We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thirty Minute Wait WIth Tables Available”
Review of The Local Taco - CLOSED

The Local Taco
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Weaverville, United States
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Thirty Minute Wait WIth Tables Available”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

So, my wife and I tried to eat lunch at this place July 12th, 12:30 PM. There were two tables free outside, and four inside. We were told there would be a 30 minute wait!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gary N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    21
    9
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Murfreesboro, NC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best Taco's Ever”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I had my first ever fish taco and it was awesome. They also serve gluten free tacos which is the main reason we decided to try the restaurant. They were also very good!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank 1260LLF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville NC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very tasty tacos”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

My wife and I both enjoyed the tacos. My fave was the brisket taco. The spicy avocado was really good also. My wife liked the fish taco. Local beer selection was pretty good. We thought the tacos were better than White Duck, which gets all the publicity.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank relwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Mill, SC
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Awful experience!”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We could not wait to get out of there because of the nauseating stench coming through the outside seating area. It was bad.....smelled like a garbage can. The food was not much better. Hard to set because the taco was overloaded, dripping and chicken was not good plus it was too spicy for me. Service was slow, menus were dirty and had a film on them and the place felt dirty. There are better places to eat in Asheville!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank gaterp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
328 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“What a Pleasant Surprise!”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We happened to be walking around during lunch time and saw this nice looking spot in one of the busy parts of town. And since it was not the least bit crowded---and it had a nice outside area---we decided to drop in for lunch and beer. We got waited on right away by very friendly staff and found the menu to be tasty and affordable. And did I mention Tasty? Our food was among the best Mexican that we've had in some time. Next time we visit Asheville, you can easily guess where you can find us!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cisco289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Local Taco also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing