We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't Wait to Return” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crooked Oak Mountain Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Asheville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Crooked Oak Mountain Inn
Ranked #6 of 38 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lexington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
105 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Can't Wait to Return”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

We spent four nights in the Chestnut Suite celebrating an anniversary. It was a wonderful accommodation! We especially enjoyed the private balcony with a table for two and two comfortable lounging chairs. Bed and bedding were great.

Others have described the great breakfasts. We enjoyed each and every one. Bear and Patti are the most gracious and accommodating hosts. They were born for the hospitality business!

We have seldom had a better or more relaxing mini-vacation. It is true that the road to the inn is not the best, but the inn itself is!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NCtourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    508
    11
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
78
331
17
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

My wife and I went to "get away" form family stress. We did get away and enjoyed it so much - sitting in the garden - listing to the water fall into the pond - having a late night glass of wine on our private deck. All this and only 2.5 miles from town. and the food all I can say is just to much and so good! We will return

Bob & Diane.

Room Tip: all rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
100 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

The Crooked Oak Mountain Inn is run by one of the nicest couples you’re likely to meet. They are kind and friendly; helpful and eager to please. You won’t get the cold shoulder or impersonal treatment from Bear and Patti. I’d rate the proprietors a five.

The property, however, I’d rate as a four. If you are lucky enough to get one of the two suites they have, it might rank a five overall. We had to stay in a standard room (Dogwood), which was nice, but a bit cramped. The ceiling was low (maybe 7 feet or so), and 6-footers need to be careful if the ceiling fan is on (it’s over the bed, but if you are folding clothes on the bed, you could bump your head.

The bathroom was small but fully equipped. Tub/shower combo with nice tile, commode, sink with small amount of counter space. Tall visitors need to be careful in the shower – there is a shelf at forehead height which I hit on two consecutive days reaching down to adjust the temperature of the water.

The bed was soft, with a thick, heavy comforter on top. Though it was not very hot during our July visit, it seems to me a lighter-weight quilt might be more appropriate. Perhaps there was one in the closet; we threw off the comforter eventually. The mattress was either soft or had a very soft and thick topper. As a stomach sleeper I felt it to be a bit suffocating, so I slept on my side instead. Not what we are used to at home, but I recognize this as a matter of taste.

There was a tiny desk wide enough to fit a laptop (but not much more) near the nightstand on one side of the bed. The other side of the bed lacks a nightstand; instead, the door to the room is right there. There’s an antique dresser and a closet. Temp control is via a baseboard heater (keep stuff away from it when in use) and a wall-mounted AC unit. The ceiling fan made a mild noise as it worked – and the noise was present on all speeds.

Breakfast was tasty, beginning with some of the best cut-up fruit I’ve ever had. Very fresh, with a yogurt drizzle and home-made granola. Many types of muffins and cakes were available too. Bear handled the griddle and each morning he featured some kind of griddled carb item such as pancakes, french toast, and waffles. Of course, these recipes all had a special twist to them, so they were very good. He was more than willing to make some eggs for you instead or in addition to the featured griddle item. Bacon was a regular side, as well, with juice, coffee, etc. I probably would have liked it if one day he did something like western omelets instead of bread-based griddle items, but I’m sure he’s done this long enough to know what most people like and hope to get. One really nice thing about his cooking (and there are many, such as quality and speediness) is that he doesn’t give you too much. He gives you just the right amount. I think if you had a big appetite you could ask for more, but for once I could enjoy a hot breakfast and not regret it afterwards!

The common rooms of the B&B are nice, though sometimes fairly tight. There is a cute spiral staircase that connects three levels of the house, from a den in the bottom guest floor which has a TV, couches, and movie selection (as well as a snack bar of sorts – sweets, soda, and water), to the main floor (where we eat – which has individual tables, a fireplace, a couple soft chairs, and a dining room), to a loft where they have a library. I was too tall to stand up straight in the loft; in theory I could pick a book and sit down on the couch up there, but it felt rather cramped and I didn’t make further use of it other than to look around and appreciate just one more example of how they made efficient use of the space they have. It’s just that if you’re too tall, or claustrophobic, you won’t be inclined to make use of it.

We did peek in a suite (Chestnut) and it was spacious and grand. I forget the pricing difference but I thought the upcharge for a suite was fairly mild even before I saw them in person. We would return for a suite, but maybe not a standard room.

Overall, we had a very nice time and were deeply impressed by the sincerity and warm-heartedness of the innkeepers. If it were just an evaluation of them, it would be five stars all the way. But the property has some inherent limitations: remotely located (seclusion is good but the road to the inn is not), regular rooms are cramped (especially for the big/tall), and, for some used to firm beds, lighter quilts in summer, and central AC and heat, the bed, bedding, and climate control systems may be hard to adapt to.

Room Tip: Get a suite if you can, especially if you are big & tall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cspan37421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

There is so much to love about the Crooked Oak Mountain Inn! Just a short 10-12 minute drive from Downtown Asheville (but you get the luxury of being in the mountains!)

Upon arrival, Bear and Patti greeted us with a cold beverage and a tour of the B&B! They were so welcoming and eager to help in whatever way possible (restaurant recommendations/reservations, hiking suggestions, etc.)

The grounds are beautiful and well maintained!

Bear and Patti are excellent chefs as well! Every morning they had fresh pastries, fruit, homemade granola, etc (just as an appetizer). They also had made to order eggs, bacon, waffles (special recipe with pecans), pancakes with fresh fruit, etc.. you will not be hungry! We were able to eat outside on the patio too!

Our room was great! Comfortable bed, cozy bath robes, luxurious towels, magazine and books to read, etc. .... they have thought of everything!

We will be coming back soon!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Srusterholz113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed three nights at Crooked Oak July 23-26 and were so charmed by the whole experience. Bear and Patti are both so personable and welcoming! The inn they have established is blissfully tucked away up a winding mountain road, blending attractively into the surrounding trees. We had such a tranquil woodsy view from the Dogwood Room, which was beautifully decorated. Everything is spotless and luxurious, from the bathrobes to the towels. They will gladly accommodate your breakfast wants, along with offering a different specialty each morning. Bear helped us choose restaurants and readily provided spot-on directions. Downtown Asheville is a short drive, as is the Biltmore. Crooked Oak provides a truly memorable B & B experience!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

My daughter and I had the nicest stay at Crooked Oak Mtn Inn. This place is a FIND!
Cozy, surrounded by beautiful trees, a breakfast that is so yummy that we weren't hungry until mid afternoon...these hosts are amazing. Short drive downtown ( est. 10-15 min) but we even saw a bear cross the road up to the Inn, so you will feel like you are miles away. We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crozet, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

This was our second trip to Asheville and second stay with Pattie and Bear. We'd talked about seeing more of Asheville, but on Monday morning decided to relax and read on their lovely patio. The birds sang, the breeze ruffled the trees, and the rock fountain trickeled water into the fish pond. As for us, we simply became one with our surroundings.....for two wonderful days! The inn is a warm, openly friendly place with beautiful, spotlessly clean rooms, paths to meander, yummy breakfasts, and, of course, that quiet, peaceful patio. For us, it was heavenly, again!

Room Tip: All are lovely. Ours was the Chestnut room and the one we will always stay in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geni R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed and Breakfast Inn
Chestnut Street Inn
#1 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
The Reynolds Mansion
#2 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic Montford
Pinecrest Bed and Breakfast
The Omni Grove Park Inn
#12 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crooked Oak Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crooked Oak Mountain Inn

Property: Crooked Oak Mountain Inn
Address: 217 Patton Mountain Rd, Asheville, NC 28804-2848
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 3 miles from downtown Asheville, this mountain bed & breakfast is set on three wooded acres and offers the perfect place to relax while enjoying the gorgeous mountain views and natural setting. Inside, you will find rustic elegance and beautifully appointed guest rooms in a friendly, casual atmosphere. The breakfasts are abundant and the innkeekpers, Bear and Patti, are happy to accommodate special diets such as vegetarian, vegan, gluten-free, etc. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing