We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Asheville Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Days Inn Biltmore East

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Days Inn Biltmore East
Ranked #32 of 63 Hotels in Asheville
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Asheville Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

We have stayed here several times. It is the best Days Inn we have used. Note it is near a functional train track so there may be train noise at night. That doesn't keep my family from using this hotel. It is a great stay for a reasonable price. The rooms are always clean and well appointed with nice furniture. They are well equipped with refrigerators and microwaves. Breakfast, while simple, is generous and well maintained. The hotel is conveniently located for access to east Asheville, the VA Hospital, Blue Ridge Parkway, Warren Wilson College, and Black Mountain. Because it is on US 70 and right off Exit 52 of I-40 you can easily connect with the downtown and other sections of the Asheville area including the Biltmore House. I readily recommend it to my friends and relatives.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

914 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    333
    205
    81
    54
See reviews for
308
325
65
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

Our stay was one of my most unpleasant hotel experiences ever.

#1. Attitude of Staff - After unpacking that evening, I drove the lot multiple times to realize there were no available parking spaces. Many are occupied by an extensive outdoor renovation. The desk clerk ARGUED with me about space availability, and sent me to circle yet again. I returned to find the desk clerk helping a prospective guest, hearing her turned away due to lack of availability, and then the desk clerk calling THREE other unaffiliated hotels on her behalf. In between the calls, I tried to ask her about my parking problem, but she said I was "next". When it was my turn, the desk clerk consented to let me leave my car exactly where the woman had parked near the entrance, but only AFTER she departed. It was several minutes before the woman moved her car as I waited, beyond aggravation at that point. (The clerk actually told me, "I suppose you're not paying to sleep in your car." and laughed.) All told and back to my room, it had taken over 30 minutes for me to park my car, and that should NEVER have happened! Upon checking out, the dark reception of the morning clerk (who also manned the buffet) was reminiscent of Winona Rider in Heathers.

#2. Train whistle - It awoke me three times during the middle of the night, despite the Blackberry playing White Noise on Volume 45, right next to my head. The first time I sat straight up, and it nearly scared the life out of me.

#3. Construction - During our stay in May, it covered the front side of the hotel and dumpsters occupied several spaces in the back. It was not unsightly, but do be aware the hotel does not look like the photo. More significantly, the construction takes up parking spaces. I noticed the hotel is still utilizing parking spaces for guests that are in near proximity to the scaffolding, closer than I'd feel comfortable parking to any type of construction.

#4. Other - The continental breakfast was not good, offered little variety. The hotel and room decor is dated.

Bottom Line - Hotels in Asheville are pricey. I'd tried to cut corners here, but overall, $25 more would've made a huge improvement and I'd have slept that night.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CocoGracieandMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sumter, South Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

We love this place from turning off I 40 to getting back on it . We now take a top floor King Room always clean and smells great plenty of room aswell. You are 15 mins from the Biltmore and 3 mins from the Blue Ridge Parkway. Staff always happy and smiling from the desk to house keeping, breakfast lady ,I forget her name sorry, super helpful ,nothing to much for her . Oh one thing anybody that moans about the trains ,,,, we never hear them . Great place great staff will be back again in August.

Room Tip: King Room 302 its great,
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnBailey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

The Days Inn Biltmore East has been the place of choice for us for several years when we go back to Asheville for class reunions or to visit friends and relatives. It is very convenient - just off I-40, clean, and has a wonderful breakfast that is included. Except for the few trains you might hear at night if you are on the "back" side of the building, it is very quiet. We don't mind the train whistle - it reminds us of yesterdays in small towns. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Rooms are clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: If train whistles might bother your sleep, ask for a room facing the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver City, New Mexico
Level Contributor
83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

I had to go back and re-read the reviews in Trip Advisor to see if I had booked the wrong hotel. I was amazed that people really recommended this place. I have stayed in my share of old, cheap motels/hotels and even third world sleeping is better than this. The exterior is being renovated/repaired but they should have started on the inside. The place is smelly and dirty. We had to open our window to get some fresh air. Unfortunately we couldn’t leave it open because the train, blowing its whistle ran several times during the night. I think they shop once a week for the breakfast items so you have to eat stale muffins, bread, etc. I avoided the hard boiled eggs after hearing a few comments by others eating them. Was there anything nice – well the staff was helpful and efficient. Not being recommended by me.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

We stayed at this property while spending 2 nights in Asheville. We have gotten used to Hampton Inns, so this is definitely a step down, but we were looking for a reasonably priced property(hard to find in Asheville) and this place fit the bill. It was clean and was in the process of getting an exterior remodel (did not effect our room). The staff was friendly and breakfast as expected for Days Inn. Not quite the eggs and sausage of a Hampton Inn, but pastries, waffles, and cereal as expected. Our room was clean, and the location great (on I40) for visiting the Biltmore Estate. It was also very near The Coves(Billy Graham conference center).

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steve7124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keansburg, New Jersey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

Had a great stay in Asheville. Two night stay. It is not the center of town which is perfectly acceptable. Its a straight short drive to center of Asheville. Rooms great. Comfortable bed, clean and modern bathroom. Nice continental breakfast. In process of renovating (which is not problem for guests). This has raised my awareness of Days Inn considerably. Joyce T

Room Tip: I prefer a higher floor but could not see where any of the room locations would be a problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jsrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Biltmore East
3.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Asheville Tunnel Road
9.7 mi away
Sleep Inn West
Sleep Inn West
#18 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Outlet Center
Comfort Suites Outlet Center
#30 of 63 in Asheville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Asheville - Biltmore East
3.8 mi away
Days Inn Asheville/Mall
Days Inn Asheville/Mall
#46 of 63 in Asheville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Biltmore East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Biltmore East

Property: Days Inn Biltmore East
Address: 1435 Tunnel Rd, I-40 & US 70 East, Asheville, NC 28805-2803
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Days Inn Biltmore East 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Days Inn Biltmore East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Biltmore East Hotel Asheville
Biltmore East Days Inn
Days Inn Asheville
Asheville Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing