We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a nice place.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville
Ranked #42 of 66 Hotels in Asheville
Portland, Maine
1 review
“It's a nice place.”
Reviewed 2 May 2011

Nice hotel, was there for conference. It's very clean and the staff is thoughtful and attentive, but a bit unrefined. They're trying hard to be high end, but they miss the mark. It's not their fault, but seems like the staff is just young and inexperienced. The new athletic and sports facility (tennis, pools, large fitness facility) located down the hill and included in your room was awesome. Completely new, and completely empty. If you play tennis they have clay courts. I swam in the lap pool - was too warm, but awesome.

Room Tip: 3rd floor and up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cousinchill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    376
    309
    145
    99
See reviews for
281
409
41
193
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2011

My husband I stayed at this hotel after getting a deal on Priceline. We were here for 2 nights and pretty much just slept at the hotel because we were exploring attractions in the area. The hotel is tricky to find off the interstate due to it's position on a frontage road and the exit being on the left side of the interstate. The property is beautiful and quite large and is located close to the Biltmore and lots of restaurants. The only downfall of our stay was that they were out of king rooms so we had to stay in a room with 2 double beds. I probably wouldn't pay full price at this hotel because they don't offer free breakfast but I would be happy to stay here again if we got it through Priceline.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TKC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2011

This resort was easy- from the booking to the check in, through to the check out. Staff were pleasant and friendly, rooms were lovely, and the view was spectacular. The reception gave us a choice in rooms, which is always nice, and called shortly after check in to see that everything met our expectation. I would not hesitate to recommend this resort to anyone touring through the gorgeous town of Asheville NC!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alamance County, NC
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2011

Our stay was very pleasant. The grounds and reception are spacious and graceful but the rooms are nothing exceptional. This is obviously an older hotel but is still perfectly nice if not overly fancy. The hotel allowed us to check in a couple hours early. We appreciated that the room had no noticeable smell (no bad odors, chemical smell or strong perfume). The beds were on the medium to firm side, which I like. We got a nicely discounted rate through priceline and were 100% satisfied with the value received. This is a solid choice for a pleasant stay in the Asheville area and we would definitely consider staying here again.

The only small complaints we had:

1) Very few outlets in the room -- Keeping cell phones, computers, etc charged for two people was inconvenient and for that reason, this may not be the best choice for tech heavy business travelers.

2) No exhaust fan in the bathroom.

3) Barking dogs -- A barking dog appeared to have been left in an upper story room and his barking and scratching on the window could be heard all the way in the parking lot. Luckily we were on a different floor and could not hear it in the room. As dog owners ourselves we can appreciate that this hotel offers pet friendly accommodations but just be aware that you may encounter a few barking dogs during your stay. I was startled in the hallway one night by a sharply barking dog from the other side of a door but its owner quickly quieted it.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarenea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whittier, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 26 April 2011

This hotel is great if you can get a discounted rate. It is located in a nice location albeit driving in may have you think otherwise due to the wierd city layout. My wife and I have no complaints about the hotel or the room, but we did expect a bit more from a property that carries the "Crowne Plaza" name. All in all, it was fine and I would stay again when I return to the area.

Room Tip: Rooms from level 3 and up are the best to get
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milltip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Smoky Mountains National Park, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2011

My husband and I got a very good deal on this hotel with priceline. The hotel was very clean albeit a bit dated and awkwardly placed. When other reviewers mentioned it was located behind a Sam's club, they weren't kidding, but the grounds were large enough that once on the property you felt removed from the city--and it was about a 10 minute drive to downtown. The room was large, but nothing special and the staff were very helpful and friendly. We didn't take advantage of the gym/lap pool/spa as well as tennis/golf courts but the front desk did call to let us know it was available and how to take advantage of it.
The room had been upgraded to marble in the bathroom, spa showerhead, and flatscreen tv, but the linens and towels (while clean!) weren't especially high end. Appreciated having a mini fridge and a small table with chairs on the balcony. All in all, with the discounted rate we got on priceline we were more than happy with our stay here, but I definitely wouldn't splurge to stay here.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chickenfat-2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fortaleza, CE
Level 6 Contributor
376 reviews
190 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2011

We stayed here through Priceline. We asked for a quiet room, and were first given a room with a nice view facing trees and--- railroad tracks. We waited to see if a train made noticeable noise. It did. We returned to the front desk and asked for a new room. The clerk expressed surprised that there was any noise from the trains, and said they'd never had any complaints about it (none at all? I find that hard to believe). The next room was quieter, though my wife did hear train whistles a couple of times during the night. When my wife wanted the heat up, we learned that the air system was rather noisy. Still got a decent night's sleep.

The hotel itself, while far from new, is not in bad condition. Breakfast was included. The buffet cost about $10 (good food though a bit pricey, we thought). The bar is large and serves food at night. You do need to drive to get to any restaurants or shops.

All in all, an okay hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Asheville Westgate, NC
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Asheville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Asheville Downtown
1.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown
1.7 mi away
Renaissance Asheville Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville

Property: Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville
Address: 1 Resort Dr, Asheville, NC 28806-3815 (Formerly Holiday Inn Sunspree Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville 3.5*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville, a sanctuary of elegance and a welcome retreat from the busy world. Nestled against the majestic backdrop of the Blue Ridge Mountains on 125 acres, this year-round resort provides all the comforts for the leisure and business traveler alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville Hotel Asheville
Crowne Plaza Asheville
Crowne Plaza Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing