We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bob W "Very nice place to stay, great breakfast, nice people"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hill House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #17 of 39 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bob W "Very nice place to stay, great breakfast, nice people"”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We arrived Friday evening and we were greeted by David who took us on a tour of the home. My wife really likes homes like this so I new that she would enjoy staying here. The morning breakfast were outstanding along with the early evening wine & cheese. We stayed in the Flat Iron room, which was very nice and comfortable. My wife and I can't wait to this wonderful B&B.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    448
    65
    22
    4
    5
See reviews for
66
348
13
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Georgia
Level Contributor
177 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

My wife and I frequently visit Asheville and have stayed in many Bed and Breakfasts and hotels. This provided all we could ask for. We stayed in the Flat Iron room. It is up a long flight of stairs. It had a living room and a bedroom. Both were spacious. The bathroom was updated but small. This is an old house that was renovated so we did not expect a modern bath like with new construction. The breakfast was very nice....." german style apple pancakes "....filling and delicious. There is a large front porch that was wonderful for early morning coffee before breakfast. They also have a guest kitchen so you can make tea or put wine or drinks in a refrigerator. Finally , the location is great. Very nice street. Minutes from downtown Asheville.

Room Tip: this is an old house so the second floor is more like the third in a new home.....so , make sure you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Carlos, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We recently stayed at this lovely Bed & Breakfast. We stayed in Battery Park room and loved having the porch space. Whether visiting on the porch with a glass of wine in the evening to drinking coffee with fellow guests in the morning before the scrumptious breakfast. I highly recommended Hillstreet.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karla k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Loved it! Some B&B's tend to be "fussy" with too many things placed everywhere and too many different patterns in one room. Our room here was great!! Warm and welcoming without all the clutter. Loved the front porch...great place to have a glass of wine. Dinner recommendations were welcome...ate the best Indian food we have ever had!! Would definitely go there again! Breakfast both mornings we were there: wonderful!

Room Tip: I honestly don't think there is a bad room! The ones we peeked in looked great too. We were in t...
See more room tips
Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

This was our second, and certainly not our last, stay at Hill House. Excellent location near downtown on a quiet street. Very clean and private, and the staff is great. Asheville is an outstanding destination for foodies, hikers, cultural events or just a get-away.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We are experienced B&B travelers who stayed here 1 night in April 2014-stayed in the back building as we had a pet with us. We were checked in by Vanessa, and had to call her back to our room after inspecting the cleanliness/condition of the room. Toilette not cleaned, food in the sink, coffee/grounds in the pot from previous guests, fan blades coated with dust and dirt/dust balls in living room.
She agreed condition of room was not acceptable and did a new cleaning while we left the property for an hour or so. Upon our return we were greeted by David, whose first words to my wife were "You can't park your car here-sorry for the condition of the room". It was too early in the year for flowers/garden to be in bloom, but the view from my doorstep of the neighbor's yard waste/brush pile was no treat. We did not stay for breakfast, so can't comment on the food.
Travelers deserve better than this when spending $200+ per night.

Room Tip: Better options in town for travelers with pets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank HoosierCruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hill_House_Innkeeper, Owner at Hill House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
This miserable, unhappy, vindictive couple arrived two hours before check-in time and before the hour they had told us they would be arriving. My assistant innkeeper told them that their room had not been prepped yet, but they insisted on checking into it. After a few minutes, they called Vanessa back to the room, and the woman began publicly berating her outdoors because the room wasn't clean to her satisfaction. She was yelling so loudly that other staff in the inn, 100 feet away, heard her clearly.

Vanessa tried to explain to her that she hadn't prepped the room because they had arrived early, but this woman wanted nothing of it, and continued her tirade. She got so lost and wound up in her shrieking that at one point she kicked her poor little dog who was trying to get her attention. They left for a brief time, during which Vanessa cleaned the room to her apparent satisfaction.

I was off the property when this occurred. Had I been there to witness what sounds like the worst guest behavior Hill House has seen in my 27 months of ownership, I hope I would have told this shrew to get the $#%$ off my property and to look for a refund on her credit card statement the next day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We’ve stayed at a lot of B’n'B’s in our travels, and now Hill House has become one of our favorites. The House is beautifully maintained with loving care by David and his staff. As soon as we pulled up, Vanessa came out and warmly greeted us. She’s wonderful, and instantly helped us feel right at home. Upon walking around the Inn, we found a lovely front porch and a nice garden in the side yard with an inviting hammock.

We stayed in the “Kress Room” (upstairs) and truly enjoyed its warm, relaxing charm. My wife loves a good bath, and the large claw foot tub delighted her. We’re sticklers for room cleanliness and the Kress room with adjoining bath did not disappoint. The queen-sized bed and pillows were comfy and cozy, allowing us a restful night. The Kress Room is not large but it suited our needs just fine, providing lots of storage space.

The next morning we were greeting by the tantalizing aroma of brewing coffee. We made our way down to breakfast and were treated to a scrumptious meal of pear soufflé with a side of country ham, prepared by Vanessa and served by Vanessa and David.

We really liked the location of Hill House too. We easily walked downtown (perhaps a 10-15 minute walk).

We plan to re-visit Asheville again in the near future – it’s a great town with lot’s to do. And Hill House will again be our B’n’B of choice. Marvelous accommodations!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jade22221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Sweet Biscuit Inn
#6 of 39 in Asheville
747 reviews
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
The Omni Grove Park Inn
#11 of 65 in Asheville
5,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic Montford
1900 Inn on Montford
1900 Inn on Montford
#18 of 39 in Asheville
869 reviews
Albemarle Inn
#25 of 39 in Asheville
713 reviews
North Lodge on Oakland
#19 of 39 in Asheville
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hill House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hill House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Hill House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 120 Hillside St, Asheville, NC 28801-1206
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville > Five Points
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hill House Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hill House Bed & Breakfast Inn lies in the heart of Asheville, NC, just minutes to downtown and Biltmore Estate. Enjoy those extra special touches, from exceptionally restful beds and delightful breakfasts to our expansive wrap-around porch overlooking the gardens. You'll feel comfortably at home in the casual elegance of this 1885 residence with an eclectic mix of antique, traditional and unusual furnishings. Choose from ten guest accommodations, most with fireplaces and/or whirlpool tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hill House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing