We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even better than we expected!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
A Bed of Roses Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #19 of 39 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 March 2014

What a total gem in Asheville! I'm so glad we were able to book a room at A Bed of Roses, as I can't imagine a better way to experience Asheville - from the stellar location (we walked to dinner/drinks every night), to meeting Emily and Bill, two such truly wonderful and joyful people.

The whole house is like a Victorian dream, and our room was just gorgeous, with a lovely fireplace AND jacuzzi tub facing the bed. Very romantic. ;)

Emily and Bill: Thank you for being such fantastic hosts, for the breakfasts full of love, and for creating such an amazing experience for us. Can't think of a thing I would change!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aydika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilyMcIntosh, Owner at A Bed of Roses Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Thanks so much for the great review! It was wonderful watching you both fall in love with Asheville the same way we did almost 4 years ago now. I'm sure we will see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (260)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 260 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2014

An outstanding B&B experience. We visited Asheville for 2 nights in late Feb. The Wilkinson room was cozy and comfortable. The gas fireplace was a wonderful added feature. The breakfast part of the B@B was very well prepared and presented, not to mention delicious. We have stayed in Asheville before and the Bed of Roses location is the best. The hosts love for what they are doing is conveyed into the care they offer to their guests.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilyMcIntosh, Owner at A Bed of Roses Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Thanks so much for the review! It's especially gratifying for us to hear that our love for innkeeping and for Asheville shows!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

This was our first time staying at a bed and breakfast and we loved it. The hosts were wonderful and the room was very comfortable and beautiful. We were just a walk from downtown and the hosts made sure we knew the best places to go and the best route to get there.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dale G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

The room we stayed in was great (The Wilkinson). The bed was so comfortable. The star of the show is the breakfast. It is a gourmet fest that is meticulously prepared. Also, each afternoon there are delicious cookies just out of the oven. Very close to downtown. We would stay here again!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trent S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

I stayed in A Bed of Roses B&B around Christmas time with $150+ payment. It has great outlook and inside display but, overall, my stay for one night was not quite as I expected. Here I note a number of caveats.

First, I found several stink bugs in the room. B&Bs are usually old Victorian houses, so I am not sure if this is a common situation that visitors face. But, seriously, the time was in the middle of winter! I think it is reasonable to anticipate there will be more bugs in other seasons.

Second, hot water in the Whirlpool tub was not consistent. The Whirlpool bathtub inside the room was one of the attractions that made me choose this B&B. Yet it didn't really work properly.

Third, the heating system was not good enough. This B&B uses a kind of radiator that displays a beautiful fireplace when working, but I spent a cold night because that radiator didn't warm the room much as it looked.

Forth, the breakfast was so-so. This evaluation might reflect my personal preferences too much. However, after having the breakfast, I had a strong feeling that it was definitely not worthy of 150+ dollars.

Good stuff: The staffs are extremely kind. The house has a long history & wonderful atmosphere. That's why I rate it as "poor" not "terrible." But the caveats I describe above were crucial, by all of which I wouldn't strongly recommend this B&B.

Room Tip: Avoid the room on the first floor. Bugs are likely to appear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jml7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilyMcIntosh, Owner at A Bed of Roses Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

We regret that you were disappointed in your stay at A Bed of Roses. I'm sorry you chose not to share your problems with the room with us so we could have tried to help while you were here. Asheville has indeed been inundated with Stink Bugs this year, and I'm afraid that the cold weather drives them indoors, but we make every effort to eradicate them as soon as they appear. This is the first we've heard of them being spotted in the Carolyn Gray Room. This is also the first report we've had of poor water temperature in the whirlpool. We have two very large water heaters that can usually handle the extreme load of a B&B with 4 jacuzzis, 5 showers and a sanitizing dish washer. The Carolyn Gray room is heated by the central heating in the house. The cast iron electric heater is there for additional heat as well as ambiance. It is not meant as the sole heat in the room and is not usually needed as such. Again, we are sorry that you were uncomfortable and had we known we may have been able to help alleviate your discomfort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

I really enjoyed this bed and breakfast. It was beautiful and the innkeepers were so helpful and friendly. The breakfasts in the morning were delicious. The inn was close to downtown which we loved. Very quaint and relaxing. Would definitely recommend this inn.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Obxphotographer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilyMcIntosh, Owner at A Bed of Roses Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to add your review. We're glad you enjoyed A Bed of Roses. We love the location too! It's so convenient to everything. We hope you come back to visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We don't normally stay at B & B's but we may change our mind after this stay. What a fantastic place and such a nice couple. Breakfast was a gourmet feast every morning. Location is also as good as it gets for Asheville. Walk down a street of beautiful Victorian homes and you are in the heart of the downtown district without having to pay to park. Parking is easy and free in front of the B&B. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PKKViper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilyMcIntosh, Owner at A Bed of Roses Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Thanks for the lovely review! We love to convert people to the B&B experience!
Hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Princess Anne Hotel
#2 of 68 in Asheville
718 reviews
Sweet Biscuit Inn
#5 of 39 in Asheville
821 reviews
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Biltmore Village Inn
#7 of 39 in Asheville
1,652 reviews
Historic Montford
The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House
Chestnut Street Inn
#1 of 39 in Asheville
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Bed of Roses Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Bed of Roses Bed & Breakfast

Address: 135 Cumberland Ave, Asheville, NC 28801-1737
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville > Historic Montford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range: £78 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Bed of Roses is a Queen Anne Victorian B&B set in the quiet, historic Montford District of Asheville, just 5 blocks from the vibrant downtown. There are 5 beautifully appointed guest rooms, all with private baths, flat screen TVs and free WIFI. A gourmet breakfast is included along with home baked goodies and complementary beverages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your A Bed of Roses Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Bed Of Roses Hotel Asheville
a Bed Of Roses Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing