We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place, good feeling”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Days Inn Asheville/Tunnel Road & I-40
Ranked #30 of 66 Hotels in Asheville
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Days Inn Asheville East is a nice quiet place to stay. The rooms are modern, clean, and the staff at Days Inn Asheville East are always friendly and helpful. Convenient location right off of I-40 and convenient to Asheville sites.

Room Tip: We have stayed on the lst and 3rd floor and they all seem fine.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,039)
There are newer reviews for Days Inn Asheville/Tunnel Road & I-40
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

891 - 897 of 1,039 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2012

We have stayed here several times. It is the best Days Inn we have used. Note it is near a functional train track so there may be train noise at night. That doesn't keep my family from using this hotel. It is a great stay for a reasonable price. The rooms are always clean and well appointed with nice furniture. They are well equipped with refrigerators and microwaves. Breakfast, while simple, is generous and well maintained. The hotel is conveniently located for access to east Asheville, the VA Hospital, Blue Ridge Parkway, Warren Wilson College, and Black Mountain. Because it is on US 70 and right off Exit 52 of I-40 you can easily connect with the downtown and other sections of the Asheville area including the Biltmore House. I readily recommend it to my friends and relatives.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Our stay was one of my most unpleasant hotel experiences ever.

#1. Attitude of Staff - After unpacking that evening, I drove the lot multiple times to realize there were no available parking spaces. Many are occupied by an extensive outdoor renovation. The desk clerk ARGUED with me about space availability, and sent me to circle yet again. I returned to find the desk clerk helping a prospective guest, hearing her turned away due to lack of availability, and then the desk clerk calling THREE other unaffiliated hotels on her behalf. In between the calls, I tried to ask her about my parking problem, but she said I was "next". When it was my turn, the desk clerk consented to let me leave my car exactly where the woman had parked near the entrance, but only AFTER she departed. It was several minutes before the woman moved her car as I waited, beyond aggravation at that point. (The clerk actually told me, "I suppose you're not paying to sleep in your car." and laughed.) All told and back to my room, it had taken over 30 minutes for me to park my car, and that should NEVER have happened! Upon checking out, the dark reception of the morning clerk (who also manned the buffet) was reminiscent of Winona Rider in Heathers.

#2. Train whistle - It awoke me three times during the middle of the night, despite the Blackberry playing White Noise on Volume 45, right next to my head. The first time I sat straight up, and it nearly scared the life out of me.

#3. Construction - During our stay in May, it covered the front side of the hotel and dumpsters occupied several spaces in the back. It was not unsightly, but do be aware the hotel does not look like the photo. More significantly, the construction takes up parking spaces. I noticed the hotel is still utilizing parking spaces for guests that are in near proximity to the scaffolding, closer than I'd feel comfortable parking to any type of construction.

#4. Other - The continental breakfast was not good, offered little variety. The hotel and room decor is dated.

Bottom Line - Hotels in Asheville are pricey. I'd tried to cut corners here, but overall, $25 more would've made a huge improvement and I'd have slept that night.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CocoGracieandMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

We love this place from turning off I 40 to getting back on it . We now take a top floor King Room always clean and smells great plenty of room aswell. You are 15 mins from the Biltmore and 3 mins from the Blue Ridge Parkway. Staff always happy and smiling from the desk to house keeping, breakfast lady ,I forget her name sorry, super helpful ,nothing to much for her . Oh one thing anybody that moans about the trains ,,,, we never hear them . Great place great staff will be back again in August.

Room Tip: King Room 302 its great,
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnBailey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

The Days Inn Biltmore East has been the place of choice for us for several years when we go back to Asheville for class reunions or to visit friends and relatives. It is very convenient - just off I-40, clean, and has a wonderful breakfast that is included. Except for the few trains you might hear at night if you are on the "back" side of the building, it is very quiet. We don't mind the train whistle - it reminds us of yesterdays in small towns. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Rooms are clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: If train whistles might bother your sleep, ask for a room facing the front.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

I had to go back and re-read the reviews in Trip Advisor to see if I had booked the wrong hotel. I was amazed that people really recommended this place. I have stayed in my share of old, cheap motels/hotels and even third world sleeping is better than this. The exterior is being renovated/repaired but they should have started on the inside. The place is smelly and dirty. We had to open our window to get some fresh air. Unfortunately we couldn’t leave it open because the train, blowing its whistle ran several times during the night. I think they shop once a week for the breakfast items so you have to eat stale muffins, bread, etc. I avoided the hard boiled eggs after hearing a few comments by others eating them. Was there anything nice – well the staff was helpful and efficient. Not being recommended by me.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

We stayed at this property while spending 2 nights in Asheville. We have gotten used to Hampton Inns, so this is definitely a step down, but we were looking for a reasonably priced property(hard to find in Asheville) and this place fit the bill. It was clean and was in the process of getting an exterior remodel (did not effect our room). The staff was friendly and breakfast as expected for Days Inn. Not quite the eggs and sausage of a Hampton Inn, but pastries, waffles, and cereal as expected. Our room was clean, and the location great (on I40) for visiting the Biltmore Estate. It was also very near The Coves(Billy Graham conference center).

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve7124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Biltmore East
3.0 mi away
Best Western Asheville Tunnel Road
3.7 mi away
Days Inn Asheville/Mall
Days Inn Asheville/Mall
#50 of 66 in Asheville
1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Asheville - Biltmore East
9.7 mi away
Sleep Inn West
Sleep Inn West
#16 of 66 in Asheville
956 reviews
10.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Biltmore West
Comfort Inn Biltmore West
#29 of 66 in Asheville
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Asheville/Tunnel Road & I-40? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Asheville/Tunnel Road & I-40

Address: 1435 Tunnel Rd, I-40 & US 70 East, Asheville, NC 28805-2803
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Asheville
Price Range: £61 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Days Inn Asheville/Tunnel Road & I-40 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Days Inn Asheville/Tunnel Road & I-40 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Biltmore East Hotel Asheville
Biltmore East Days Inn
Days Inn Asheville
Asheville Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing