We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our first trip to Asheville and Hill House was a highlight!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hill House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #18 of 38 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Harriman
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our first trip to Asheville and Hill House was a highlight!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

The service and hospitality made Hill House a much better option than any hotel. The staff was excellent and location was an easy walk to downtown. Our return trip(s)will include Hill House! We were very impressed with the cleanliness and amenities offered and although we arrived late, the staff contacted us to check on our arrival time and provided instructions for arrival.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank parrothead129400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    437
    64
    22
    4
    5
See reviews for
63
343
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ohio
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

A friend and I stayed here during our first trip to Asheville. My husband and I frequently stay at inns, but she does not, and I was a little concerned that she wouldn't like the inn experience. We stayed in the Battery Park room. My single bed on the sleeping porch was very comfortable, and she reported that the larger bed was, also. The room and inn were spotlessly clean and very comfortable. I loved eating breakfast on the large front porch and looking at the large yard, which is landscaped in a way that makes you think you're at a quiet country inn, rather than on a street of many houses. Breakfast and cofee were very good. Brandon, one of the day managers, was awesome - funny, attentive and very helpful with a small problem that I had. The downtown is easy to find from this location and is literally minutes away. I was very pleased with our experience here.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karla79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nyc
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed in the Flat Iron, which had a separate (beautiful, relaxing) bedroom. There was a large living room with a day bed that converted to a trundle. My lanky teenage boys slept there was were very comfortable.
The inn overall is just perfect. Really, I can't think of anything negative. The room and bathroom were spotless and comfortable, homey without being cluttered.
The grounds are gorgeous with enough nooks where you can stroll and feel privacy.
And it is a 10-minute walk to downtown!
Breakfast was delicious, and good wine and snacks were served late afternoon. I could live on the porch.
We also traveled with a small dog and they could not have been more accommodating.
Brendan, a house manager, in particular was friendly and helpful beyond the call of duty; he was just a pleasure.
My teenage sons even said that "We have to go back soon". (!)

Room Tip: The Flat Iron was great, but I did see some king bedrooms downstairs that looked gorgeous. I'd s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beckysuenyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Get the Getaway Suite (I think that's what its called) if you can! We loved it and the staff was friendly and always available. Everything in Asheville is within walking distance if you're in good health.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sayre, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed three nights in the Pisgah Apartment and it was perfect for us and our German Shepherd. Apartment was large and airy and in a separate building but the main house was easily accessible. There was a nice yard for the dog and Adirondack chairs for us. Breakfast on the front porch is a nice touch. My only comment to future travelers is that this establishment is not really in walking distance to the downtown area, it would be a long walk through a couple of questionable areas, especially at night. We just drove into town and there was always parking available.

Room Tip: The apartment was awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hill_House_Innkeeper, Owner at Hill House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
At the present, we don't recommend walking to or from downtown at night. A shopping center that's still under construction backs up to the preferred evening route, and the asset management firm that owns the center has allowed the backside of the huge lot to become very overgrown. Landscaping is scheduled once the freestanding building at the rear of the center is completed in the fall, but until then, this guest is correct that it's not best to walk to or from downtown at night.

However, daytime walks are fine. The neighborhood is not Beverly Hills or Georgetown, but it's solid middle-class, and the very center of downtown is only one mile away with no steep hills.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

The room was comfortable with charm.
The staff made us feel at home. Very friendly with warm smiles.
Their knowledge of the local restraunts and attractions proved invaluable.
Highly recommend the Hill House B & B
Joseph G

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

I had never been to a bed and breakfast, and wow, this experience will be hard to top. Breakfast and evening snacks were delicious and our room was nicely outfitted and serene. A surprise for me was how much I enjoyed meeting the other couples who were staying at the Hill House. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JC-----31321321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
The Omni Grove Park Inn
#12 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,540 reviews
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
Historic Montford
1900 Inn on Montford
1900 Inn on Montford
#19 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sweet Biscuit Inn
#7 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
North Lodge on Oakland
#17 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Historic Montford
Applewood Manor Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hill House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hill House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Hill House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 120 Hillside St, Asheville, NC 28801-1206
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville > Five Points
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hill House Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hill House Bed & Breakfast Inn lies in the heart of Asheville, NC, just minutes to downtown and Biltmore Estate. Enjoy those extra special touches, from exceptionally restful beds and delightful breakfasts to our expansive wrap-around porch overlooking the gardens. You'll feel comfortably at home in the casual elegance of this 1885 residence with an eclectic mix of antique, traditional and unusual furnishings. Choose from ten guest accommodations, most with fireplaces and/or whirlpool tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hill House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing