean, friendly B and B located within walking distance of downtown Asheville. Its gardens are beautiful. I really liked the staff and found service to be responsive. I stayed in the lowest priced room at $165/night. For the price I feel that there could have been a fancier breakfast. Although the food was good, I think a draw to b and b's is a fancy, more detailed breakfast. Here it was some sort of egg casserole or quiche and a croissant
(not home-ade) and maybe a piece of sausage. I think there was a lack of finesse.
Otherwise, this is a safe, clean, friendly place. The house is well preserved and tastefully decorated.

Room Tip: If you choose the S & W room be aware that your room is right by the back door entrance and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shakta77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hill_House_Innkeeper, Owner at Hill House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2012

We've found that most of our guests don't want the three-course breakfasts that some inns and B&Bs serve. No, we did not make the croissant, but it was locally baked and fresh. We almost always also serve fresh fruit and a fresh fruit juice with each meal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Sweet Biscuit Inn
#5 of 39 in Asheville
812 reviews
Historic Montford
The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Biltmore Village Inn
#9 of 39 in Asheville
1,639 reviews
Historic Montford
Pinecrest Bed & Breakfast
Pinecrest Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 39 in Asheville
770 reviews
Princess Anne Hotel
#12 of 39 in Asheville
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hill House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hill House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 120 Hillside St, Asheville, NC 28801-1206
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville > Five Points
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range: £116 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hill House Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hill House Bed & Breakfast Inn lies in the heart of Asheville, NC, just minutes to downtown and Biltmore Estate. Enjoy those extra special touches, from exceptionally restful beds and delightful breakfasts to our expansive wrap-around porch overlooking the gardens. You'll feel comfortably at home in the casual elegance of this 1885 residence with an eclectic mix of antique, traditional and unusual furnishings. Choose from ten guest accommodations, many with fireplaces and/or whirlpool tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hill House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing