We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homewood Suites great for a family of 5”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road
Ranked #7 of 68 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 February 2010

We stayed at this Homewood Suite during Asheville's snow storm 2009. The managers did a great job accommodating guests especially during the power outage due to the snow storm. Our family loves the one room suite option that gives us a bedroom with 2 beds, plus a separate living room with pull out sofa and kitchenette. The complimentary breakfast is served in a nice granite counter topped "kitchen" . They provide many dinning tables (not crammed together) for their guests to enjoy their breakfast.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maryrnsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
true7, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2010

Thank you for choosing Homewood Suites by Hilton recently while you were in the Asheville Area. We are happy you were able to enjoy the extra space in our suites and appreciate your comments on the service provided. We hope you can stay with us again soon!
Troy Ferguson - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,513)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,401 - 1,407 of 1,513 reviews

Reviewed 19 December 2009

Four of us shared a suite for two nights at this hotel. This was our first stay ever at a Homewood Suites and our experience was so great that we wished we had done this sooner.

From the moment we entered the lobby to check in, we felt welcomed. The lobby is warm, inviting and huge. The warm fireplace and comfortable sofas and chairs give off a cozy vibe to the place. My daughter and her boyfriend liked sitting around near the fireplace to talk and drink wine in the afternoon.

Our room on the 6th floor was a standard suite with a king bed and a sofa bed. There were two flat-screen TVs, a small dining table and a full kitchen (minus the stove). The room was big enough for the four us.

I used the laundry room at this hotel which is is located on the 3rd floor. There are two washers and two dryers available. It costs $2 to wash and $2 to dry a load (for 60 minutes drying time which was enough to dry two pairs of jeans) and the machines take quarters which are available at the front desk. They also sell detergents and dryer sheets. Having a laundry room on-site was a nice convenience for us.

The hot breakfast was hearty and filling. There was always an egg dish (quiche or scrambled eggs), bacon or sausage, various pastries and breads or biscuits, oatmeal and dry cereals, yogurt, fresh fruit, juices, tea and coffee. The staff member who preps the breakfast and clears the tables was so efficient and helpful that we recommend tipping him.

There's also a manager's reception every evening from 5:30-7:30, Mon-Thurs. It's delicious food and wine- one night was a light salad with shrimp and chicken, the next night we had meatloaf and salisbury steak with potatoes and mixed veggies. Both were delicious and filling enough that we didn't have to go out for dinner! The staff member who preps the food and clears the tables also deserves a tip for keeping everything organized and clean.

Finally, we want to specifically mention Richard Collins, the assistant manager who was there to check us in and help us out with a minor problem we had printing something out. He was very visible in the hotel interacting with other guests and he was very helpful with directions to Biltmore and the surrounding area. He's also very approachable and genuine and made our very first stay at Homewood Suites a comfortable one.

We highly recommend this hotel if you're visiting Biltmore Estate or the Asheville area. It's not as close to Biltmore Estate as some places but the staff here make you feel welcome and valued as a guest. We will definitely come back.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MollyMick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
true7, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2010

Thank you for sharing your experience. We are happy you made yourself at home and we hope to see you again soon.
Troy Ferguson - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2009

Our family had so been looking forward to our stay. Upon arrival, there was confusion as to the type of room we had reserved, so we had to take what they had, not what we thought we had booked. Later, when I told the young man at the desk that we were considering moving hotels the next day, his response was, "Let us know early so we can tell housekeeping." To add salt to the wound, when I arrived at the front desk to tell them, I overheard another desk clerk taking a phone reservation for that weekend for the same type room we wanted. Plus, as a seasoned traveler, I did not think the quality of the room merited the price. We moved across the (very busy) street to a hotel that was less expensive, had the same amenities were looking for, and was friendlier.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MartPart3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
true7, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2009

I am sorry about how you felt you were treated. Since your stay, I am the new General Manager and our Front Desk staff is new as well. We strive to offer exceptional service and hope you give us a new opportunity.
Troy Ferguson - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2009

I stayed with 2 friends and we loved it. The room was quite comfortable except for the sleeper sofa. It was awful so one of us just slept on the sofa without pulling out the bed. I'm not even sure a child would have been comfortable on it.
The food was fabulous! Breakfast was a eggs, meat, breads, cereals, etc. Mon-Thur evenings they also offer a complimentary evening meal. One night we had fried chicken, mashed potatoes and steamed vegetables with a choice of wine, beer and other beverages and dessert.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank panther12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
true7, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2009

Thank you for sharing about your getaway. We hope to be the place for you to getaway again soon.
Troy Ferguson - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2009

I'd give the hotel top marks for cleanliness and friendly personnel. The room was also very large and comfortable. Value was very good. The only complaints we had were with what I believe were design defects with the room. For example, when the guest in the room above flushed the toilet, it was very noisy in the wall beside our bed. Also, the room tended to either be too cold or too warm. There were two reasons for this. First, the thermostat and the air conditioning unit were on the same wall. Also, none of the windows opened.

All of that said, I'd still recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Jackcatscal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
true7, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2009

Thank you for sharing your comments. We look forward to having you home again soon.
Troy Ferguson - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2009

This is a lovely hotel! We reserved two nights September 27th and 28th with our Hilton Honors points. We then checked out to stay 15 nights in a VRBO property in Chimney Rock, NC that we reserved nine months prior. That VRBO property turned out to be completely awful. We came back to Homewood Suites hoping they had room for us. They welcomed us back and were so helpful in each and every way.

We cannot rave enough about the staff. They make sure every guest is happy and go the extra mile to see that your stay is a pleasant one. The assistant manager’s, Robbie and Richard make sure everything is perfect. They address every concern with the utmost importance.

The hotel is very clean and well presented. The furnishings are up to date and beautiful. The hotel offers a hot breakfast every day and light meal Mon – Thurs evenings and the food is wonderful! The staff in the dining room are very attentive and work very hard to make each guest feel special. Our one bedroom suite had a full kitchen and living room with two new LG TV’s and a DVD player. The bathroom is vanity is a good size and the closet and drawer space is quite roomy. The bed was a dream as well!

This hotel is centrally located and very close to the Biltmore Estate, which we visited many times during our stay. A tip for buying Biltmore tickets – you can get them a discount at any Ingles grocery store (there’s one in the next block on Tunnel Rd). We used the tickets to upgrade to a 12 month pass with no problem once we were inside the estate. The Ingles ticket to Biltmore cost us $45 each and the 12 month pass upgrade is $40 inside the estate. Regular price for a one day ticket is $55 at the gate.

I have posted a few photos’ to give you an idea of how nice this hotel is. We loved it! Thank you Homewood Suites!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ML36DR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
true7, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2009

Thank you for being our guests. Thank you also for you kind words about the staff, Robbie and Richard, we truly care about making every stay a memorable experience. We look forward to your next visit.
Troy Ferguson - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2009

Hotel was only 4 years old....looked brand new. Lobby was being painted at the time of our stay. Rooms were great. Service great meals included were very good. A little pricey....but great stay

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmbrwn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
true7, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2009

We are constantly making improvements and appreciate you putting up with our mess. Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate), NC
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Asheville - Tunnel Road
7.7 mi away
Hilton Asheville Biltmore Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Biltmore / Asheville
1.7 mi away
The Residences at Biltmore
The Residences at Biltmore
#27 of 68 in Asheville
1,246 reviews
6.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate), NC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road

Address: 88 Tunnel Rd, Asheville, NC 28805-1231
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
#3 Family Hotel in Asheville
#12 Business Hotel in Asheville
Price Range: £77 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full renovation completed in Spring of 2017. Experience Asheville’s finest all-suites luxury hotel located within minutes of downtown Asheville, Biltmore Estate and the city’s finest dining. At Homewood Suites by Hilton, Asheville, extra room is just the beginning. Our spacious and roomy suites have separate living and sleeping areas, work desks with complimentary internet, fully equipped kitchens and new high definition LCD televisions. Start your day with a complimentary hot breakfast served in our all-new fireplace lobby and Monday-Thursday evenings, you can look forward to a complimentary evening social. Make your luxurious mountain vacation dream come true at Asheville’s new Homewood Suites by Hilton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton - Asheville Hotel Asheville
Homewood Suites Asheville
Homewood Asheville
Asheville Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing