We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Non-ADA compliant, there's good, there's BAD” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville
Ranked #39 of 63 Hotels in Asheville
North Carolina
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Non-ADA compliant, there's good, there's BAD”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2011

Was there from Friday - Sunday for a conference. Some of our folks arrived on Thursday. The staff was kind enough to let us check in at noon, rather than having to wait until 3 or 4 PM. Hotel consists of 3 buildings - Main hotel, Buildings A& B. Buildings A&B are 2 floors. One elevator only at far end of floor - but you only know where it's at after having to ask at least 2 employees - as there are NO signs telling you where it's at. Some folks are as many as 35-37 rooms down the hall from the elevator. We were about 30 rooms down the hall. On second floor, there are also 3 steps with no hand rail and absolutely nothing to hold on to, so not good for walkers, wheelchairs, elderly in general.

There was NO HOT WATER in our building on Thursday or Friday and in to Saturday morning. The ice cold shower on Saturday morning was brutal!! And NOTHING was said to us about this when we checked in. Rooms were very clean, beds comfortable with nice bedding. Some folks said TV reception was horrible. Reception in our room was grainy.

The fitness center is detached from the hotel and it;s nearly a 1/4 mile down the hill. It's apparently state of the art, but I didn't want to have to get in my car to get to the fitness center since we were on a fairly tight schedule.. The tennis courts look beautiful. The Mount Mitchell conference room was good, the AV system worked well. The other conference room where we had our meals and evening entertainment had AC problems so it was HOT in there. We had 4 meals as part of the conference and the food was generally quite good.

When I was checking out, the hotel gave me a discount, primarily because of the hot water issue, but only because I asked for it. Sadly, the problems with the hotel overshadowed everything that was good about it.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Checklist3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cmaki, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville, responded to this review, 30 May 2011
Thank you for your review. We appreciate both the positive and negative feedback all of our guests provide. The management, unfortunately, was taken by surprise Saturday morning when we had problems with one of our boilers. This problem has since been fixed. The issues with the television reception have been resolved as well. We would also like to clarify we have the Asheville Racquet Club (ARC) available to our resort guests as well as a 24-hour fitness facility in the hotel itself, so there is no need to make the trip to the ARC for a quick workout. We regret your experience at the hotel. Please contact me so we can further discuss the issues you had while you were here.

Sincerely,
Charles Maki
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    368
    300
    141
    95
See reviews for
269
403
40
188
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, North Carolina
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2011

My experience with this hotel was very unsatisfactory. My biggest complaint was the discrimination we felt from the employees and the community. I did not feel like we were treated fairly so we left a day earlier than planned.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank unsatisfied2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cmaki, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville, responded to this review, 27 May 2011
On behalf of the Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville, please let me tell you that any form of discrimination of any sort is not a value our city or resort wants to convey to any of our guests. We appreciate your feedback and wish to welcome you back to Asheville for another one-night stay, which we will be happy to give you compliments of the hotel. We want to extend this stay as a gesture for the bad experience you had here. I am confident you will have a different experience when you return. Please contact us as soon as possible to give us your contact information.

Sincerely,
Charles Maki
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2011

The hotel is very clean itself. But is in desperate need of a full gut renovation or tear down and rebuild. This hotel, while very clean, is in terrible shape and hasn't gotten any TLC from the owners. But the management does try to do their best with what they have. Most everyone at the hotel is very friendly and outgoing. The food is decent. I gave this hotel all stars because the staff really does try to do the best with what they got. But you cannot make lemonade if all you have is lime.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FTL777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2011

Nice hotel, was there for conference. It's very clean and the staff is thoughtful and attentive, but a bit unrefined. They're trying hard to be high end, but they miss the mark. It's not their fault, but seems like the staff is just young and inexperienced. The new athletic and sports facility (tennis, pools, large fitness facility) located down the hill and included in your room was awesome. Completely new, and completely empty. If you play tennis they have clay courts. I swam in the lap pool - was too warm, but awesome.

Room Tip: 3rd floor and up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cousinchill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2011

My husband I stayed at this hotel after getting a deal on Priceline. We were here for 2 nights and pretty much just slept at the hotel because we were exploring attractions in the area. The hotel is tricky to find off the interstate due to it's position on a frontage road and the exit being on the left side of the interstate. The property is beautiful and quite large and is located close to the Biltmore and lots of restaurants. The only downfall of our stay was that they were out of king rooms so we had to stay in a room with 2 double beds. I probably wouldn't pay full price at this hotel because they don't offer free breakfast but I would be happy to stay here again if we got it through Priceline.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TKC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2011

This resort was easy- from the booking to the check in, through to the check out. Staff were pleasant and friendly, rooms were lovely, and the view was spectacular. The reception gave us a choice in rooms, which is always nice, and called shortly after check in to see that everything met our expectation. I would not hesitate to recommend this resort to anyone touring through the gorgeous town of Asheville NC!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alamance County, NC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2011

Our stay was very pleasant. The grounds and reception are spacious and graceful but the rooms are nothing exceptional. This is obviously an older hotel but is still perfectly nice if not overly fancy. The hotel allowed us to check in a couple hours early. We appreciated that the room had no noticeable smell (no bad odors, chemical smell or strong perfume). The beds were on the medium to firm side, which I like. We got a nicely discounted rate through priceline and were 100% satisfied with the value received. This is a solid choice for a pleasant stay in the Asheville area and we would definitely consider staying here again.

The only small complaints we had:

1) Very few outlets in the room -- Keeping cell phones, computers, etc charged for two people was inconvenient and for that reason, this may not be the best choice for tech heavy business travelers.

2) No exhaust fan in the bathroom.

3) Barking dogs -- A barking dog appeared to have been left in an upper story room and his barking and scratching on the window could be heard all the way in the parking lot. Luckily we were on a different floor and could not hear it in the room. As dog owners ourselves we can appreciate that this hotel offers pet friendly accommodations but just be aware that you may encounter a few barking dogs during your stay. I was startled in the hallway one night by a sharply barking dog from the other side of a door but its owner quickly quieted it.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarenea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Asheville Westgate, NC
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown
1.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Asheville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Renaissance Asheville Hotel
1.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Asheville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville

Property: Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville
Address: 1 Resort Dr, Asheville, NC 28806-3815 (Formerly Holiday Inn Sunspree Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville 3.5*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville, a sanctuary of elegance and a welcome retreat from the busy world. Nestled against the majestic backdrop of the Blue Ridge Mountains on 125 acres, this year-round resort provides all the comforts for the leisure and business traveler alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville Hotel Asheville
Crowne Plaza Asheville
Crowne Plaza Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing