We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“YUM!”
Review of Early Girl Eatery

Early Girl Eatery
Ranked #46 of 784 Restaurants in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Neighbourhood: Downtown Asheville
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“YUM!”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Great southern food with local products, good service and price...and no wait as we went at 5pm. I had breakfast with grit cakes, country ham and fried green tomatoes that soothed my soul. A local shop merchant recommended Early Girl and he was right on.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1more2see
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,697 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    937
    532
    160
    49
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Weaverville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
136 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Asheville favorite for more southern style home cooking.”
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Went for my birthday dinner and had a lovely evening. The place seems uninviting when you come in the door however in the rear is a large bright dining room with lots of windows. Loved the fried green tomato Napoleon with goat cheese on grits. My fried chicken was wonderful my husband found his fried catfish a little too crispy. The desserts look homemade and yummy but we didn't have room to try any. Will definitely be going back. I got a bag of their stoneground grits for my birthday present.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NorthJerseyTraveler8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alabama
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great!”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Popped into Early Girl for a late lunch (1 p.m.) on a weekday. Had about a 20-minute wait, but it was worth it.

Wife and I had Pecan Encrusted Trout, one of our sons had meatloaf and the other had a burger. Food was first rate. Had the broccoli/cheese hush puppies with apple butter for an appetizer ... sounds weird, but trust me, it works ... and some to-die-for carrot cake for dessert.

Service was friendly and fast, atmosphere was loose and laid back. Some locals had told me that between Tupelo Honey and Early Girl, there was no question, we should pick Early Girl, and they certainly were right!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BigG94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
80 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Don't miss this place !”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We recently had lunch here however the great thing is that they serve breakfast all day ! I had the Early Girl Benny and it was delish ! It was definitely one of those places where everything on the menu looks amazing and its so hard to decide ! Make sure to go early because it gets busy !

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SDBarber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonesborough, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
86 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great Little Restaurant”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This restaurant may be small, but the menu is packed with a large selection. Early Girl is really onto the concept of simplicity and environment-friendly.
Choosing from vegan/vegetarian items on this menu is harder than most restaurants that have a small section just to make us vegetarians not feel left out. From sandwiches to soups, salads or potaoes, they have it all...even grilled cheese for my sweetie.
Be sure to get a T-shirt on your way out.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Doug C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Early Girl Eatery also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Early Girl Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing