We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this place”
Review of Casa Maya - CLOSED

Casa Maya
Cuisines: Cuban
Description: Casa Maya Mexican Restaurant located in North Asheville North Carolina brings you the best quality Mexican and Cuban cuisine at an affordable price. This Mexican and Cuban style concept comes from the owner's father and family. For 30 years the family have been using the same sauces and recipes to delight their patrons. Casa Maya Restaurant serves up a different Mexican and Cuban cuisine by using Ancho and Pasilla chilis in their sauces and cooking. The difference in chilies used adds a more flavorful Mexican style food than a hot spicy one. Come join us for lunch or dinner!. Casa Maya has a great dining room and new business meetings room for events, and a bar area with televisions, plenty of parking and located off Merrimon Ave by UNC Asheville campus
Restaurant details
Description: Casa Maya Mexican Restaurant located in North Asheville North Carolina brings you the best quality Mexican and Cuban cuisine at an affordable price. This Mexican and Cuban style concept comes from the owner's father and family. For 30 years the family have been using the same sauces and recipes to delight their patrons. Casa Maya Restaurant serves up a different Mexican and Cuban cuisine by using Ancho and Pasilla chilis in their sauces and cooking. The difference in chilies used adds a more flavorful Mexican style food than a hot spicy one. Come join us for lunch or dinner!. Casa Maya has a great dining room and new business meetings room for events, and a bar area with televisions, plenty of parking and located off Merrimon Ave by UNC Asheville campus
maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved this place”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

wanted to let people know that the food at Casa maya was wonderful, from the chips and salsa to the main course . people were friendly and it has a nice atmosphere. I would recommend this place to all. Our meals were the chicken burrito, pollo a la panlla ,vegetables, yucca con mojo and camerones al ajillo.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    7
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice surprise!”
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We saw a "YouGetWeGive" coupon and that always motivates us to try new restaurants. Since we eat primarily vegan this can sometimes be a challenge. But we were up for something flavorful last night so we gave it a try. What a pleasant surprise! We went with another (non-vegan) couple who was from Florida so they know Cuban food. We all thought it was some of the best Mexican and Cuban food in Asheville. I ate the veggie fajitas and they were delish! Not the usual lackluster green peppers and onions but a huge serving of just right still crunchy broccoli, cauliflower, squash, carrots and onions. Came out really sizzling with great fresh guacamole. Since I wanted to taste the mole (my only disappointment) I asked for a "taster" cup on the side. Our delightful waitress brought me a very generous serving which we all tasted at no charge. The serve was prompt and attentive and our waitress.was helpful and delightful. All of us agreed we'd definitely go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ColoradoSpringsCOgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville
Level Contributor
274 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Ignore the Mexican, order Cuban”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We've been here three times in the last month and what we've quickly learned is that this restaurant lacks a focus, but there are some hidden gems on the menus. First, the confusing name - Casa Maya. Don't expect to see any Yucatecan dishes on the menu. There are two menus, one is Mexican fare which is pretty straight up and uninspired. As other reviewers have said, there is better in Asheville (although the Puerco Guisado is pretty good). The Cuban menu is much better done in my opinion - excellent fried pork, the picadillo is decent and the bread is reasonably good for a Cuban restaurant in N. Carolina.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dbaaronson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Taco Salad Lunch”
Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

Wait staff was prompt and attentive. Premises clean and comfortable.

I had the taco salad, which the server warned me would not have the ubiquitous fried flour tortilla bowl. Read: healthier. I was
pleased to see no iceberg lettuce on my plate. A nice mix of
fresh greens on top of the bed
of legumes, Pleasant seasonings And grilled chicken. It was topped with tortilla chips which were
also served in a bowl with salsa. The chips were good and I didn't notice any lard. They were thin, crisp, fresh and tasty.

Casa Maya is a welcome addition to North Asheville.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ashevillian2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
54 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Disappointing, better choices in Asheville”
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We were so excited to see this restaurant open! We visited the restaurant on a Thursday evening. We were seated in what they call the "bar area". No real decor in here, one TV. Nothing special. Menus were a surprise- prices were higher than expected but we thought maybe it would be worth it. Tortilla chips and salsa were brought to the table- chips are lackluster, and salsa is VERY oniony and little taste other than onions. Not a good start.
My husband asked the waitress for a glass of water- she walked by our table at least 4 times with water for other tables but not for ours.
Entrees order were: cheese enchiladas with red sauce, BORING, really no taste, bland, served with awful refried beans with no seasoning and very good yellow rice. The yellow rice was the best thing any of us ate. Another ordered a chimichanga- again very bland. Our third diner ordered chicken and beef enchiladas with green sauce- strike three, very bland and boring.
Not sure who this restaurant thinks they are catering to- but we have many, many mexican restaurants to choose from in this area and this is not one I recommend. Their food has no flavor to it!
Not too mention we paid almost $45.00 for three and did not enjoy our meal at all. Service also mediocre.
We will not return.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NavyFootballFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Casa Maya also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing