We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
A Bed of Roses Bed & Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
US$136
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$245
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$192
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sleep Inn West(Asheville)(Great Value!)
US$86
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$76
SleepInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$155
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$406
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Asheville - Biltmore East(Asheville)(Great Value!)
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$338
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$304
Autograph
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Omni Grove Park Inn(Asheville)
US$355
Omni Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (264)
Filter reviews
264 results
Traveller rating
225
29
6
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
225
29
6
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsturret suiteoliver davis roomother guestscornbreadconvenient walking distancea separate sitting roomcharming victoriangracious hostslistening to the birdsfront porchhistoric districtevery morninghouse is beautifulquiet neighborhooda lovely stayfood allergiesyear anniversary
Filter
Updating list...
120 - 125 of 264 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2014

My husband and I love staying at B and Bs. Emily and Bill's place in a lovely historic part of Asheville (full of Victorians and Arts and Crafts homes) ranks up with the best of the best! We were treated like honored guests. The home is beautifully furnished in the Queen Anne period, but oh the modern conveniences, like excellent wi-fi, plenty of outlets for plug in devices, jacuzzi tub and bathrobes! We sat out on the big front porch every night. The breakfasts were creative feasts to keep one going all day and... great company of other guests at the big dining room table. And Emily's delicious cookies and tea avilable afternoons/evenings...who could ask for anything more?

Room Tip: We were tucked up in "The Nest." Quiet, beautiful, but bring a small bag only up the narrow stairs!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eileen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilyMcIntosh, Owner at A Bed of Roses Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

You WERE honored guests! We so enjoyed having you stay. Thank you for the review!
Emily

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We loved staying at A Bed of Roses, especially for its proximity to downtown. It's a pleasant, easy, and safe walk to downtown, and so quiet. The inn was fully booked but I never heard a peep out of anyone. I found their prices were actually less than other inns in the same vicinity. Certainly once you compare prices to hotels and consider the large breakfast, A B&B is a much better value.

We opted for the turret suite for our stay and weren't disappointed. The window A/C and the fan provided in the room kept the room pleasantly cool in the warm summer, and the bed was very comfortable. The big tub was very nice, and the bathroom afforded plenty of room to maneuver. We also had plenty of storage space for clothes and sundries. We enjoyed sitting on the small balcony in the evening overlooking the lovely front yard and watching the fireflies. The turret suite also included a small refrigerator, which was quite handy.

The breakfasts were fantastic and huge! You'll barely be hungry enough to eat lunch later. We enjoyed the 9:00 breakfast time; plenty of time to sleep in the morning without rushing down for the meal but not so late that you lose part of your day.

My only comments are the following:

The window above the bed has no shade or curtain, so early morning sun may wake you sooner than you would like. I suggest bringing a sleep mask if you are sensitive to light.

The big tub is very deep and quite awkward to climb in and out of. A step stool of some kind or a hand bar are really needed. So, if you have a disability or are unsteady on your feet, please inquire with the innkeepers about whether these have been provided or can be available before you book this room. It was not a necessity for us, but certainly could be for other visitors.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank randmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilyMcIntosh, Owner at A Bed of Roses Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

We're so glad you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for your suggestions as well. We will definitely put up a hand bar next to the jacuzzi and remember to point out the non-slip mat for the tub that we keep in the dry-sink.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Beautiful B&B and lovely and interesting host/hostess. The breakfasts were elaborate and amazingly beautiful, generous and delicious. The housekeeping service was outstanding and totally invisible. We left the room for a short while, came back and it was as if the cleaning fairies had visited. The fixed 9 a.m. breakfast service was fine but no coffee service until 7:30 a.m. doesn't work for me. I'm an early riser (6:30 a.m.) There wasn't any flexibility either. Just no coffee. While I've never asked a host to move breakfast time to meet my schedule (given their wonderful breakfasts which require a lot of hard work and planning), it's a deal breaker when they cannot accommodate coffee. It was a shame something so small turned into something so disruptive to my otherwise lovely stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilyMcIntosh, Owner at A Bed of Roses Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

We are happy that you, for the most part enjoyed your stay. As I explained in my email response to you, Bill did share his coffee with you well before 7:30AM on two of the days that you stayed and it was just unfortunate timing that, on the third day the coffee machine was in mid-cycle and you couldn't wait until it was finished. We try to be as flexible as possible, but set our policies to ensure that the majority of our guests receive freshly brewed, hot coffee. It truly is a shame that, as you said, something so small outbalanced all the other pleasant memories you have of your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Our hosts Emily and Bill are the kind of people we wish we could take them home for neighbors. Their kindness and hospitality are unmatched by anywhere we have stayed. Our accommodation in the Turret Suite was clean and comfortable. The best part of the stay were the delicious and varied breakfasts. The location was excellent for walking to downtown Ashville.
Meg and Walt

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilyMcIntosh, Owner at A Bed of Roses Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Thank you so much for your sweet review! We can't be your neighbors, but hopefully you will be able come back and visit us soon. Guests like you folks are why we love doing this so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Loved the location, loved the gourmet breakfasts, loved our room, loved the front porch, and loved our hosts! Our room was very small and narrow stairs to climb (probably where the help stayed) BUT very cozy and very comfortable. It worked for the 2 of us because we didn't need anything more except a good night's rest. PERFECT!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet53009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews