We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome food!!”
Review of Marco's Pizzeria

Marco's Pizzeria
Ranked #231 of 784 Restaurants in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Takeout
Description: Marco's Pizzeria continues the family business started in 1933 of cooking unparalleled New York-style pizza in two locations in Asheville, North Carolina. Marco's Great Uncle Patsy started the family's first pizzeria when he expanded the offerings of his ice cream parlor to include the uniquely New York-Italian dish. Patsy's Pizzeria in Harlem originally used a coal-fired oven to create a crust that is thin and crisp on the outside. Today, the fourth generation of pizza-makers in Marco's family continues to use Patsy's recipe and methods to create a dish that is unlike anything else available outside New York.
Wirtz, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome food!!”
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

The salads are huge and the pizza is freshly made. Very courteous staff.
Live music on Tuesdays and Saturday.

Helpful?
Thank aszuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    33
    9
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My last visit!!!”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Marco's was recommended by a family member. After 2 visits decided this was enough! Sauce is very "watery" & not spread on dough. When attempting to eat red tinged water dripping from slice of pizza. Staff was not accommodating. Was ignored after sitting for about 5 minutes. There was no other patrons in facility. I would not recommend this establishment.....

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda12301952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hendersonville, North Carolina
2 reviews
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

My wife and I grew up in NJ, we had heard that the pizza was good here, so we were looking forward to trying it. I ordered a small pie and she ordered the eggplant parmigiana, disappointed with both. I thought the quality of the food was poor, and you don't get much for your money. The eggplant was an "entrée" at 12 dollars, but came with no salad or pasta...really? They were extra if you wanted either. Then it was also disappointing. I won't go back.

Helpful?
Thank monkeyboy64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, North Carolina
Level Contributor
164 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Excellent pizza! A nice surprise!”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

My wife and I ate lunch here and I'm glad we arrived early because the place filled up quickly. We had the basic cheese pizza and it was the reverse of what we imagined. The fresh mozzarilla cheese was the majority of the pie with a few spoonfuls of sauce. Usually we have it the other way around with lots of sauce and a few dollups of cheese. The crust tasted great, the sauce was very tasty and the cheese was very good and not stingey. We ate at the south location.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank columbusJO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Easley, South Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great take out pie”
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

Looking for good pizza while visiting Asheville. We accidentally "found" Marcos and stopped to order a pie. Got an onion and mushroom and it was great. Crust was perfect and the toppings very fresh. Some New York sports memorabilia at their south location didn't hurt either. Thanks folks for a great pizza. We will stop by when we are in Asheville again.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marco's Pizzeria also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Marco's Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing