We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third anniversery getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hill House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #17 of 39 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Third anniversery getaway”
Reviewed 13 July 2013

While we did not have a flawless experience at this B&B with the house keeping and reservation process, the staff certainly worked hard to make everything right. In the end it was an ideal location for our trip!

The innkeeper is doing a great job keeping the interior of this old home in beautiful condition, the gardens are a nice asset but have certainly been left to overgrow from the condition in the website's photos.

The rooms included a booklet written by the staff that was a great summary of area attractions hikes and restaurants that we found very accurate and helpful. The inn is located in a neighborhood of mixed properties (some in good and others in poor condition) and is within a mile's walk of downtown via a diverse urban neighborhood that was safe, but I would recommend driving to town for those who do not quickly feel comfortable in new settings or who will be out past dark.

Room Tip: All rooms with the exception of the Biltmore suite seemed to have comparable views, and met expectat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank assessor370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hill_House_Innkeeper, Owner at Hill House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Thanks for the nice words. But the yard isn't "overgrown." The website photos were taken in April. In June, everything is just much thicker and lush.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    449
    65
    22
    4
    5
See reviews for
66
349
13
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ostrander, Ohio
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We have stayed at this facility several times for small business meetings. David provides a dining room that serves the needs of our meeting when the weather on the veranda is inadequate. The service, cleanliness and general atmoshpere make for a great meeting. There are plenty of great places to eat in the city but David's team creates an unusually good breakfast. The cookie bowl is always full too.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hill_House_Innkeeper, Owner at Hill House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
Jim, If you and the Insourcess team come back again, we're going to have to make you all your own keys. Thanks for the nice words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Hill House Bed & Breakfast was great for a recent trip I took with my mom. The only downside was that it was a little far from downtown. We were able to walk to dinner but if we wanted to shop or stay out long we had to drive. The best part was the amazing woman who cooked breakfast every morning. VERY helpful and a great cook. The ground were very peaceful and the Inn was high quality. Loved the complimentary wine and cookies.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hanya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hill_House_Innkeeper, Owner at Hill House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
That was Crystal the reviewer was commenting on. She's been with Hill House since it came under new ownership in February 2012, and has a wonderful ability of thinking three steps ahead of things. Your comments made her day. Thank you, Hannah.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2013 via mobile

Very clean and spacious room! Complimentary wine and cookies on Hill House porch was the highlight of our Asheville trip! Hill House was the perfect B&B. Very nice, high quality without being stuffy. Highly recommend!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fyfranca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hill_House_Innkeeper, Owner at Hill House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Margaret, Glad you enjoyed our cookies so much. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Decatur, Georgia, United States
1 review
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Everything about the property is lovingly cared for, from the rooms to the grounds. It's a very peaceful space to get away to. I loved our room and it's extra sitting space off to the side. I would highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kayt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hill_House_Innkeeper, Owner at Hill House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 7 July 2013
Kayt, Thanks so much for the kind words....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Fort Myers
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

My husband and I enjoyed 3 nights at Hill House. A Thursday to Sunday stay. The room was one of the smaller offerings at this Inn as we made a last minute trip to escape the FL heat. The room was perfect and well appointed with a comfortable bed. The decor was warm, inviting and functional. Breakfasts were divine and a great way to start each day at 9am. In the evenings from 5-7pm the wine and light appetizer platter was a nice way to commune once again with other guests before setting out to town for dinner. The overall reason I liked the Inn was because the staff was always available without being intrusive which made for a relaxed atmosphere.

Room Tip: Go to the Inn's website directly to view pictures of each room. For a historic home the rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shoprichards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hill_House_Innkeeper, Owner at Hill House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 7 July 2013
Joan, You're too kind. Thanks, David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Although we were only able to stay at this B & B for one night, we thoroughly enjoyed our time there. We were greeted by name at check-in and shown around the home. We easily found our way to downtown, just a quick drive down Merrimon Ave. The Arcade room, on the first floor, was very cozy and comfortable. The breakfast, a peach soufflé and slice of ham, was served with coffee and juice with bits of fruit in it. Delicious. We also enjoyed the company of Crystal, who along with the food delivered some quite interesting stories!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYNCDiane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hill_House_Innkeeper, Owner at Hill House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 30 June 2013
Thanks for the nice words, MM. Crystal certainly loves to chat up guests after breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
Sweet Biscuit Inn
#6 of 39 in Asheville
749 reviews
The Omni Grove Park Inn
#11 of 65 in Asheville
5,824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic Montford
1900 Inn on Montford
1900 Inn on Montford
#19 of 39 in Asheville
870 reviews
Historic Montford
The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House
Albemarle Inn
#25 of 39 in Asheville
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hill House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hill House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Hill House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 120 Hillside St, Asheville, NC 28801-1206
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville > Five Points
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hill House Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hill House Bed & Breakfast Inn lies in the heart of Asheville, NC, just minutes to downtown and Biltmore Estate. Enjoy those extra special touches, from exceptionally restful beds and delightful breakfasts to our expansive wrap-around porch overlooking the gardens. You'll feel comfortably at home in the casual elegance of this 1885 residence with an eclectic mix of antique, traditional and unusual furnishings. Choose from ten guest accommodations, most with fireplaces and/or whirlpool tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hill House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing