We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just one problem”
Review of Applebee's

Applebee's
Ranked #375 of 781 Restaurants in Asheville
Price range: US$21 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Trumansburg, Ny
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just one problem”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Had good food and service. Although I am the first to admit that I am not an expert judge of wines, I ordered a Kendall-Jackson Chardonnay and the wine I received was anything but! In fact, it was an extremely poor substitute. Terribly disappointing!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FLTraveler08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    25
    23
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“DIRTY PLATES, WRONG FOOD, AND TERRIBLE SERVICE”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Our party had 7 people, the food took forever (over 25 min) in a nearly empty restaurant. 4 people received obviously dirty plates or glassware !!! When we asked for new plates you would have thought we had asked the waitress to part the red sea by her reaction, ( loud sighing, rolling of the eyes, and when she did return with new plates she slammed them down on our table.) My son is handicapped so we ordered MILD boneless wings (finger food) for him. When we received them I tried one to make sure they were MILD. THEY HAD BROUGHT HIM VERY SPICY WINGS !!!! My wife and daughter tried them after I did and their eyes immediately watered up. When we were finally able to get our waitress to come to our table she very smugly informed us that "Those are the mild wings". We asked her to please replace them with barbeque wings ( more sighing, eye rolling, etc.) The rest of the meal went fine. The food was OK even if the portions were smaller than Applebee's normal size. Finally at the end of the meal the replacement wings ( my son's dinner) showed up. I tried one to make sure the wings were correct. After the initial barbeque flavor dissipated, my mouth immediately became hot. I counted the wings and would you believe it, they brought him 9 wings. THE SAME WINGS I HAD SENT BACK. 12 WINGS - 3 WINGS (WE HAD TRIED) = 9 WINGS LEFT !!! THEY HAD APPARENTLY DUNKED THEM IN BARBAQUE SAUCE, REHEATED THEM IN THE MICROWAVE ( KINDA CHEWY), AND HAD BROUGHT THEM BACK OUT TO US !!! THEN TO TOP IT ALL OFF THEY TRIED TO CHARGE ME FOR A SECOND SET OF WINGS !!! WHEN CONFRONTED THEY CLAIMED IT WAS A NEW SET OF WINGS, BUT STUTTERED AND COULD NOT EXPLAIN WHY THERE WERE ONLY 9 WINGS IN THE SUPPOSSED "NEW" ORDER OF WINGS. WE HAD TO STOP AT MC DONALDS ON THE WAY HOME TO BUY MY SON A CHEESEBURGER MEAL. I WILL NEVER EAT AT THIS PLACE AGAIN !!!!!!!!!
1. I DO NOT ENJOY EATING OFF OF SOMEONE ELSES DIRTY PLATE OR GLASSES
2. I EXPECT TO RECIEVE WHAT I ORDER OR AT LEAST SOME ATTEMPT TO CORRECT A MISTAKE, NOT SOMEONE TRYING TO B.S. ME WITH WARMED OVER FOOD
3. I SHOULD NOT HAVE TO FLING A BISCUIT AT A WAITRESS'S HEAD TO GET HER ATTENTION
4. IF YOU WANT MY MONEY/BUSSINESS TREAT ME LIKE A HUMAN BEING NOT A HOG AT THE FEEDING TROUGH !!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlotte
Level Contributor
123 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff”
Reviewed 21 January 2014

The waitress was patient and checked on us regularly. The food was hot and came out quickly. If you go after 9, they have $5 appetizers and several all day drink specials.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank educator26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Chain resteraunt, but wonderful food!”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We eat at this particular chain restaurant often. We found this meal to be exceptional with taste. The staff was polite and helpful. The only problem was we had a very loud table of 3 beside us and it was obnxious behavior, which we felt should have been addressed. Thankfully the party left soon after we arrived!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Whatwethought3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clinton Township, Michigan
Level Contributor
129 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
Reviewed 12 June 2013

The food was awesome, the wait staff was friendly and prompt. Had a 5 minute wait at the door but it was worth it.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank bobbyshotgut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Applebee's also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Applebee's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing