We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great views”
Review of Craggy Gardens

Craggy Gardens
Ranked #11 of 192 things to do in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Rolling Meadows, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“great views”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

just a nice place to picnic, and a fun (albeit some what strenuous) hike to the peak. Really nice views of the Blue Ridge Mountains

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    337
    128
    41
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Worth your time”
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

We drove there from Asheville today via the Blue Ridge Parkway. I wish there would have been less fog, but it was a fun experience. The foliage is beautiful. We took our dog with us and saw many dogs on the trail. If you get the chance, take this trail.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Rmarie86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quanah, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice Place to Picnic”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Shaded picnic area that was a nice stop. Nice place for bikers and hikers. Scenery was beautiful and clean.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank BigPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tinton Falls, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A craggy autumn hike”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We were introduced to Craggy Gardens by our niece as one of her favorite hiking places in the Asheville area, and we can see why. A quick stop off the Blue Ridge Parkway puts you in a place where you can take a brisk hike to high elevations of the Carolina Blue Ridge experience. We went the weekend after Columbus day, so the autumn colors were just breaking out. The palette of the season was well represented, along with the fading summer colors. We were able to hike up, easily. While we're reasonably seasoned hikers, we weren't in the best of health that weekend, so the ease of the hike was appreciated. Good for old and young with dramatic panoramic views of Western North Carolina. Only took a little chunk of our day, and was well worth the visit.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank simpnvolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waynesville, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Perfect spot for a picnic...”
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Traveling the Blue Ridge Parkway to Craggy Gardens you are treated to many views, and sometimes a glimpse of wildlife. Craggy Gardens is so called because of the beautiful rhododendrons and the natural flora that surrounds this area. There is ample parking, picnic areas, and clean mountain air. My grandmother (now 102 years old) used to go "courting" with chaperones to Craggy Gardens --- lotsa history there!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank K R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Craggy Gardens also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Craggy Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing