We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty and Dusty”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hill House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #18 of 39 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We are experienced B&B travelers who stayed here 1 night in April 2014-stayed in the back building as we had a pet with us. We were checked in by Vanessa, and had to call her back to our room after inspecting the cleanliness/condition of the room. Toilette not cleaned, food in the sink, coffee/grounds in the pot from previous guests, fan blades coated with dust and dirt/dust balls in living room.
She agreed condition of room was not acceptable and did a new cleaning while we left the property for an hour or so. Upon our return we were greeted by David, whose first words to my wife were "You can't park your car here-sorry for the condition of the room". It was too early in the year for flowers/garden to be in bloom, but the view from my doorstep of the neighbor's yard waste/brush pile was no treat. We did not stay for breakfast, so can't comment on the food.
Travelers deserve better than this when spending $200+ per night.

Room Tip: Better options in town for travelers with pets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank HoosierCruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hill_House_Innkeeper, Owner at Hill House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

This miserable, unhappy, vindictive couple arrived two hours before check-in time and before the hour they had told us they would be arriving. My assistant innkeeper told them that their room had not been prepped yet, but they insisted on checking into it. After a few minutes, they called Vanessa back to the room, and the woman began publicly berating her outdoors because the room wasn't clean to her satisfaction. She was yelling so loudly that other staff in the inn, 100 feet away, heard her clearly.

Vanessa tried to explain to her that she hadn't prepped the room because they had arrived early, but this woman wanted nothing of it, and continued her tirade. She got so lost and wound up in her shrieking that at one point she kicked her poor little dog who was trying to get her attention. They left for a brief time, during which Vanessa cleaned the room to her apparent satisfaction.

I was off the property when this occurred. Had I been there to witness what sounds like the worst guest behavior Hill House has seen in my 27 months of ownership, I hope I would have told this shrew to get the $#%$ off my property and to look for a refund on her credit card statement the next day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (576)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

246 - 252 of 576 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2014

We’ve stayed at a lot of B’n'B’s in our travels, and now Hill House has become one of our favorites. The House is beautifully maintained with loving care by David and his staff. As soon as we pulled up, Vanessa came out and warmly greeted us. She’s wonderful, and instantly helped us feel right at home. Upon walking around the Inn, we found a lovely front porch and a nice garden in the side yard with an inviting hammock.

We stayed in the “Kress Room” (upstairs) and truly enjoyed its warm, relaxing charm. My wife loves a good bath, and the large claw foot tub delighted her. We’re sticklers for room cleanliness and the Kress room with adjoining bath did not disappoint. The queen-sized bed and pillows were comfy and cozy, allowing us a restful night. The Kress Room is not large but it suited our needs just fine, providing lots of storage space.

The next morning we were greeting by the tantalizing aroma of brewing coffee. We made our way down to breakfast and were treated to a scrumptious meal of pear soufflé with a side of country ham, prepared by Vanessa and served by Vanessa and David.

We really liked the location of Hill House too. We easily walked downtown (perhaps a 10-15 minute walk).

We plan to re-visit Asheville again in the near future – it’s a great town with lot’s to do. And Hill House will again be our B’n’B of choice. Marvelous accommodations!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jade22221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Hill House was an ideal B&B. Convenient location. Beautiful clean room. Friendly and courteous staff. Interesting and amicable guests. Wonderful living room and porch for relaxing after a long day of walking at the Biltmore Estate. Delicious unusual breakfasts. Parking right by the entrance. We chose to tour the Biltmore Estate the day of arrival and the following day. The tickets were available before check-in. I accidently dropped my wallet under the table at breakfast the day we were leaving, but didn't realize it until hours and hundreds of miles later. Dave and Vanessa were great about searching for it. They packed it up and shipped it to me. The wallet and all of the contents, including the cash, arrived safely by UPS. A great two night rest on our drive North from Florida. Jackie and I can't say enough great things about Hill House!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Don S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We had a great time at the Hill House Bed and Breakfast! My wife and I were only able to stay for a single night, but really enjoyed ourselves. The house itself is beautiful and on a nice plot of land up above the road, with a great front lawn and nice garden in front of a large front porch. Inside it's beautiful and very nicely decorated, and the rooms themselves are spacious and have a very classic look. The service was great - apps and wine were put out in the evening, and were more or less available throughout our stay. Additionally, the breakfast was superb! We wished we could have stayed another night!

Re: Asheville, it was in a good location - about a mile or so from the main downtown and a mile from UNC-Asheville (which was much smaller than we thought it'd be). On a nice day you can definitely walk down to the restaurants and breweries.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

My boyfriend and I recently spent an absolutely delightful stay at Hill House. The youth and off season discounts really let us pamper ourselves and we felt like kings. The staff took excellent care of us, we loved the light and the furnishings in the Flat Iron Suite, the wine and munchies were a nice touch and the gardens were just aching to bloom. We will definitely return, and as avid walkers, the trek to and from town is really pleasant and an excellent way to burn off all the tasty food you'll find at Hill House and in Asheville.

Room Tip: We loved the multiple room setup in the Flat Iron Suite and it gets a lovely sunset view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joshkosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We very much enjoyed our visit here, The food was plentiful and excellent. The staff was very friendly and the follow up contact with the owner was much appreciated. Thank you. We hope to visit beautiful Asheville again. The location is perfect,

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angelty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 2 nights and it was okay. Structurally it is well built with ample room in the bedroom and bathroom. They have a guest kitchen which was great because we could make hot beverages whenever we wanted and they had silverware and dishes available. Breakfast is good with coffee and tea. However, the rooms need to be cleaned. Our room was very dusty and my allergies were awful there because of the dust. The mantle and window sills were filthy with buildup. David, the owner, was accommodating and helpful. I didn't have the nerve to tell him the rooms were not getting cleaned. The bathroom fixtures were clean but the woodwork and decorations all need a good cleaning. But a great location and parking was easy.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank DMihaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hill_House_Innkeeper, Owner at Hill House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

This guest was correct. Staff had not been properly dusting this room, which is something that is particularly irritating to people with allergies. I've reviewed with staff that dusting needs to be more than hitting the tabletops. Darlene, thank you for your constructive criticisms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Princess Anne Hotel
#2 of 68 in Asheville
717 reviews
Sweet Biscuit Inn
#5 of 39 in Asheville
820 reviews
Historic Montford
The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Biltmore Village Inn
#7 of 39 in Asheville
1,651 reviews
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hill House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hill House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 120 Hillside St, Asheville, NC 28801-1206
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville > Five Points
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range: £87 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hill House Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hill House Bed & Breakfast Inn lies in the heart of Asheville, NC, just minutes to downtown and Biltmore Estate. Enjoy those extra special touches, from exceptionally restful beds and delightful breakfasts to our expansive wrap-around porch overlooking the gardens. You'll feel comfortably at home in the casual elegance of this 1885 residence with an eclectic mix of antique, traditional and unusual furnishings. Choose from ten guest accommodations, many with fireplaces and/or whirlpool tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hill House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing