We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, adorable digs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hill House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #18 of 38 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location, adorable digs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

First off, I have to thank David for being so accommodating to our last minute travel needs--my boyfriend and I decided last minute to take a detour during our holidays travels to enjoy a new city, but of course once I started looking around Asheville four days ahead of arrival I was unable to find anything that met our expectations (good location, unique, affordable). Due to a last minute cancellation, David was able to call me back to offer the S&W room--our lucky day! We unfortunately arrived late afternoon and were unable to make it to breakfast the next day, but the short amount of time that we spent at the house will undoubtedly have me booking a longer stay in the future. For those who want to take in the quirkier side of Asheville, the short walk that gets you into the heart of the city offers tons of little coffee shops, bars, and stores. Sidebar: I wouldn't walk back at night (not because of the location of the inn, but part of the neighborhood that you would walk back through in the dark, not very well lit), but was still able to take advantage of the brewery and wine scene thanks to a quick $5 cab ride home.

No, you won't be in the "thick" of downtown--but the hotels that are seem to be overpriced for what they offer, and the cute little wooded neighborhood that the inn is a part of is still a very reasonable walk away, even in December. Hill House is charming, cozy, and exactly the type of spot I would want to stay in for an Asheville/Blue Ridge get-away. We shall return!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NWilliams21403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    438
    64
    22
    4
    5
See reviews for
63
343
13
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
66 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

Location: Hill House is situated mere minutes from downtown Asheville, so it's in close proximity to (some of the best) restaurants and shops.

Accommodations: We stayed in the Biltmore suite. The decor was not as impressive as it seemed online, but that can be forgiven. However, having a toilet that did not work for the majority of our stay? Not so forgivable. In addition, the room was extremely cold. Either this building was inadequately insulated or...it's inadequately insulated. To add insult to injury, the fireplace was on a timer and didn't raise the temperature in the room at all (again, poor insulation).

Breakfast: We're vegetarians, and I made this clear on our reservation. Unfortunately, this was not communicated to the chef, and they plopped down a plate with eggs and shrimp. I know some vegheads eat eggs, but I don't, and made this clear as well. I will give them the credit that breakfast the following morning was pretty good, but I expect details like this to be honored. We were also served last each morning, which made us feel a bit unwelcomed. On the first morning, okay I get it. Each morning after, something must be up.

Bed: Absolutely superb. I have no complaints about the comfort of the bed, the softness of the bedding or the fluffiness of the pillows. This was great, hands down.

Overall: We will not be staying here again they're offering a discount or provide a Living Social or Groupon deal. We'll stick to 1889 White Gate Inn.

Room Tip: Biltmore Suite is located at the end of the hall; it's good not having people on both sides of y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Serenafan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hill_House_Innkeeper, Owner at Hill House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Some guests are impossible to satisfy. Yes, it was a very busy Christmas season and we overlooked that they had stated in their registration materials that they were vegetarians. I personally apologized and gave them a rebate, which apparently didn't matter to them.

They maintain they told staff about the toilet problem. However, staff tells me the first they knew about it was when the next guests checked in Christmas Day and complained. It was fixed the next day.

We're mystified how the call the Biltmore room cold. The second floor of Hill House is always warm, and the Biltmore has central heat and its temperature is always able to keep up with the thermostat setting. Moreover, the windows in the room have very very heavy drapes. No one has ever called the room cold. And if they had said something about it to us, we would have gladly brought a space heater.

Because they were served last the first day due to us preparing vegetarian options at the last moment, these guests seemed to think they should have been served first the next day. I mean, who's counting? Our priority is to serve the large tables consecutively so all sitting there can eat together.

These guests arrived with a vinyl bag overflowing with condom packages. Yet housekeeping saw no used condoms, which may account for the toilet problem. Their room was one of the more difficult to clean in the experience of housekeeping staff.

I hate to turn business away, but I'm glad to hear that these guests feel they are better suited for Frank and the Whitegate Inn than Hill House, and that they will be staying there on their next trip to Asheville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolina Beach, North Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

The "Biltmore Suite" was just perfect! We enjoyed a luxurious bubble bath after a great meal downtown. The south-facing room occupies the entire front of the second story of this ninteenth century estate home. Extraordinarily quiet and the bed was exceptionally comfortable. Internet connection was easy, fast and reliable.
The breakfast was equally rave-worthy and the fresh-made juice was delicious. Good coffee and tea options and nice country atmosphere. Parking in the rear of the house with immediate entry access would be a welcome plus in bad weather ... but we enjoyed great weather. GPS took us right to the front door.

Room Tip: Study the room amenities at the web site for this B&B. They are very well described. We loved th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Al R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryville, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

A birthday getaway weekend for my wife was a lovely experience due in no small part to the charm and comfort of the accommodations at Hill House. We are now looking for excuses to return. What we thought was going to be just a place to stay while we enjoyed Asheville will now be our main reason for return visits to the area. The breakfasts were remarkable.

Room Tip: The Flat Iron, with its separate sitting room, is the perfect room for anyone who enjoys a good book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

Our stay, the first ever at a B & B, was wonderful. Our room (the Jackson) was immaculate and quiet, and David and his fellow staff were welcoming and clearly dedicated to providing excellent service. The breakfasts were delicious, substantial and made from scratch and with love.

The grounds were quiet (set off from the road a bit) and the front garden very welcoming. We spent one evening on the expansive front porch enjoying a book and a glass of wine, and another in the front room playing a board game (we had brought ours with us, but there was a lovely wooden Chinese checkers, etc. multiple game board available). We were interested in hiking to see some waterfalls and Crystal, the Hill House chef, gave us driving directions that worked out perfectly. That hike was a highlight of our time in Asheville. We even saw a white squirrel!

The inn is centrally located. We were only a 5-minute drive or a 15-20 minute walk to downtown Asheville and the art museum and restaurants we particularly liked (such as Zambra).

I realized after we arrived home that I'd left a book in our room and contacted the staff by phone. They found the book and mailed it to me the next week and sent me an e-mail to let me know they had done so.

We will be returning to Asheville next year and definitely stay again at the Hill House.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie_Winder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Hillhouse for our 8 year anniversary during the second half of October. David and his staff are very nice and the house is beautiful! It is within walking distance to Downtown Asheville which is great too! The only minor issue we had during our stay was that one night after being out, we came back to find our room reeked of a bleach smell (like headache inducing...couldn't sleep that night very well..) badly. They did offer to switch us to a different room for the night but we opted not to so we wouldn't have to shuffle our luggage there and back (the room was booked for the next night). Overall though we enjoyed our stay and would recommend Hillhouse.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikkecole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hill_House_Innkeeper, Owner at Hill House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Our regular backup housekeeper didn't show the Sunday that Nikke and Joe checked in, and I called a cleaning service that had good references to help. The housekeeper didn't ask about the bleach, and was just too liberal in her use of it. It was a surprise to everyone here how she cleaned. Our apologies about that. I had thought we had gotten the bathroom aired out before bedtime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
188 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

The three of us, now that we're "middle-aged," like to have a weekend once in a while away from the hubbub of family. The Flat Iron Suite was perfect for us, and even had room for one more sister if we had been so lucky. David and his staff are friendly, the breakfasts were beautifully presented and delicious, and the common spaces are hospitable. Just one mile away from the square is close enough to walk (and safe enough too) while giving you a little quiet and space from downtown.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
The Omni Grove Park Inn
#11 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,553 reviews
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
Historic Montford
1900 Inn on Montford
1900 Inn on Montford
#19 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sweet Biscuit Inn
#7 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
North Lodge on Oakland
#17 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Historic Montford
Applewood Manor Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hill House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hill House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Hill House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 120 Hillside St, Asheville, NC 28801-1206
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville > Five Points
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hill House Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hill House Bed & Breakfast Inn lies in the heart of Asheville, NC, just minutes to downtown and Biltmore Estate. Enjoy those extra special touches, from exceptionally restful beds and delightful breakfasts to our expansive wrap-around porch overlooking the gardens. You'll feel comfortably at home in the casual elegance of this 1885 residence with an eclectic mix of antique, traditional and unusual furnishings. Choose from ten guest accommodations, most with fireplaces and/or whirlpool tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hill House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing