We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satisfy your inner art critic”

Asheville Art Museum
Ranked #80 of 192 things to do in Asheville
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Our 2 S. Pack Square location is now closed for construction. The Asheville Art Museum annually presents an exciting, inviting and active schedule of exhibitions and public programs based on its permanent collection of 20th and 21st century American art. Any visit will also include experiences with works of significance to Western North Carolina’s cultural heritage including Studio Craft, Black Mountain College and Cherokee artists. Special exhibitions feature renowned regional and national artists and explore issues of enduring interest. The Museum also offers a wide array of innovative, inspiring and entertaining educational programs for people of all ages.
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Satisfy your inner art critic”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

A good sized art gallery that is easy to see in just a couple of hours in downtown Asheville. They house much interesting art from all periods and from varied people that I have not seen before. They are closed on Mondays.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    19
    22
    12
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky, United States
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Asheville art”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Good way to spend a few hours downtown. The current exhibits we found to be very well structured and interesting. The ground floor had a random grouping of different artists and styles that were not cohesive.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Amanda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
599 reviews
159 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 417 helpful votes
“Regional museum with strong Black Mountain College collection”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I always enjoy visiting the Asheville Art Museum, in part because it reminds me of my youth in Asheville when the museum location was the main local library, Pack Memorial LIbrary, where I spent many happy afternoons.

Today Asheville Art Museum focuses on 20th and 21st century art, especially the work of Southeastern artists. The museum has a permanent collection of about 3,500 works, plus an additional 5,000 architectural drawings.

Of particular note are about 500 works on Black Mountain College by artists associated with the famous experimental school that was located near Asheville from the early 1930s to mid-1950s. The museum has 12 galleries, including permanent and temporary exhibits, and about 54,000 square feet of space in a 1926 Renaissance Revival.

My hope is that it will eventually focus more on the regional fine crafts scene, as the Asheville area has well over 1,000 working potters, fabric artists, glassmakers, wood crafters and other craft artists, and there are two nationally known craft schools, Penland and Campbell, in Western North Carolina.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank LanSluderBelize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garner, North Carolina, United States
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great exhibits......staff ??”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Marvelous art, fantastic Minna Citron & Dox Thrash exhibits but would have been easy to miss some halls without specific direction. Few kinks (5 adults=$40 vs 2 adult & 3 students=$39.50....you figure it out), credit card charged though told purchase "did not go through" & paid cash (after some wait for him to attempt to figure it out.) Staff not very friendly, got the "I'm only here cause they pay me" vibe. But the art was worth the visit (hopefully bank will fix the rest.)

Helpful?
1 Thank PAyscue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Brunswick, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Worth a visit...maybe.”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

It's not the spiffiest museum I've visited but it has some interesting exhibits. Navigating through the museum and finding the various exhibits is a bit confusing. My wife and I spent about an hour in the museum on a rainy afternoon and it was worth it but I wouldn't go too far out of my way to visit.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank RU4NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Asheville Art Museum also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Asheville Art Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing