We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Sushi and Good Value”
Review of Heiwa Shokudo

Heiwa Shokudo
Ranked #336 of 793 Restaurants in Asheville
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery
Neighbourhood: Downtown Asheville
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent Sushi and Good Value”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I've been to Japan 15 times and eaten at many Japanese restaurants in Japan and US. This is among the best. I had the large Sashimi special which was fresh and had a large variety. There was a lot of fish for the money. I had the 1/2 portion of Kitune Udon which was authentic and large for a 1/2 portion. I skipped the Japanese beer and had the $2.50 PBR instead. Other reviews complained about the service but my service was good. I will go again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    18
    5
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Only authentic sushi in Asheville”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Title says it all. Me and my husband moved to Asheville from a city where we were used to eating top notch sushi and Heiwa is our go-to. Forget Wasabi, if you want fresh fish, this is the place for you. May not be up your alley if you like very americanized sushi on fancy plates but if you like the real deal then go to Heiwa. Plenty of vegan and cooked options but can't weigh in on those. Great service, nice outdoor patio and free parking for diners. Get there early or late for dinner if you want a seat during the weekend, the restaurant is small but has a loyal following.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WNCF00die
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Va
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Best Japanese noodle soups”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This is one of our favorite places for lunch in Asheville and it's because of the wonderfully delicious noodle soups. My husband always gets the Executive and I always order the Medicine Man udon soup. Fantastic flavors, awesome broth. Service can be hit of miss. We had a pleasant server on Friday. We look forward to our next visit to the area so we may enjoy a meal here again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JediTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“2.5 Good Food but TeRrIble Service”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

I rounded down rather than up because the poor service really does put a damper to the experience. The food is good, but as others have said many of the servers are quite rude. We have be unlucky enough to get one server in particular who was very rude everytime we went in! The worst was her refusal to serve us at 9:10pm because "we close at 9:30.... it takes time to read the menu" .... We tried to give it a few shots because the sushi was good, but I have to agree with the lot. TERRIBLE SERVICE. (The owner seemed nice, I have a sad feeling he doesn't realize his crew might be hurting his business)

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Oliver T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Poki Perfect”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

The tuna poki at Heiwa is something I can't get enough of. The perfect salty vinegar mix with fresh advocado, red onion, and tomato with sushi grade tuna makes my mouth water every time. The staff are passionate about the food and the intimate setting makes for the perfect Asheville experience.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Heiwa Shokudo also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Heiwa Shokudo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing