We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Late Night Lifesaver”

Southern Kitchen & Bar
Ranked #180 of 787 Restaurants in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Late Night Lifesaver”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We stopped by Southern after a ghost walk of the city. They were open late, still serving a full menu, and we were starved! We opted for the pretzel appetizers --- oh my -- so delicious! The dips they bring out with them are just as fabulous (dijon, apple butter, and cheese dips). The macaroni and cheese is phenomenal and can be combined with whatever other seasonal items they have in the kitchen - just ask. The club-style sandwich was my husbands order of choice and he seemed to enjoy it as well. Overall an enjoyable end to the evening. The inside of the restaurant is MUCH quieter and intimate. If you want to sit down for an uninterrupted dinner, opt for inside. If you just want to hang out, the outside seating is perfect.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kristin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    51
    14
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A great place to relax and have drinks. Friendly staff with great prices! Dog friendly outside on patio.”
Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

My family and I stopped by this restaurant after shopping. We sat on the patio with our little dog. The server brought fresh water for our dog. The Pomegrante Martini was great. Stella Artrois was only $4 (cheap). We didn't dine but saw food coming to other tables. It looked fantastic. The prices are great. The staff is very friendly. Clean restaurant in/out. We even met the Chef who was so cordial. I would definitely recommend this establishment. We would return with no hesitation.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank RoanokeBorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“All glitz, no glamor”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

So many people had made such a fuss over The Southern that I had high expectations when giving it a try. It didn't even come close. The pricey menu did not carry over to the actual food. It looked great but was not good at all. The service was underwhelming. Couldn't wait to get out of there, haven't been back.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Southngent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
key west, fl
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Thoroughly enjoyed ourselves”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We started with the soft pretzels (2) with the apple, cheese and Dijon dips - all home made. It was delicious. Then came the fresh peach salad and the Mac and cheese w fresh mushrooms. Again delicious. We had a locally brewed beer and a margarita.

Kallie waited on us and everything was great. We set outside and as Lou Reed sang, it was a perfect day. We shall return.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank collye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland,OH
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice little place”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

My friends and I only stopped to get drinks here, but we sat on the large patio and the atmosphere was very nice. The restaurant was playing live music and the drink menu is extensive and the drinks are very good.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Southern Kitchen & Bar also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Southern Kitchen & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing