We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You only get one chance to make a first impression..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road
Ranked #8 of 65 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Myrtle Beach, SC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“You only get one chance to make a first impression..”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

My family and I booked a package through The Biltmore for their Christmas tour with the Homewood Suites in Asheville. When we arrived, the hotel was clean and looked nice and there was a cozy fire in the fireplace. We were pleased and ready to get our tour package and go to The Biltmore. As is was only 11 am, we did not plan on trying to check in or even ask about our room. We simply wanted to get our Biltmore tickets and take our children to explore Asheville. Well, when we approached the check in area, the young lady turned to us, sighed and gave us the largest frown that I can imagine. "Can I help you?!" in a tone that let us know that she had no intention of helping us was what we were greeted with after a 5 1/2 hour drive. We gave her our name and asked for our tour package and after clicking the keyboard, she told us "There is no way that you can check in 'cause we haven't even gotten everyone checked out!"...We politely told her that we had no intention of trying to check in and simply wanted our tour package and she flopped the envelope on the counter and just stared at us. We asked for a recommendation for a good place for lunch and she pointed over our shoulder at the cafe next door and said "The Cornerstone is right there" and turned away and went back to sulking....Well, although we received MUCH better service later in the day from a gentleman who was working the desk when we came back to check in, our experience had already been soured by the very unhappy young lady earlier in the day. The hotel was clean and the bed was comfortable, but we would not stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clints121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
true7, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Thank you for staying with us while visiting the Bitlmore Estate. Thank you for sharing your experience and please allow me to say I am sorry for experience you described when first arriving at the hotel. We strive very hard to provide a personable experience with the utmost proffessionalism every time, and are sorry we fell short. Please accept our sincere apologies and we hope you will give us another chance on a future visit.
Sincerely,
Troy Ferguson - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    914
    310
    85
    27
    16
See reviews for
517
472
37
142
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Breaux Bridge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

If you have any doubts of where to stay in Asheville, I can assure you this place is the best!! The hotel staff was more than welcoming. The rooms were huge and very clean. The free breakfast was great with changes in the menu made everyday. They even offered a free dinner (which I have never experienced anywhere else). The dinner was also wonderful with a different selection every evening along with free wine and beer for the adults. They even had a wait staff to offer their help to you during eating. The hotel is a short driving distance to local attractions along with shopping and restaurants. I would HIGHLY recommend this place and will definitely stay here on a return trip to Asheville.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nic337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, GA, United States
1 review
Reviewed 27 November 2013

The Hotel staff was great and the Room was Excellent!! Near to downtown, mall and variety of restaurants..............................................Definitely will stay at this hotel the next time we are Asheville, NC.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Ernest R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quakertown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
142 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We stayed at the Homewood Suites on Tunnel Road in Asheville NC for our vacation. The hotel was very clean and the staff was very accommodating. Our room was very nice. The breakfast and dinner buffets were very good and all the food was fresh and plentiful. They have a indoor pool. The location of this establishment was great and a short drive to the the Biltmore Estates.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristinaSzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level Contributor
93 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

This was my first trip to Asheville. My friend and I really had no idea what we were getting into. We booked this hotel for a week based on the great price that included the dinner meals. The location was better than we could have known, just minutes from everywhere we wanted to go In Asheville and easy access to highways to get us further afield.

The food was better than I expected but not extraordinary overall. Some things were really good, some things were average. The wine was very good and I think they may have had a local beer on tap. It was convenient to have food ready to eat after having been out and about all day long and a great value.

The suite was nice and really felt like a little apartment. We were amazed at how spacious the layout seemed and how we felt right at home. The beds were comfy. The entire hotel was lovely, decor-wise, and it gave the feeling of being pampered.

There are, however, a few things that I think could have been better, and they are why I didn't give it an excellent rating. The suites have very loud air conditioner/heating units. I am super sensitive to noise anyway and the deep rumbling hum was exactly what I was trying to get away from because I have that at home all the time. I would probably not stay there again just because of that. The refrigerator was noisy, too.

The swimming pool did not look inviting to me. It is in a very tight space. That was another reason we decided to stay there and we never went swimming once, partly because we never had time but I didn't feel overly inspired to get in the pool, either. The upside was that there was rarely anybody in it and it was not being dominated by kids as is often the case.

One of the hosts in the dining room very obviously treated people who gave her tips much more courteously than those who didn't. We had no idea that was expected. The meals are buffet style and most of the time we bussed our own tables. After a couple of days of this person's curt attitude I figured it out and sure enough, once we started tipping, everything changed. Their demeanor went from night to day.

All in all, this was probably the perfect place to stay for first time visitors on a budget, but the next time I go to Asheville I will try to find a place with a mountain view and a lot less light at night.

Room Tip: The week long rate is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catharus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
true7, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Thank you for staying with us while visiting the Asheville Area. We appreciate that you enjoyed dinner with drinks at the hotel Monday through Thursday and the suite you stayed in. Thank you for sharing your feedback about the air conditioner/heater and refrigerator noise and about my team at dinner. I will use your experience to improve us and help to make us better for future guests. We hope to see you again on a future visit.
Warm Regards,
Troy Ferguson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norton, MA, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Clean, extremely well-maintained and comfortable with professional, knowledgeable, hospitable staff. Upscale "finishes" and decor plus good sound-proofing. Good location for access to Biltmore Estate and the downtown art, shopping and entertainment scene. Property is located on a main road with easy access to restaurants, stores and other services.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We stayed as a Hilton Honors member at this hotel, which was excellent in terms of customer service, condition of the room, and location to the Biltmore Estate. Although the check-in was a bit slower than usual due to the two receptionists were busy on the phone, this would be out of the ordinary.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
6 Thank repeatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
The Residences at Biltmore
#21 of 65 in Asheville
1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Asheville
Hilton Garden Inn Asheville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road
Address: 88 Tunnel Rd, Asheville, NC 28805-1231
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
#4 Family Hotel in Asheville
#12 Business Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full renovation completed in Spring of 2017. Experience Asheville’s finest all-suites luxury hotel located within minutes of downtown Asheville, Biltmore Estate and the city’s finest dining. At Homewood Suites by Hilton, Asheville, extra room is just the beginning. Our spacious and roomy suites have separate living and sleeping areas, work desks with complimentary internet, fully equipped kitchens and new high definition LCD televisions. Start your day with a complimentary hot breakfast served in our all-new fireplace lobby and Monday-Thursday evenings, you can look forward to a complimentary evening social. Make your luxurious mountain vacation dream come true at Asheville’s new Homewood Suites by Hilton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton - Asheville Hotel Asheville
Homewood Suites Asheville
Homewood Asheville
Asheville Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing