We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice little getaway with even nicer innkeepers...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of A Bed of Roses Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Asheville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
A Bed of Roses Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #21 of 38 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
north carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A nice little getaway with even nicer innkeepers...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

Bill and Emily (innkeepers) were such a warm and gracious host and hostess for our two nights in Asheville. Breakfast was delicious (we're talking prosciutto and fluffy eggs in ramekins, mango/peach crunch, blackbean cornbread, etc etc etc). She also always had out homemade chocolate chip walnut cookies available in the kitchen, with tea/coffe/lemonade/ice water available 24/7. Tea was served in fancy teacups and it just tasted better that way! Our room, "the nest", was up a narrow staircase to the 2nd floor. It was a quaint, small room that in our minds was the best. It was away from the main floor and quiet. We kept the windows open all weekend as it was cool there. Just beautiful. Just a note to help you out...if you're a large person or pack a lot of luggage, you will probably have trouble getting up the stairwell and maybe getting in the door to the room. We're small people and found it tight. Totally worth it though...great whirpool, jetted tub...robes to lounge in, fresh flowers, candy left on the nightstand, bath salts, etc. The bed is a full size but very comfy. The room was clean and well-decorated. There is a small tv, which my husband was happy about for football games at night. :)The porch and gardens around the house are beautiful and the resident kitties were sweet (one is blind). The house is about a 15 minute walk to downtown and helped us work off those wonderful breakfasts!! Thanks Bed of Roses...we'll be back!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bethinnc82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilyMcIntosh, Owner at A Bed of Roses Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
Thanks so much for your review and for posting the great pictures. I love the one of Sasha in the window! I also love hearing that guests staying in our smallest room enjoy their experience just as much as those staying in the Turret Suite. It means a lot to us. We hope you make it back soon!
Emily & Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    26
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
8
191
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Clarkston, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

So many thanks to Bill and Emily for helping making our 5th anniversary so special. The B&B was beautiful, breakfast was delicious (I needneedneed the blueberry strata recipe), and the room was great. We got one of the packages (champagne, chocolates, and a reservation/gift certificate for dinner in town) and it was such a great surprise to see the look on my wife's face when we got to the room. Bill & Emily take such good care of their guests, and are so welcoming. They were very helpful in orienting us the Asheville area/things to do/places to eat/etc. It was a pleasure to be there. We took advantage of the location to walk to downtown on Friday after we got in - it's only about 3/4 of a mile, and very convenient to not have to worry about parking.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Carolyn Grey room, and it was very nice. Even though it was on the first floor, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank epidoctor_bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

I am so happy I found & booked Bed of Roses. Our stay was a delight! Emily & Bill were very professional and helpful to our first stay in Asheville. Since the Inn is only a couple of blocks from the visitors' center & Downtown, it was that much more of a find. Our room was very clean & comfortable. Although I chose the smallest of all the rooms, it had a wonderful jacuzzi tub for rejuvenating after all day of touring. Emily's breakfasts were picture perfect as well as filling & nutritious. Being right outside of the Historic District, it was the most charming & best located place to stay.

Room Tip: Upon returning to this B&B, I will choose a bigger room due to the exceedingly narrow, steep sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bundaydundat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chertsey, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

We have just returned from our trip to the US - and stayed in this B&B for 3 nights.
Had a very warm welcome. Room was decorated lovely and was very clean.
Breakfast was amazing and we loved our stay.
Town was a short 15 min walk away
One of the best B&Bs we have ever stayed in
Would recommend to anyone

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

I found A Bed of Roses on the internet and our stay was fabulous. My husband and I always try to stay at B & B's when we are traveling for pleasure and this place was top notch. Our room looked good on the internet and was even more impressive when we arrived. The inn keepers gave us great recommendations for restaurants, the breakfast was flavorful and filling, the coffee was delicious and we could not have asked for a more relaxing place to spend our 5 year wedding anniversary. We stayed 3 nights and would definitely stay here again. It's in a great location, a quick 5 minute drive to down town or 10-15 minutes and you can be at the gates to the Biltmore Estate. I highly recommend a Bed of Roses!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dreamfinder2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

My husband and I just returned from our stay at A Bed of Roses and we loved our stay here. Emily and Bill were wonderful innkeepers and made us feel very welcome. The accommodations were beautiful and were everything we could have ever wanted. We cannot recommend this B&B highly enough!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Wilkinson Room and loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

During our US road trip we've stayed in plenty of B&B's and we do this because they are so much more personable than a hotel and because, particularly in the South you tend to get a ridiculously warm welcome and a nice homely feeling.
We had not even put a foot in the door (and I was complimenting their garden), before we were bombarded with a list of things we could and couldn't do. This list was lengthy, involved a rather boring introduction to a cat, and came long before the traditional 'hello, welcome, you must be tired etc etc.. that normal B&B owners begin with. I think Bill has potential as a host but was completely overshadowed by the utter joylessness of his wife Emily, who only asked a question so that she could fill irrelevant details into her credit card data base... All of this had to be done before we were allowed up to our room (clearly we were exhausted after a long drive, but she insisted on showing us every irrelevant thing downstairs and taking all our details, and repeating the list of do's and don'ts.... not a smile was noted). We were in the small attic room, with a bag too big to fit up the stairs. This in itself is fine (we were told it was on the website.. OK, not a problem) but there was no suggestion we could put it for safety in one of the other (incidentally empty) rooms, or even that we could change into one of the other larger rooms, to avoid all worldly possessions sitting in the car. Just a totally intransigent insistence that it had to go back in the car and spend the night there. I wish they'd said that to us.
Anyhow, I would like to comment on breakfast, but the awfulness of the welcome coloured our whole trip to Ashville and got us back in the car at 6am where 2 hours later we had a gloriously charming welcome from a B&B in Charleston. From this moment on we have had a code word which means 'let's get the hell out of here' for when we go to B&B's. Happily we haven't had to use it, but we both would have done within 2 minutes of walking into a bed of roses, and nothing for the several hours we were there, changed our opinion of it.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank slink1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at A Bed of Roses Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 14 July 2012
First, I must express my complete surprise at the disappointment you experienced during your visit to our home. Our intention at A Bed of Roses is always to make our guests feel comfortable and welcome and we truly regret the feelings you have. We are also terribly disappointed that these issues were not brought to our attention while you were here. We would have loved the opportunity to correct the situation.
Since you chose this forum instead I believe it appropriate for me to attempt to respond to the items you felt were unreasonable and attempt to explain why there was such a misunderstanding.
You mentioned that you are regular guests of B&Bs, so you must be aware that most inns require advance reservations and that there is a need to gather guest information, not only for payment purposes but also in case of emergencies. Normally all this paperwork is done online or by phone while making the reservation. The challenge that we had to overcome was that you did not have a reservation and arrived very close to 7PM, the end of our check-in time. It was unfortunate that we had to bother you with these necessary formalities when you were tired from traveling, but it couldn’t be helped.
We have found that guests expect to (and should) know the amenities we offer such as when and where we serve breakfast, where to find the fresh baked cookies etc. This is usually perceived as warm and welcoming- a part of that “ridiculously warm” southern hospitality you mention. We are sorry that this was misinterpreted as as being bombarded with a boring list of rules. We found it difficult to impart even the most basic information to you on your arrival without interruption but I did express my sympathy with how tired your must have been from traveling. Our concern for our guests’ comfort compels us to impart this necessary information and our intent is always to make your experience better, not more tedious. We regret that that was not understood. We did make our best effort to accommodate you. When the time we serve breakfast at was not to your liking, we offered to serve muffins to you at 7:30am when we put out coffee and tea, but our offer was rebuffed. You chose to stay in our smallest and least expensive room, and as you said, the website does warn guests that large bags are difficult to navigate up the stairs. We certainly would have been glad to offer you another room, but thought you had made it clear that you wanted the least expensive option and you never mentioned that you may have had an interest in another room. I’m so sorry that our communication was not better but I truly wish you had brought your frustrations to our attention as they were happening. Only then would we have been able to correct whatever we could to insure that your stay was perfect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Historic Montford
Rankin House Inn
Rankin House Inn
#26 of 38 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Sweet Biscuit Inn
#7 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
Historic Montford
The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed and Breakfast Inn
1889 WhiteGate Inn & Cottage
#23 of 38 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Chestnut Street Inn
#1 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Bed of Roses Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Bed of Roses Bed & Breakfast

Property: A Bed of Roses Bed & Breakfast
Address: 135 Cumberland Ave, Asheville, NC 28801-1737
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville > Historic Montford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Bed of Roses is a Queen Anne Victorian B&B set in the quiet, historic Montford District of Asheville, just 5 blocks from the vibrant downtown. There are 5 beautifully appointed guest rooms, all with private baths, flat screen TVs and free WIFI. A gourmet breakfast is included along with home baked goodies and complementary beverages. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
a Bed Of Roses Bed And Breakfast
a Bed Of Roses Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing