We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel with all amenities promised!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road
Ranked #7 of 66 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2010

My husband and I have stayed at Homewood Suites hotels for extended vacations before, and we have found them to be hit or miss. This one was a definite hit! The room was comfortable, clean, and well-stocked. The breakfasts and evening meals were true to the menus posted, which really helped in planning on whether we would be "eating in" or "eating out." We ended up having all of our dinners at the hotel, and the food was very good. The gentlemen who worked food service both in the mornings and evenings were courteous, friendly, and engaging. We would have liked a slightly better-equipped gym, but the YMCA is less than 5 minutes away, so we were easily able to fit in our workouts. All in all, this was a VERY nice hotel at a great rate.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TeamHayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
true7, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2010

Thank you for being our guest recently on you visit to the Asheville Area. We are so happy you were able to make yourself comfortable while being our guest. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon.
Troy Ferguson - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,468)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,342 - 1,348 of 1,468 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2010

We travel all of the United States and beyond...we have never stayed at a Homewood Suites before and were looking for an extend stay hotel in a good price range. I looked at the other reviews for this hotel and thought we'd give it a try. GLAD WE DID!!! The rooms are wonderful...a perfect sized kitchenette, living room, 2 Queen beds (very comfortable) and a nice sized bath and vanity area. They have a great breakfast every morning and from 5:30pm to 7:30pm a welcome receiption during the week with salad, dessets, drinks and a great room to sit and enjoy. I definitely will look for another Homewood Suites again. The price was excellent for the value. When coming to Asheville, you won't go wrong by picking this hotel. It is located very close to Biltmore and there are many great chain restaurants nearby. Great!!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DonDeb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
true7, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2010

Thank you so much for giving us a try while in the Asheville Area. We are pleased that you found our Suite Start Hot Breakfast and Welcome Home Reception to satisfy your needs. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and look forward to being able to welcome you "home" again soon.
Troy Ferguson - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2010

PROS:
-Good service. Friendly & welcoming front desk. The front desk staff calls to make sure you are satisfied with the room. Those type of things go a long way with customers.
-The suites are really spacious. Kitchen, dining area, living area, bedroom, sink area, bathroom. For the price, it is a good deal.
-Clean!

CONS:
-Not near the nightlife, good restaurants area. You'd have to drive(not far) to get to that area.
-Our view sucked which was a bummer since it was our first time in Asheville and would have been nice to see the mountains. Instead we saw the windows to the swimming pool. No sunlight. Guess we just got unlucky with that.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank slee06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
true7, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2010

Thank you for staying with us and sharing about your experience. We are pleased that you enjoyed the service you received and your spacious Suite. We do offer a Courtesy Shuttle from 8 a.m. to 10 p.m. that will provide transportation anywhere within 5 miles. We try to assign every Suite to satisfy all requests and apologize your view out the Suite was not as expected. Your comments are very much appreciated and we hope to see you again soon.
Troy Ferguson - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2010

We recently spent 4 nights here while visiting Asheville and found it to be all what we have come to expect from a Homewood Suites and more. The staff was outstanding and went out of their way to be helpful with suggestions on things to do in the area. The breakfast each morning was fresh and the hot items were actually hot. Staying here is a great choice at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ortravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
true7, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2010

Thank you for being our guest while in the Asheville Area. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. We hope to see you coming "home" again soon.
Troy Ferguson - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2010

A friend and I stayed at the Homewood Suites April 30-May 3rd. I have to give major props to the people who took the pictures for the website – they made the room look much bigger than it is in person, but after the initial surprise, we had plenty of room. We had a one-bedroom suite with a pull-out couch in the living room. I slept on the king bed in the bedroom, and my friend used the couch, which she said was comfortable. There are french doors which can be used to close off the bedroom, thus virtually giving us each our own room. The only 'downside' is that one has to enter the bedroom to get to the bathroom, but we never had a problem with that.

The full kitchen was very convenient, although we barely used it. It was nice to have a full size refrigerator – we used it to store bottles of water, leftovers from restaurant meals, and wine. I recommend turning on the ice maker immediately, if you plan to use it. We turned it off each night, because the ice falling into the bin made quite a rattle (which happens everywhere). We didn't use the stove or microwave. There were plates and silverware for 4 people, a nice assortment of pans and cooking utensils, towels, and even a potholder. A small oval table with two chairs sits between the kitchen and living room, with a caddy containing coffee and the usual accoutrements – even a bag of microwave popcorn, which was appreciated, although not used. There is a full sized desk in the living room, and a flat panel tv on an attractive stand, with a DVD player. Lighting was more than ample throughout the room. In addition to the couch, there was a chair. The free wireless internet access worked like a dream.

The bedroom also had a flat panel tv and separate sink/vanity area with plenty of counter space and electrical outlets. The ceiling fan was much appreciated. The inner bathroom containing the commode and shower/tub was spacious and we had plenty of soft fluffy towels. Housekeeping did a wonderful job – the place was spotless, and they even ran our wine glasses through the dishwasher for us one day.

One thing we found funny – I finally had to give up and call downstairs to ask where the climate controls were for the room, because we absolutely could not find them. Turns out we had to go into the bedroom, close the french door, and swivel the tv to find the control panel on the wall. (the desk was not helpful – they merely suggested that the panel “should be somewhere in the living room....” )

Breakfast is included in the price of the room, and the Homewood Suites has a very attractive breakfast area just off the lobby. There are probably 12-15 tables, and they were in high demand, particularly on Sunday morning. Each morning they had an assortment of bagels, English muffins, and bread for toasting, cut-up fruit, some whole fruit, muffins, pastry, several types of cereal, yogurt, juices, milk, tea, and coffee. Saturday morning they had bacon and scrambled eggs, and I believe grits or oatmeal. Sunday morning they had cheese 'omelets' and sausage patties. They had several people servicing the food and the dining area, and did their best to clear tables as fast as they could, but when you have a full hotel and only so many tables, it can be problematic, which is not a reflection on the hotel. I should mention – there's a small sundries shop just off the lobby as well, although we didn't have any need for it.

I had checked in on-line, and had even chosen the exact room I wanted, 24 hours earlier, so check-in was quick and easy. Parking was plentiful. We had a nice view of the hills. The hotel's location is excellent – a wide variety of restaurants close by, the mall is less than a mile away, and there's a super Wal-mart within 10 minutes where we did most of our shopping (snacks, etc). That's all to the left as you pull out of the hotel parking lot. Turning right puts you on Tunnel Road heading north, which gets you to downtown in mere minutes.

In sum, I would consider the Homewood Suites the next time I'm in Asheville. Previously I had stayed at the Springhill Suites, which was also very nice, but this time I had a traveling companion, and we liked the concept of having 'separate' rooms (and the breakfast area is much larger at Homewood). The only real con I can think of with Homewood is that there are no signs telling you how to get from the lobby to the elevators, which involved going down a long hallway, and making two left turns. It was just confusing the first time. The parking out back led to a back door with very convenient access to the elevators. There are still other places I would like to experience, but I would not hesitate to return to the Homewood Suites. Frankly, one thing that impressed me was seeing the comments from management on the Tripadvisor site. That tells me they care about their guests' experiences, and if you read this review, management team, please know that we enjoyed our stay very much and you run a fine establishment.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Catwoman62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
true7, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2010

Thank you for your wonderful comments about your stay. We are very happy that you enjoyed your Suite, our Suite Start Hot Breakfast and your experience while here. We hope to see you coming "home" again soon.
Troy Ferguson - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2010

Very friendly welcome from Robbie on front desk.
Great room - first stay at a Homewoods Suite, will use again.

Free parking, handy for restaurants, Biltmore, supermarket, interstate.

Helpful staff at breakfast made sure we could sit together as a four when it was getting busy. Best bacon we ate in a month long vacation! Great Chinese food at the evening reception too.

Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mrs-Picky-Knickers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
true7, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2010

Thank you for staying with us and sharing about your experience. We hope you find an opportunity to stay with us again soon.
Troy Ferguson - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2010

needed a base for touring Blue Ridge and Smokies which provided pool, hot tub, cooked breakfast, and wifi. Homewood offered all these at a fair price for a stay of 7 nights. The pool was cold (80) but that meant few used it and we could enjoy on our own! The Hot Tub worked and we relaxed every night after our trips to the mountains. The hot breakfasts varied but fresh fruit and other items were also available, and they were included (as is supper but better miss that!) and free wireless worked well. The suites are large, and beds comfortable. Staff friendly. Will use homewood again and come back to this hotel again. .

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gwgMimsFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
true7, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2010

Thank you for sharing about your experience while visiting the Asheville Area. We are glad you were able to enjoy our amenities while touring the Blue Ridge and Smokies. Our pool is maintained at 84 degrees, except for the hotter summer months where it is turned down to 82 degrees, and monitored closely every day. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Troy Ferguson - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Asheville - Tunnel Road
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate)
6.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Residences at Biltmore
The Residences at Biltmore
#25 of 66 in Asheville
1,228 reviews
2.3 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Biltmore / Asheville
7.7 mi away
Hilton Asheville Biltmore Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road

Address: 88 Tunnel Rd, Asheville, NC 28805-1231
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
#4 Family Hotel in Asheville
#12 Business Hotel in Asheville
Price Range: £87 - £287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full renovation completed in Spring of 2017. Experience Asheville’s finest all-suites luxury hotel located within minutes of downtown Asheville, Biltmore Estate and the city’s finest dining. At Homewood Suites by Hilton, Asheville, extra room is just the beginning. Our spacious and roomy suites have separate living and sleeping areas, work desks with complimentary internet, fully equipped kitchens and new high definition LCD televisions. Start your day with a complimentary hot breakfast served in our all-new fireplace lobby and Monday-Thursday evenings, you can look forward to a complimentary evening social. Make your luxurious mountain vacation dream come true at Asheville’s new Homewood Suites by Hilton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton - Asheville Hotel Asheville
Homewood Suites Asheville
Homewood Asheville
Asheville Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing