We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will return without a doubt”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Asheville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Crooked Oak Mountain Inn
Ranked #7 of 39 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 February 2013

I picked Crooked Oak Mountain Inn to take my wife on a mini vacation for Valentines day. I wanted a place so we could relax and feel at home and we found it. Patti and Bear made us feel like family from the time we walked in the door. The inn is at the top of the Mtn and is secluded all to its self and is in a very beautiful setting. Our room was wonderful and very comfortable. When we were not in the room resting we sat out in the family room with the fire place and watched tv or my wife read her books. Although it was secluded on top of the Mtn its only approx. 3 miles from downtown Asheville. Being at a B and B you are normally served breakfast and Bear really put down a spread that was VERY good and not your normal breakfast. Patti and Bear have really impressed us and will have us as return customers for years to come. A+++ rating.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank firemedic51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (563)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

336 - 342 of 563 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2013

If you ever thinking of going to Asheville North Carolina and staying in a B & B ...think no more...you must stay at the Crooked Oak Mountain inn. It is literally hidden away up in the mountains. While only a mile or two from downtown Asheville, it seems like you are in another world. Patti & Bear are two of the nicest innkeepers we have ever met. From the moment we arrived till we left they were friendly, helpful ,gracious, funny and a pleasure to be with. Our intention was to only stay there two nights but we loved it so much after only being there one hour we extended our stay another night. the first night we got there we didnt not want to leave the B & B. Pattie & Bear suggested we order from a restaurant take out service and they would deliver. They did but when we saw how both of them set up a table for us with all the nice touches it really impressed us. they are truly warm people. The room ( chestnut) was immaculate spacious and had a little deck that looked out to the garden. In the afternoon they brought out wine and snacks and ther breakfast was great . You have to try Bear's signature waffles!!! Go to Asheveille, stay at this B & B you wont want to leave!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank urbanphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

I was looking to take my wife somewhere nice and relaxing for our first weekend getaway since our almost 2 year old was born. After reading reviews, it was obvious that Crooked Oak would be just the place! While we were disappointed to learn that Patti was not going to be around, Bear more than made up for her absence! He truly treated us as though we were old friends! He was genuinely concerned with making sure that we enjoyed ourselves, both at the B&B and around Asheville. We stayed in the Moutain Laurel Room and were very pleased with it! While we would have liked to have been able to use the patio, we enjoyed everything else about the room. (Especially the luxurious sheets and comfortable king size bed!) Bear's breakfast each morning were the highlights of our days! Truly the weekend we were looking for, all the way down to the hug we received as we departed! It never felt like we had to "work" at conversation with other guests and especially not with Bear. Couldn't have imagined a better, more relaxing weekend.

Room Tip: All rooms looked equally nice. Mountain Laurel room was very nice. Enjoyed sitting by the fire and w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Trent K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

We spent the holidays with Bear and Patti and had an amazing time. The Inn was beautiful and cozy, the breakfasts were delicious and the hospitality was generous and sincere. I don't think I've ever stayed at a more comfortable place for any vacation. Add the amazing views and homey feel, and you have a perfect mountain getaway any time of year. We're planning on going back during the summer, and I'll add an update then. Highly recommended!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent. We stayed in the Mount Laurel room, which had a great patio. It was a ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rodney M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We are so pleased with our time at Crooked Oak Mountain Inn that we won't go anywhere else! We have been to many B & B's around the world and this one is the TOPS on our favorites list !!! You truely are WELCOMED to the this slice of heaven in the hills above Asheville. Bear & Patti will truly become some of your best friends when you visit and years after. They have such a way of knowing 'just' what you need. Bear's laugh is so infectious and boy can he COOK! Be ready to RELAX, again & again (as we have) at the Crooked Oak Moutain Inn!

Room Tip: Every room has its special charm, down stairs is our favorite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LittleBirds81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

I couldn't recommend a "home away from home" more positively than The Crooked Oak Mountain Inn. It's the friendliest place I
have ever stayed--lovely inside and out, gorgeous views, great breakfasts, lots of cozy nooks and crannies, and the kindest inn
keepers you'll ever find. In short, don't miss it--I've been totally delighted with my time there and will go there again and again.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

My husband and I recently stayed a week and absolutely loved it! My husband booked the Inn based on reviews here, and we definitely were not let down. The room (Willow Suite) was very comfortable, clean and spacious with a balcony and wooded mountain view. Patti and Bear were superb, generous hosts and helped us with a dinner reservation, directions, etc. Patti even stayed up until after 11pm to greet us on arrival as we were delayed driving. It was nice chatting with Patti, Bear and the other guests at breakfast- which was delicious by the way!! It was also very convenient to downtown Asheville, the Blue Ridge Parkway and Biltmore. We would recommend the inn without reservation! You'll love it if you want a quiet, peaceful mountain getaway with a warm welcome!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MC1122012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Sweet Biscuit Inn
#5 of 39 in Asheville
819 reviews
Biltmore Village Inn
#8 of 39 in Asheville
1,649 reviews
Historic Montford
Pinecrest Bed & Breakfast
Pinecrest Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 39 in Asheville
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chestnut Street Inn
#1 of 39 in Asheville
256 reviews
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
Historic Montford
The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crooked Oak Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crooked Oak Mountain Inn

Address: 217 Patton Mountain Rd, Asheville, NC 28804-2848
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range: £80 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 3 miles from downtown Asheville, this mountain bed & breakfast is set on three wooded acres and offers the perfect place to relax while enjoying the gorgeous mountain views and natural setting. Inside, you will find rustic elegance and beautifully appointed guest rooms in a friendly, casual atmosphere. The breakfasts are abundant and the innkeekpers, Bear and Patti, are happy to accommodate special diets such as vegetarian, vegan, gluten-free, etc. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing