We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good sushi but worst Pad See Ew” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Champa

Champa
Ranked #264 of 775 Restaurants in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian, Sushi, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Greenville, SC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Good sushi but worst Pad See Ew”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

I am not a Thai connoisseur, but I have had enough Pad See Ew at other places to know that the dish I ordered the other night hardly qualified. It was oily and bland -- bland, bland, bland. The only flavor on the plate was the broccoli, and that's just because it tasted like broccoli.

The sushi however was good. We ordered the sushi appetizer, and my husband ordered the Biltmore roll, which was very tasty.

Overall, it was a disappointing experience for me, and with so many other dining options in Asheville, I would be hard pressed to go back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank randmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    26
    10
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Guaynabo, null, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fresh ingredients..”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Fresh ingredients.. Nice Bento Box for lunch although chicken was dry and overcooked. Beef teriyaki was extremely undercooked and fibrous..
Sushi was very good. We tried the Sweetheart, it was goood!!
Bathroom needed some attention in terms of cleanliness. There were used paper towels laying on the counter and in the floor evidence that there wasnt a supervising schelule.

Helpful?
Thank Ivelisse V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
166 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Get ur chompers on Champa”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Stir fry was very good and the Pho was excellent. Started out with sushi which was quite fresh. Service was excellent.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SweetTizzyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Solid all around restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

This place is in the middle of many great restaurants and has tough competition. I think it will be fine. It has a great atmosphere, an interesting menu, and good service. I had the hot and sour soup and red curry chicken. All the food was great.

Helpful?
Thank LanceTinNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Wonderful sushi!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

My friend and I sat at the sushi bar for dinner and received excellent service and top notch sushi! I'm a bit of a sushi snob myself. I'm from New York and have had my fair share of expensive sushi, and I've also spent a good deal of time in Japan. I was so impressed with their salmon sashimi, we came back the next day for lunch! It was the kind of salmon sashimi that just melts in your mouth, so buttery and flavorful. The white tuna was also excellent. And I'm not generally a fan of any roll that has tempura, but the Godzilla roll was surprisingly good! I guess I'd recommend this place more for the sushi than for the Thai element...I only had some Tom Yum soup, and it wasn't very authentic. Still tasted good, but not what I was expecting, compared to a restaurant that serves exclusively Thai food.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank ALeaseBuyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Champa also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Champa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing