We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nostalgic and Delicious”

The Soda Fountain at Woolworth Walk
Ranked #10 of 45 Dessert in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$8
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Nostalgia returns to one of Asheville's historic landmarks, "F.W. Woolworth," established in 1938 and restored in 2001. It now boasts a fully operational Old Fashioned Soda Fountain built to resemble the original Woolworth Luncheonette. A 50's flair was used in the design to further compliment the vast array of local art. The Soda Fountain is in its original location and is open daily serving many of the original menu items: including hot dogs, BLTs, club sandwiches, coffee and, of course, old fashioned ice cream sodas and sundaes.
Independence, Kentucky
Level Contributor
118 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Nostalgic and Delicious”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

My wife and I stopped in here for lunch on 7/28/14. Actually, we largely made the trip from Gatlinburg to Asheville to visit this place and eat here. We were not disappointed.

Sitting at counter with my sandwich and egg cream, with all of the retro decorations, was like a step back in time.

And the food was fantastic. I had the club sandwich on rye and it very well may be the best club I've ever had. It was delicious and surprisingly large. I've had an authentic egg cream made by a Brooklyn native and the one here stood right up to it.

The girls working behind the counter were all very cool and friendly too.

If you're making a trip to Asheville, definitely make plans to stop in here for some lunch. A bit of advice: They open at 11:00 on weekdays. Get there right when the doors open and you can get in and get some photos before the crowd rushes in. You'll also be able to get your order in and get a good seat before it gets crowded.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NickPappagiorgio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    54
    10
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clinton, Tennessee
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Milkshake”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Like walking back in time...and to a great old time milkshake. Great place to stop in town and have a treat. Also had an old time cherry coke that was really good.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank IronsFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marysville, Ohio
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great lunch and milkshake”
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed the Woolworth lunch counter. The double decker grilled cheese and hot fudge milkshake was exactly what I wanted. My husband loved his Reuben and vanilla coke. Make sure to leave some time to walk the gallery of art available for purchase upstairs and down. Well worth a visit for a bit of nostalgia!

Helpful?
Thank SmartyGirl88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wake Forest NC
Level Contributor
74 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful building, wonderful art.”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This was a great place to walk through and remember when! My husband and I loved all the architecture and the memory of the Woolworth of our youth. We did not eat at the fountain, but they did wonderful job of recreating it. The merchandise available for sale both up and downstairs was wonderful. Great place to experience local arts and crafts.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Atmosphere
Helpful?
Thank tlkmerrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville,NC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Where locals get affordable lunch”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Amid the places catering to tourists in downtown Asheville, it's nice to find a reasonably priced spot for lunch. You won't have to spend in the upper teens, or even over $10, for a satisfying meal. Girls behind the counter are pretty quick even when hit with the lunch rush. Too bad nearly all the other restaurants target the non-repeat business tourist crowd instead of people who would eat there once or more per week.

Never disappointed by turkey and traditional reubens, big salad with a scoop of chicken salad, BLT, or hot dog. Substitute macaroni or potato salad for chips no charge.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scott A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Soda Fountain at Woolworth Walk also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to The Soda Fountain at Woolworth Walk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing