We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice B&B, great staff, good location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Asheville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
A Bed of Roses Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #20 of 38 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
121 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Nice B&B, great staff, good location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

We stayed three nights at the B&B and it was a very nice stay. It's a Victorian house close to Asheville's downtown. The owners are very helpful and the rooms are nice. We stayed in two rooms, both of which had Jacuzzi's, very comfortable beds, and good walk-in showers. One room is on the ground floor, the other four are up one flight.

The breakfasts are fabulous. It's one seating at a single table, but we found the company very congenial all three mornings. Very tasty breakfasts and pleasant conversation.

The owners are very helpful with advice about things to do, restaurants, etc. Sometimes when you stay in a house where the owners live, it can be hard to strike the right balance of them "being there" but not too much in your face. The owners here struck a perfect balance.

The rooms are not huge. The Carolyn Grey (ground floor) was a little tight, the Revell was more spacious. There's also a very nice common sitting room and a comfortable front porch.

Can't think of anything I'd do better. Nice place to stay.

Room Tip: We liked the Revell room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leonsreed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    26
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
8
193
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013

We stayed for a weekend in "the nest"...it was so cozy and cute and a great get away for the weekend. Our hosts welcomed us and gave us a great tour of the city via map. They were wonderful hosts. The breakfasts were first class. Each day was a different meal and was served with some fresh juice. We can not say enough good things about A bed of roses!!! We will be visiting again soon!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aandmbailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotia, NY
Level Contributor
106 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2013

My wife and I had a very pleasant two night stay. Although we would not stay again if we were to return to Asheville, it is only because we enjoy staying in different places. Too many B & B's and too little time. However we would not hesitate to recommend a Bed of Roses to anyone we knew visiting the area. The neighborhood was historic and quiet and only a 10 minute walk to downtown. Emily was very helpful giving us easy to follow maps and suggestions as to where to eat. Bill was laid back, pleasant and interesting to converse with. We felt welcomed by them both. If you like roses, they are everywhere you look in many different forms whether fresh cut or a pattern on the china. Ignore any negative reviews as they should not dissuade anyone from staying here.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScotiaCantor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goldsboro, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

My husband and I decided to take a romantic trip to Asheville for our 1 year wedding anniversary. We were hesitant to stay at a B&B since it was our first time, but A Bed of Roses far exceeded our expectations! Bill and Emily were amazingly friendly, genuine and helpful hosts. They made us feel so comfortable and at home. The Inn itself was beautiful and the attention to detail was incredible. We stayed in the Turret Suite and it couldn't have been more romantic. The fresh flowers throughout the suite and plush linens were wonderful. The bed was awesome...we didn't want to leave! The tub was put to good use and the robes were a nice touch after a hot bath. Breakfast was phenomenal...the menu combinations and food prep were gourmet! We will definitely cherish our experience at A Bed of Roses and would recommend it to anyone. You get what you pay for and it's worth every penny. Thank you Bill and Emily for a wonderful stay! Expect to see us in the near future.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Autumn Shea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seneca, South Carolina
Level Contributor
224 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2013 via mobile

We stay the weekend at Bed of Roses B&B" and had a fabulous time! It's close to the downtown Asheville areawhich we loved! The rooms are beautiful and relaxing! The owners are warm, welcoming and eager to answer all if our questions! Our room had a jacuzzi tub and a fireplace... Oh so romantic! We will definately stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzyf29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013

We stayed here for three nights, and could not have made a better choice. The room was the upstairs room with private entrance. It was small, but clean, comfy and cozy. The bathroom had a jacuzzi tub, and we thoroughly enjoyed/made use of it. I do agree with one of the other guests who said that it was a very narrow staircase, though, so give thought to this when booking. As for the breakfasts - they were to die for! LOVED them. Our host and hostess were charming, lovely people, who were very helpful in advising us on the eateries in downtown Asheville. We would definitely come back to this B & B!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dragonflies8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trumbull, Connecticut
Level Contributor
107 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2012

Two of us recently spent two nights at this fine B and B. The room we were in was well appointed. We stayed in the turret suite with a sitting room containing a fireplace and coffee maker; bath with jacuzzi and an octagonal, high-ceilinged bedroom. The hosts were accommodating and friendly, but not intrusively so, as some hosts can be at a B and B. The breakfasts were very filling and quite tasty. Parking was easy as was access to the wifi. Price was on the high side, compared to some places, and this is the only criticism in my review.
I would stay there again and recommend it highly.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeffG1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Historic Montford
Rankin House Inn
Rankin House Inn
#26 of 38 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Sweet Biscuit Inn
#7 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
Historic Montford
The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House
Chestnut Street Inn
#1 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Bed of Roses Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Bed of Roses Bed & Breakfast

Property: A Bed of Roses Bed & Breakfast
Address: 135 Cumberland Ave, Asheville, NC 28801-1737
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville > Historic Montford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Bed of Roses is a Queen Anne Victorian B&B set in the quiet, historic Montford District of Asheville, just 5 blocks from the vibrant downtown. There are 5 beautifully appointed guest rooms, all with private baths, flat screen TVs and free WIFI. A gourmet breakfast is included along with home baked goodies and complementary beverages. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
a Bed Of Roses Bed And Breakfast
a Bed Of Roses Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing