We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“scrumptious” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Filo

Filo
Ranked #17 of 45 Dessert in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: local cafe/bakery, owner Maria Papanastasiou
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“scrumptious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

Was dying for some dessert tonight after dinner in downtown Asheville,driving to our hotel I saw the sign for Filo that included the word pastries. So I made a u turn. It was right at closing time but they were very gracious and served us dessert. The three of us each had Avery delicious dessert. My favorite was the tiramisu. I will be back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    17
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
87 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Can't Miss”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

What a great little spot! Excellent coffee drinks, an extensive tea assortment and some darn fine pastries too. If you are looking for a spot to stop and relax, have a pastry, cup of coffee, visit with a friend or just read a book, this is a great little place. They also have a small "back room" for folks who want to hook up their computers and do some more serious work.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PrincessNthePea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great Wedding Rehearsal Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

Maria and her staff did an excellent job with the wedding rehearsal dinner on November 15th. The food and atmosphere was excellent and it was a blessing to be able to walk in to such a lovely place and not have to worry about decorating it, cleaning up, etc. as there were so many things I already had to do for the wedding. It was just lovely and the service and food were excellent! Thank you so much Maria! I hope other people will consider Filo when planning special events.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Black Mountain, North Carolina
Level Contributor
86 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Best macaroons ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

Filo is a laid back coffee house with delicious specialty coffees and yummy baked goods. I go there for the macaroons! They are the best I have ever had. The atmosphere is comfortable and clean, the staff is good and I love the outdoor seating when the weather is nice. You can sit in the shade and watch the traffic on Tunnel Road. A really nice place to go with friends if you want to sit and chat over a great cup of coffee.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Work2Go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great ambiance and tea”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

A quintessential coffee house, conducive to conversation and contemplation. Nice selection of teas and unique Greek pastries. Not so great to visit with kids.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank S A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Filo also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Filo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing