We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, quiet couples getaway and just close enough to town yet secluded”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hill House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #17 of 38 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
96 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Excellent food, quiet couples getaway and just close enough to town yet secluded”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We had a wonderful couples getaway at the hill house. It is a quiet, peaceful property. At the time there were not many couples so we almost had the feeling of having the house to ourselves. The staff greeted us and made us feel welcome as soon as we got out of the car.

Do not miss the breakfast!! The food is hand prepared and so very tasty! We could smell the preparations in the early evening and it was wonderful.

You can walk to downtown Asheville and there is more than one route so take a quick look. Also, a yellow cab trip from downtown is less than $10. The whirlpool tub in our room was soothing and it was an excellent unwind.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank captjacksprrw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    446
    65
    22
    4
    5
See reviews for
65
348
13
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, South Carolina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

From the moment we drove up the charming twisty driveway I knew I would love Hill House - and I did! We stayed in the Jackson Room and it was the epitome of comfort. Thank you for the bath salts & lotion particularly :) The afternoon social hour was a very nice touch also. Would have loved to sit outside for breakfast but the weather was not permitting. I'm not big on the "family table" but we did manage to snag one of the two small tables-for-two one morning. Thank you for a wonderful get-away!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PattiT66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnton, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 February 2014

This was my first experience staying at a bed and breakfast. My husband and a couple we are close with traveled to Asheville to enjoy the food, drink, and sites of the city. When we arrived at Hill House we were greeted by the proprietor who made us feel at home. He offered us wine and light refreshments while we settled in. We stayed in the Biltmore Suite which was fantastic. The room was cozy and private. It had a wonderful bathroom, 4 poster bed, and fire place. The house was full the weekend we were there but we were not disturbed by comings and goings of other guests. The breakfasts were delicious as well. I have already recommended Hill House to my brother and his wife.

Room Tip: The Biltmore Suite was a more pricey room but it was wonderful. We got to peek in one of the other r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Desiree L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland, Utah
1 review
Reviewed 15 February 2014

This bed and breakfast was near the freeway but far away enough not to hear it. The staff was very accommodating and breakfast was delicious. I don't like reviews that require a minimum of 200 characters because I don't know what else to say.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pomgarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morganton, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Everything was wonderful. Owner was ready to meet with us as soon as we arrived and showed us to our room. Because of some problems with freezing pipes he upgraded us to another room and made sure that we had all that we needed. We were unable to take advantage of the breakfast because we had to leave early, but he brought some things to our room so we could have something in the morning before we left. Really enjoyed our stay. Thanks,

Room Tip: Apartment was roomy
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellettsville, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We had stayed here before although it had been a few years. Located in a quiet neighborhood in Asheville, the house seems huge but comfy. There were treats to nibble on in the common room, we got a great restaurant recommendation, and breakfast was delightful in the company of fellow travelers after a good night's sleep. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ethan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

First off, I have to thank David for being so accommodating to our last minute travel needs--my boyfriend and I decided last minute to take a detour during our holidays travels to enjoy a new city, but of course once I started looking around Asheville four days ahead of arrival I was unable to find anything that met our expectations (good location, unique, affordable). Due to a last minute cancellation, David was able to call me back to offer the S&W room--our lucky day! We unfortunately arrived late afternoon and were unable to make it to breakfast the next day, but the short amount of time that we spent at the house will undoubtedly have me booking a longer stay in the future. For those who want to take in the quirkier side of Asheville, the short walk that gets you into the heart of the city offers tons of little coffee shops, bars, and stores. Sidebar: I wouldn't walk back at night (not because of the location of the inn, but part of the neighborhood that you would walk back through in the dark, not very well lit), but was still able to take advantage of the brewery and wine scene thanks to a quick $5 cab ride home.

No, you won't be in the "thick" of downtown--but the hotels that are seem to be overpriced for what they offer, and the cute little wooded neighborhood that the inn is a part of is still a very reasonable walk away, even in December. Hill House is charming, cozy, and exactly the type of spot I would want to stay in for an Asheville/Blue Ridge get-away. We shall return!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NWilliams21403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
The Omni Grove Park Inn
#12 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,666 reviews
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
Historic Montford
1900 Inn on Montford
1900 Inn on Montford
#19 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sweet Biscuit Inn
#6 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
North Lodge on Oakland
#18 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Historic Montford
Applewood Manor Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hill House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hill House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Hill House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 120 Hillside St, Asheville, NC 28801-1206
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville > Five Points
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hill House Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hill House Bed & Breakfast Inn lies in the heart of Asheville, NC, just minutes to downtown and Biltmore Estate. Enjoy those extra special touches, from exceptionally restful beds and delightful breakfasts to our expansive wrap-around porch overlooking the gardens. You'll feel comfortably at home in the casual elegance of this 1885 residence with an eclectic mix of antique, traditional and unusual furnishings. Choose from ten guest accommodations, most with fireplaces and/or whirlpool tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hill House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing