We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Marvelous Hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hill House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #17 of 38 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Marvelous Hospitality”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We’ve stayed at a lot of B’n'B’s in our travels, and now Hill House has become one of our favorites. The House is beautifully maintained with loving care by David and his staff. As soon as we pulled up, Vanessa came out and warmly greeted us. She’s wonderful, and instantly helped us feel right at home. Upon walking around the Inn, we found a lovely front porch and a nice garden in the side yard with an inviting hammock.

We stayed in the “Kress Room” (upstairs) and truly enjoyed its warm, relaxing charm. My wife loves a good bath, and the large claw foot tub delighted her. We’re sticklers for room cleanliness and the Kress room with adjoining bath did not disappoint. The queen-sized bed and pillows were comfy and cozy, allowing us a restful night. The Kress Room is not large but it suited our needs just fine, providing lots of storage space.

The next morning we were greeting by the tantalizing aroma of brewing coffee. We made our way down to breakfast and were treated to a scrumptious meal of pear soufflé with a side of country ham, prepared by Vanessa and served by Vanessa and David.

We really liked the location of Hill House too. We easily walked downtown (perhaps a 10-15 minute walk).

We plan to re-visit Asheville again in the near future – it’s a great town with lot’s to do. And Hill House will again be our B’n’B of choice. Marvelous accommodations!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jade22221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    446
    65
    22
    4
    5
See reviews for
65
348
13
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Hill House was an ideal B&B. Convenient location. Beautiful clean room. Friendly and courteous staff. Interesting and amicable guests. Wonderful living room and porch for relaxing after a long day of walking at the Biltmore Estate. Delicious unusual breakfasts. Parking right by the entrance. We chose to tour the Biltmore Estate the day of arrival and the following day. The tickets were available before check-in. I accidently dropped my wallet under the table at breakfast the day we were leaving, but didn't realize it until hours and hundreds of miles later. Dave and Vanessa were great about searching for it. They packed it up and shipped it to me. The wallet and all of the contents, including the cash, arrived safely by UPS. A great two night rest on our drive North from Florida. Jackie and I can't say enough great things about Hill House!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We had a great time at the Hill House Bed and Breakfast! My wife and I were only able to stay for a single night, but really enjoyed ourselves. The house itself is beautiful and on a nice plot of land up above the road, with a great front lawn and nice garden in front of a large front porch. Inside it's beautiful and very nicely decorated, and the rooms themselves are spacious and have a very classic look. The service was great - apps and wine were put out in the evening, and were more or less available throughout our stay. Additionally, the breakfast was superb! We wished we could have stayed another night!

Re: Asheville, it was in a good location - about a mile or so from the main downtown and a mile from UNC-Asheville (which was much smaller than we thought it'd be). On a nice day you can definitely walk down to the restaurants and breweries.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raglan, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

My boyfriend and I recently spent an absolutely delightful stay at Hill House. The youth and off season discounts really let us pamper ourselves and we felt like kings. The staff took excellent care of us, we loved the light and the furnishings in the Flat Iron Suite, the wine and munchies were a nice touch and the gardens were just aching to bloom. We will definitely return, and as avid walkers, the trek to and from town is really pleasant and an excellent way to burn off all the tasty food you'll find at Hill House and in Asheville.

Room Tip: We loved the multiple room setup in the Flat Iron Suite and it gets a lovely sunset view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joshkosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saegertown
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We very much enjoyed our visit here, The food was plentiful and excellent. The staff was very friendly and the follow up contact with the owner was much appreciated. Thank you. We hope to visit beautiful Asheville again. The location is perfect,

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angelty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indian Trail, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 2 nights and it was okay. Structurally it is well built with ample room in the bedroom and bathroom. They have a guest kitchen which was great because we could make hot beverages whenever we wanted and they had silverware and dishes available. Breakfast is good with coffee and tea. However, the rooms need to be cleaned. Our room was very dusty and my allergies were awful there because of the dust. The mantle and window sills were filthy with buildup. David, the owner, was accommodating and helpful. I didn't have the nerve to tell him the rooms were not getting cleaned. The bathroom fixtures were clean but the woodwork and decorations all need a good cleaning. But a great location and parking was easy.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank DMihaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hill_House_Innkeeper, Owner at Hill House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
This guest was correct. Staff had not been properly dusting this room, which is something that is particularly irritating to people with allergies. I've reviewed with staff that dusting needs to be more than hitting the tabletops. Darlene, thank you for your constructive criticisms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

Our first stay in a bed and breakfast, and it couldn't have been more positive. David and his staff are great and so accommodating. Loved the afternoon wine and snacks and breakfast was delicious. We will definitely stay at Hill House again when in Asheville.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MichaelPGoodwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
The Omni Grove Park Inn
#12 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,682 reviews
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
Historic Montford
1900 Inn on Montford
1900 Inn on Montford
#19 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sweet Biscuit Inn
#6 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
North Lodge on Oakland
#18 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Historic Montford
Applewood Manor Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hill House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hill House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Hill House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 120 Hillside St, Asheville, NC 28801-1206
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville > Five Points
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hill House Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hill House Bed & Breakfast Inn lies in the heart of Asheville, NC, just minutes to downtown and Biltmore Estate. Enjoy those extra special touches, from exceptionally restful beds and delightful breakfasts to our expansive wrap-around porch overlooking the gardens. You'll feel comfortably at home in the casual elegance of this 1885 residence with an eclectic mix of antique, traditional and unusual furnishings. Choose from ten guest accommodations, most with fireplaces and/or whirlpool tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hill House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing