We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a mountain get away”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Asheville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bear Creek RV Park & Campground
Fort Mill, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not a mountain get away”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

A group of us stayed at Bear Creek this past weekend and were very disappointed in the accommodations. We wanted 3 sites together and that's what we got. It was the only 3 in the campground that were somewhat off to themselves so I guess we lucked out. We certainly got the best of the worst they had to offer. Because there were 3 campers together we got some privacy but if we had been next to strangers we would have been very exposed. We were also right on I-40 so the traffic noise was awful. The plastic picnic tables provided were beyond useable with one bench not connected and all 3 had either big cracks in them or big bubbles where it looked like they had melted which is probably the case cause there was no shade. We also had a power outage in one camper while there and if was at 8 pm which is after hours and we had trouble getting someone to help. When they did we were told to just flip the breaker that pops all the time. Clearly they had this issue before and have just not taken care of it. The good news is it was close to Asheville, we were able to get reservations within a couple of weeks, and it was clean even though it was a little run down. Bottom line is you can't always tell what you are getting from the internet and we will never go back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    35
    30
    18
    15
See reviews for
31
57
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indian Trail, NC
Level Contributor
105 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This Campground is very well kept and very close to downtown Asheville, The Biltmore and other towns and attractions. The campsites are all fairly level and paved, with power, water, sewer and cable TV. The bathhouse was very clean, cleaned daily. The pool is nice however I didn't get to use it. There is plenty of room for those with BIG campers and RV's, actually most of the campground was occupied with large 5th wheel and RV's. The staff where very friendly and accommodating as I have a small Teardrop Camper and had asked not to be put between large campers/RV's which they accommodated my request. Access to this campground is very easy from I-40 & I-26 however there is some noise from these highways but it didn't bother me but if you have a tent it might be bother-sum. There is an Ingles grocery store about 3-4 miles down the room and there is a nice Farmers Market not even a mile from the campground. Also there is a public transit pickup just out on the main road. The campground is not busy during the day as most people are out exploring the Asheville area. All in all this is a great place to stay to have access to Asheville but I suggest reading their web site in its entirety because a few of the reviews complain about not being about to have camp fires which is partly true. Because the campground in within the city limits of Asheville you cannot have an open fire on the ground so you would need to bring a fire pit or one of those propane fire pits.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Washington
Level Contributor
84 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

WE stayed here in our 40' Motorhome. The park is fairly quiet. The site pads are a little uneven, but not too bad. They offer a great deal to the purchase tickets to the Biltmore House tour, it gives you two days for the price of one, very nice benefit. Overall a good value, nice easy access to the city, and far enough away to keep the noise down.

Room Tip: If you use a satellite, be sure to request a site on the North side of the park, or you will have tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

This was such a disappointment, first there are NO campfires allowed unless you drag along your own fire pit we did read this of course until after we got there (yes our mistake) Its surrounded by highway everywhere you look you see highway and hear it all night long. Your neighbor right on top of you because you're parked like sardines in each site. The showers were creepy and I had 3 little friends with me the entire time the stink bugs! One positive note the wifi worked great and the girls working up front were not rude like some of the other campgrounds we encountered and that the nicest I can say. I won't ever stay here again or recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Find another place to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingpenguin78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Asheville hotels

Englewood, Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

First off all the RV campsites are concrete but only just wide enough to fit an RV or camper on. When exiting the RV you step off onto dirt/mud due to not having any sort of patio landing outside the door. When you check in the staff will give you a tv remote to view cable television but if you have 2 tv's in your RV you have to view the same channel simultaneously on each tv. The bath houses seem to be clean but is outdated and creepy feeling. If your prefer a pull through site then prepare to be located within just a few feet next to a highway. However this campground appears to be better than other surrounding campgrounds in the Asheville area.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 420Benson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 December 2013

We booked for five nights...went into town. Later in the evening we came in, turned on the SINGLE light. We proceeded to turn down the bed covers and several cockroaches went sprinting from under the bed pillows! We were surprised, that's for sure! There we're live and dead bugs in the 'kitchen' sink...and bug larvae in the bathtub. One huge FLYING bug traveled around the room looking like a bomber seeking a target. It was disgusting! It was 27 degrees outside and were it not for that ... and beloved husband going out to find bug spray at 11 PM at night (my hero!!! ) I would have slept in the rental car!

He returned with the spray, and while we held scarves to our nostrils he sprayed EVERWHERE!
He sprayed...'a fortress around the bed,' so we both would feel 'safe from critters' crawling on us during the night! Needless to say, we ran hot water over the bug eggs in the tub before showering in the morning ... well ... You can imagine, right? Argh !!!

In the morning beloved went to not only complain but cancel the rest of our reservations! For this they were kind enough to only charge for our one miserable night. When husband mentioned the bugs, he was advised, "Ahhh, thoz are jist 'squash bugs' n everybody has 'em!!"

We went elsewhere and there wasn't ONE bug to be seen! [The Rock Haven Motel' on Patton. BTW? Perfect!!]

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HaleLaniAu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
199 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We were very pleased with this campsite, conveniently located not too far from the Biltmore estate. Very pleasant office staff, and good shower facilities. Would stay there again if we were in Asheville

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liketotravel30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
1.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate)
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn-Asheville Biltmore West
1.3 mi away
The Inn on Biltmore Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Outlet Center
Comfort Suites Outlet Center
#31 of 63 in Asheville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
1.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville at Asheville Outlet Mall, NC
3.5 mi away
The Residences at Biltmore
The Residences at Biltmore
#22 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bear Creek RV Park & Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear Creek RV Park & Campground

Property: Bear Creek RV Park & Campground
Address: 81 S Bear Creek Rd, Asheville, NC 28806-1547
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 114
Also Known As:
Bear Creek Rv Park & Campground Hotel Asheville
Bear Creek Rv Park And Campground

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing