We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect vacation!”
other travellers have booked this property
Great Room with gas fireplace, 50 inch plasma TV, 200 Dish channels
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Great Room with gas fireplace, 50 inch plasma TV, 200 Dish channels
Great Room Great Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
68 reviews
Great Room with gas fireplace, 50 inch plasma TV, 200 Dish channels
Great Room
Great Room
Walnut kitchen table with seating for eight
Kitchen
Kitchen
The loft with Queen and Full futon
The loft with Queen futon
Lots of books and games in loft
The Master Bedroom, King bed, upstairs
The Master Bedroom, King bed, upstairs
The Master Bedroom, King bed, upstairs
The Master Bathroom upstairs
The Second Bedroom, King bed on main level
The Second Bedroom, King bed on main level
The Third Bedroom, Queen bed on main level
The Third Bedroom, Queen bed on main level
The Third Bedroom, Queen bed on main level
The bathroom on the main level
Basement with leather love seat and sofa. 40 inch TV with 200 Dish channels and electronic keyboard
Ping Pong Table in basement
Fire pit and patio
Fire pit and patio
Rear deck and gas grill
View from front deck
View of the back side of the cabin
Front of cabin
Back of Cabin with grape vine
Side and Back of Cabin
Side of Cabin and Parking Area
View of back porch
Side view with driveway
Side view of cabin with parking
Front yard and front porch
Front yard in the Fall
Cornhole in the front yard
Looking off the front porch during a light snow
After a big snow
Front of the cabin after a big snow
Looking at the snow from the front porch.
Looking out the master bedroom window at a snowman built by a guest.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Asheville, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 68 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Vickie D
1 review
“Perfect vacation!”
Reviewed 19 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

The cabin was beautiful, just as represented on the website and very comfortable. We loved it and hope to go back again sometime soon!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jul 2016
We are glad that you "Loved it". We agree with you! Hope that you can come back and stay with us again!

Dave and Linda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike L
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
“Wonderful!!”
Reviewed 11 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

This cabin (if you must call it that) is like a resort for kings and queens in the mountains. It had everything except a butler which I thought I would find in a closet or under a bed. It is spacious, extremely clean, and loaded with a lot of fun things to do. Fire pit, ping pong, internet, cable, and an extensive dvd library.

My only complaint is that we only booked 2 nights! Frankly, just not enough time to enjoy this gem in the mountains...already looking forward to the next time we go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Relaxing on the porch
Liked least: Are you kidding?
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 May 2016
What a wonderful review. We can only concur with you. We look forward to having you come back and stay with us!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BonesOnth...
Roswell, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"I wish I could give 'Tranquil Glen' 6 Stars!!!"”
Reviewed 8 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

My wife, and 9-year old daughter and her cousin stayed at Tranquil Glen while visiting Asheville for Spring Break and I only wish TripAdvisor allowed me to give it 6 stars!

This quiet, secluded, relaxing hillside cabin is only 20 minutes from Asheville - close enough for all the activities but worlds away in terms of privacy and relaxation. Sunlight streams inside and gives the wood a warm glow in the morning and throughout the day. The kitchen has all the amenities, cookware, etc. you'll need and the long and sturdy dining room table could seat 8-10 comfortably with ample elbow room. The two-story family room offers sumptious automatic reclining leather sofa and a matching rocker recliner that are plush enough to have a catnap sneak up on you. The upstairs loft area has a pair of futons and plenty of fun board games as well as interesting books to peruse. Long porches offer great views and a gas grill (there's a fire pit out in the yard as well). Bonus: ping pong table and corn hole in the basement allowed for fun pick-up games. And the friendliest neighborhood dog, Bandit visits from time to time. Book it if you have the chance. You won't have any regrets! Thank you Dave and Linda for sharing your lovely home!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hard to say
Liked least: No televisions in the bedrooms (I'm a tv junkie - what can I say?)
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Apr 2016
Thanks for the potential 6 star rating! We agree with everything you said about our cabin. We are glad the you have an awesome vacation. We find that cat napping on the reclining sofa is a great way to spend an afternoon after a fun day of activity. We hope you decide to come back to stay with us again!

Dave and Linda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolynGr...
George Town, Grand Cayman
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to take in the North Carolina Autumn”
Reviewed 24 February 2016 for a stay in October 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This is a truly beautiful cabin! My husband and I stayed here for one week with our two toddlers and my parents and had a great time. The house is beautiful, and there's lots of room for the kids to run around outside. The town of Mars Hill is just minutes away and has a decent supermarket as well as several restaurants that also do take out if you don't want to cook. Asheville is an easy 20 minutes, and so is the Blue Ridge Parkway, which is an absolute must in October.

The only two (very minor) issues we had were: 1) the house had a wasp problem when we arrived. I contacted the owners and they got back to me within an hour and immediately arranged for pest control people to come and take care of the problem, 2) the road/driveway up to the house is unpaved and very rough. We were fine in an SUV but I wouldn't have wanted to drive up in a regular car.

Other than that we absolutely loved our stay and would definitely stay there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Mar 2016
We are glad that you and your family had a great time at our cabin. We agree that October is a beautiful time of the year in western NC. We have had the road graded and it is in good shape now.

Dave and Linda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuStanfa
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“It was a perfect place for our family”
Reviewed 27 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
3
people found this review helpful

What a wonderful place to stay! Thank you Dave and Linda for providing such detailed answers to our questions even before we arrived. The kitchen had all the cooking utensils and supplies needed for full meals for 5, the bedrooms were very comfortable, and the basement ping pong table was a bonus. The closets were huge which even allowed one of the kids a "room" that she called her own and appointed as her sleeping quarters. We also enjoyed meeting the neighborhood dog who visited us daily; our pooch loved the friendly playmate. We were able to hop in the car and drive between 20-45 minutes to all of our destinations from hiking on the Blue Ridge to heading to downtown AVL. Wonderful way to spend our holiday break.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jan 2016
We are excited every time we hear that another family has enjoyed staying at our home. We are glad that Bandit welcomed you and your dog to Tranquil Glen. We hope you stay with us again.

Dave and Linda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeaandBet...
Tampa, Florida, United States
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“FANTABULOUS!”
Reviewed 26 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We had a wonderful stay here over the Christmas period.
Dave & Linda made the whole process smooth and easy. Communication was quick and fast answers received.

The house was absolutely perfect for our family - myself and hubby, 4 children - two girls, 17 & 23 and two boys, 23 & 27.
It had been decorated for Christmas was extremely comfortable and well supplied. There was absolutely everything I needed to cook Christmas dinner for 12 (we invited friends over!)

Only issue we had was probably our own issue - we arrived in the dark after a 12 hr drive up from Florida - the directions to the property were very exact but the sign that we needed to take us to the right up the driveway is set back from the road and not too clear and we missed it, resulting in a couple tight turns and cursing! The gravel road is bumpy but not terrible, its worth the jolts when you get there :)

Be prepared for visit from the neighbor dog "Bear" - he is BIG but so friendly, don't be afraid of him. He came up to visit in the morning and hung out on the porch most of the day!

Asheville is close, with all its fun - probably 15-20min drive depending on traffic.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jan 2016
Thanks for all of your positive comments. We are glad that you and your family had a wonderful Christmas! We have graded the road and it is in much better condition. Bandit is a friendly dog and loves to visit us and our dogs when we are there. If you return to the Asheville area we hope you decide to stay with us.

Dave and Linda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chellefen...
Gainesville, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Quiet retreat away from the hubub, but close enough”
Reviewed 27 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

If you are looking for a quiet retreat that is close enough to be convenient, but far enough away to enjoy some peace and quiet, then this is the place for you! We visited with my sister and her husband, and my father and his friend, and my husband and my 10 year old, and there was plenty of space for everyone. My daughter loved the ping pong table and the extra TV will resolve any possible viewing conflicts. My neighbors dog is very friendly and will guard the house when you leave and return shortly after you return each day--much to my daughter's delight. There is an ample supply of cooking tools and dishes for prepping some meals in before a day of adventure, and the gas fireplace is fun for cozying up next to when the weather turns cold! I definitely recommend the use of a larger vehicle on the hill, and we were glad that we didn't choose to bring the Prius. If it were more snowy--we would have had a problem with the last stretch of driveway. The cabin is immaculate, the furniture is well-maintained and comfy, and the hosts are more than responsive to any inquiries or concerns. Thanks for a wonderful and restful stay at Tranquil Glen

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The amount of space for the size of our group was perfect
Liked least: There is not a ton of sound proofing between floors and ceilings
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Nov 2015
We agree with your description "quiet retreat that is close enough to be convenient, but far enough away to enjoy some peace and quiet". Glad your family enjoyed the cabin! We hope you will come back and stay with us again.
Dave and Linda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing