We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Zero to complain about...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hill House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #19 of 39 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

Our first stay in a bed and breakfast, and it couldn't have been more positive. David and his staff are great and so accommodating. Loved the afternoon wine and snacks and breakfast was delicious. We will definitely stay at Hill House again when in Asheville.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank MichaelPGoodwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (570)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

248 - 254 of 571 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2014

We had a wonderful couples getaway at the hill house. It is a quiet, peaceful property. At the time there were not many couples so we almost had the feeling of having the house to ourselves. The staff greeted us and made us feel welcome as soon as we got out of the car.

Do not miss the breakfast!! The food is hand prepared and so very tasty! We could smell the preparations in the early evening and it was wonderful.

You can walk to downtown Asheville and there is more than one route so take a quick look. Also, a yellow cab trip from downtown is less than $10. The whirlpool tub in our room was soothing and it was an excellent unwind.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank captjacksprrw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

From the moment we drove up the charming twisty driveway I knew I would love Hill House - and I did! We stayed in the Jackson Room and it was the epitome of comfort. Thank you for the bath salts & lotion particularly :) The afternoon social hour was a very nice touch also. Would have loved to sit outside for breakfast but the weather was not permitting. I'm not big on the "family table" but we did manage to snag one of the two small tables-for-two one morning. Thank you for a wonderful get-away!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank PattiT66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

This was my first experience staying at a bed and breakfast. My husband and a couple we are close with traveled to Asheville to enjoy the food, drink, and sites of the city. When we arrived at Hill House we were greeted by the proprietor who made us feel at home. He offered us wine and light refreshments while we settled in. We stayed in the Biltmore Suite which was fantastic. The room was cozy and private. It had a wonderful bathroom, 4 poster bed, and fire place. The house was full the weekend we were there but we were not disturbed by comings and goings of other guests. The breakfasts were delicious as well. I have already recommended Hill House to my brother and his wife.

Room Tip: The Biltmore Suite was a more pricey room but it was wonderful. We got to peek in one of the other r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Desiree L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

This bed and breakfast was near the freeway but far away enough not to hear it. The staff was very accommodating and breakfast was delicious. I don't like reviews that require a minimum of 200 characters because I don't know what else to say.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pomgarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Everything was wonderful. Owner was ready to meet with us as soon as we arrived and showed us to our room. Because of some problems with freezing pipes he upgraded us to another room and made sure that we had all that we needed. We were unable to take advantage of the breakfast because we had to leave early, but he brought some things to our room so we could have something in the morning before we left. Really enjoyed our stay. Thanks,

Room Tip: Apartment was roomy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We had stayed here before although it had been a few years. Located in a quiet neighborhood in Asheville, the house seems huge but comfy. There were treats to nibble on in the common room, we got a great restaurant recommendation, and breakfast was delightful in the company of fellow travelers after a good night's sleep. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ethan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Sweet Biscuit Inn
#5 of 39 in Asheville
801 reviews
Historic Montford
The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic Montford
Pinecrest Bed & Breakfast
Pinecrest Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 39 in Asheville
770 reviews
Biltmore Village Inn
#9 of 39 in Asheville
1,631 reviews
Chestnut Street Inn
#1 of 39 in Asheville
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hill House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hill House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 120 Hillside St, Asheville, NC 28801-1206
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville > Five Points
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range: £119 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hill House Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hill House Bed & Breakfast Inn lies in the heart of Asheville, NC, just minutes to downtown and Biltmore Estate. Enjoy those extra special touches, from exceptionally restful beds and delightful breakfasts to our expansive wrap-around porch overlooking the gardens. You'll feel comfortably at home in the casual elegance of this 1885 residence with an eclectic mix of antique, traditional and unusual furnishings. Choose from ten guest accommodations, many with fireplaces and/or whirlpool tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hill House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing