We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food & Sports Bar”
Review of Hickory Tavern

Hickory Tavern
Ranked #178 of 784 Restaurants in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
North Carolina
Level Contributor
355 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Great Food & Sports Bar”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We always enjoy dining at Hickory Tavern. We have enjoyed many of the menu items without ever being disappointed. The burgers are excellent and the homemade tavern chips are not to be missed........ best homemade chips I've had. Prices are reasonable and atmosphere is fun. Great for families with children of all ages.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank love2bncharleston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    72
    30
    16
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
178 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Happy hour oyster a treat”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Ashley was able to get out oyster on the half shell and boiled shrimp on the books before the Happy Hour pricing closed. She was on the ball heard our order, looked at her watch and said, I will be back for the rest but I need to get this in now to get the price. Service was prompt and professional. Food was well worth the charge. Place was busy for a week night . Outside seating a big plus.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joseph G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candler, North Carolina
Level Contributor
139 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Excellent sports bar!”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Great food, cold beer and lots of fun. Staff is fun and engaging. Food was awesome, especially the fish/shrimp taco's.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weaverville, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A Good Sports Bar”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Hickory is one of our favorite places to watch sports. They have TVs all over the place.
Get there early on NFL sundays. You can watch any game you like.

The food is good, but a bit spotty. The oysters are outstanding. I also recommend the sandwiches.The salads are good.
I think the chili and pizza are among the worst of those I have ever tasted.

They have many draft beers. The bar is a good place to sit, as you can see many sporting events on the many TVS in view there.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
49 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“When I think "hickory" it isn't this place”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

My husband and I were heading to a movie and thought a place called Hickory Tavern would be okay. We thought, you know, paneling, a wagon wheel chandelier. Not this place. This place is in one of those "lifestyle malls" so it is essentially a slightly more upscale TGI Fridays, with TV's everywhere. Think sports bar, not chuckwagon. Still, service is better than average. The menu is huge, so nothing seems like a signature dish. I got the black and bleu burger. It was very good; cooked right, with a lot of bleu cheese and a nice blackening spice on the burger. My husband got the wings, which were huge, but not remarkable. My side chips were forgettable as well, even with the spicy dipping sauce. So, this place suited our needs. It was super close to the movie theater we were headed to right after. We just thought it was something it was not, based on a name that seems a little more country and western than sports bar.

Helpful?
Thank Bookstax
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travellers who viewed Hickory Tavern also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Hickory Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing