We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville
Ranked #39 of 63 Hotels in Asheville
Huntingtown, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Really enjoyed my stay here. Was recently here for a doll show. For the most part everything was great. Hotel was a little hard to find. The beds were very comfortable. The staff was nice. Food was excellent.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon M, Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. I am so glad we had the opportunity to meet and exceed your expectations. I sincerely hope that you will plan your next trip with us so we can provide you with another great stay in the future. Once again, thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza Tennis & Golf Resort and we appreciate your feedback.

Shannon Mason
Assistant General Manager
Crowne Plaza Tennis & Golf Resort – 1 Resort Drive, Asheville, NC 28806
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    368
    300
    141
    95
See reviews for
269
403
40
188
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Mill, SC
Level Contributor
81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

My friend and I enjoyed our stay here for one night while visiting my son in Asheville. Great location, close to downtown. Comfortable, clean and the staff was excellent! Breakfast buffet was delicious! Try the Belgian waffles. Staff was so friendly and pleasant. Too short of a stay to take advantage of the many amenities but I will be back.

Room Tip: Our room was excellent...top floor at end.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gaterp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon M, Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. I am so glad we had the opportunity to meet and exceed your expectations. I sincerely hope that you will plan your next trip with us so we can provide you with another great stay in the future. Once again, thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza Tennis & Golf Resort and we appreciate your feedback.

Shannon Mason
Assistant General Manager
Crowne Plaza Tennis & Golf Resort – 1 Resort Drive, Asheville, NC 28806
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

This is not a resort. Although the room was reasonably clean the hallway was filled with piles of dirty linens that remained in front of room doors all day. The room next to me had breakfast room service dishes that remained there until well after 9pm. The first night I asked for an extra blanket by calling housekeeping. After waiting for an hour, I called again. Again I waited for another hour. I finally decided to walk down to the front desk to ask them to just give me a blanket. The line at the front desk was 6-7 people long. After waiting for 15 minutes, I approached a housekeeping staff member who was walking by for assistance. She said she would be right back. 20 minutes later, after she did not return I again got back in line at the front desk. After waiting another 15 minutes the desk clerk said she would have one brought up. 4 hours after my first request, I was delivered a blanket.

There is also only 1 very small elevator in each wing that is slow and also used by housekeeping staff. We had to walk up and down 4 flights or wait several minutes for the one elevator that stopped on each floor.

Vending machines on each floor were out of order.
The hotel is also hard to access off the interchange.

Very disappointing stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon M, Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. I truly regret that we have missed the opportunity to meet and exceed your expectations, but I can assure you that we will address every point you have mentioned with our staff using your feedback as a learning opportunity. I sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity to provide you with a great stay in the future. Once again, thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza Tennis & Golf Resort and we appreciate your feedback.

Shannon Mason
Assistant General Manager
Crowne Plaza Tennis & Golf Resort – 1 Resort Drive, Asheville, NC 28806
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
columbia, sc
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza for our anniversary weekend. Unfortunately, the resort was also hosting a wedding (or two), a large Tattoo and Piercing convention and another conference of some sort. In addition, the hotel accepts pets, and we were awoken both nights/mornings by barking dogs in the room next to us. Of all the things I have ever experienced in a hotel - barking dogs is probably the most ridiculous. If you travel with a pet - this may be a great option for you. Otherwise, this "resort" is too busy accommodating groups and pets to cater to couples.

Upon check-in, I requested a room with a quiet location. Our first assigned room was on the first floor. As we opened the door to our room we could hear two things - very loud live music and children playfully screaming. We looked out on our patio and found we were about 20 feet from the pool. We realized this location would probably not provide the privacy and peace/quiet we were looking for. Beyond our building we could see a stage area and hear a live band. When I returned to the front desk to request a different room, the staff was not aware of the live band. Hmmm…

Next, we were assigned a room on the second floor of the main building. This location had a nice balcony overlooking a wooded area. Much more private. However, the band was still very audible. I am by no means a prude and enjoy loud, live music. However, this was death metal. Profanity laden death metal. All we could hear was the "f" word again, again. Nice. Glad our children were not with us! Thankfully we were leaving for dinner. I just cannot imagine why hotel management would allow such an event to take place. Complete disregard for paying customers!

One of my pet peeves when checking into a hotel, is front desk staff that is not informative. That was definitely the case here. We were simply given a room key. No information about breakfast. No information about pools, golf, tennis, etc. No resort map. No mention of the shuttle. Nothing.

The room itself was comfortable and clean. Definitely older and remodeled, but above average. My husband and I are mattress snobs, and our bed was dreamy! Very comfortable. We slept soundly when the dogs weren't barking.

The details are lacking at this hotel. The elevator in our building did not work properly. You had to push the up button to retrieve the elevator to go down. There was no sign informing us, we figured it out on our own. Our room offered some nice samples of "spa" quality linen spray and lotion, but the packaging was supposed to hold three products and we only had two. The first room we were in, did not have the samples at all. Vending machines on our floor did not work, but again - no sign.Throughout our stay, the trashcans outside the front of the hotel were overflowing.

The resort is a short drive to downtown, but definitely not convenient to downtown. The entrance and exit to the resort is a little strange, too.

Thankfully we booked our room on Priceline for about half of the regular rate. I think I would have been irate if I had paid $250 per night.

In general, the pools, recreation, spa, etc. are a nice bonus to an "in-town" hotel in the Asheville area IF you are looking for those things.

The breakfast buffet was not inspiring. $10.95 per person with limited selections. Long line for the waffle and omelet station. The omelet was terribly prepared. We sat there for 45 minutes and our drinks/coffee were never refilled.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank midlandsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon M, Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. I truly regret that we have missed the opportunity to meet and exceed your expectations, but I can assure you that we will address every point you have mentioned with our staff using your feedback as a learning opportunity. I sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity to provide you with a great stay in the future. Once again, thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza Tennis & Golf Resort and we appreciate your feedback.

Shannon Mason
Assistant General Manager
Crowne Plaza Tennis & Golf Resort – 1 Resort Drive, Asheville, NC 28806
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

My stay was uneventful but disappointing, to say the least. To call this a resort does an injustice to true resorts. Checkin was laborious and tedious. Our room was uninspired and noisy. The whole facility lacked any degree of charm. Overall a disappointment and, even though it was billed as "downtown Asheville", don't believe it! Very disappointing experience. Would never recommend this hotel....er resort.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Casey290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon M, Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. I truly regret that we have missed the opportunity to meet and exceed your expectations, but I can assure you that we will address every point you have mentioned with our staff using your feedback as a learning opportunity. I sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity to provide you with a great stay in the future. Once again, thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza Tennis & Golf Resort and we appreciate your feedback.

Shannon Mason
Assistant General Manager
Crowne Plaza Tennis & Golf Resort – 1 Resort Drive, Asheville, NC 28806
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, NC
Level Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

I was here for a conference and had a reduced rate on the room. Room was large and clean and found the facilities to be nice. Took my family and my girls had fun at the pool and thought the grounds were nice. We found the staff to be helpful though we did not have any real special needs arise. Only complaint were the people who were attending same conference who were extremely loud at pool at 1:00 am.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon M, Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. I am so glad we had the opportunity to meet and exceed your expectations. I sincerely hope that you will plan your next trip with us so we can provide you with another great stay in the future. Once again, thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza Tennis & Golf Resort and we appreciate your feedback.

Shannon Mason
Assistant General Manager
Crowne Plaza Tennis & Golf Resort – 1 Resort Drive, Asheville, NC 28806
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

Visited for one night to see if it would be good for corporate needs. Stayed on 1st floor..there was people above us partying all night long. Called front desk "Julie" and every time she said I sent security and they heard nothing. Finally after my husband called and asked for security to come to our room and listen and he did. He said wow I am sorry and I will fix this. We had no sleep and when we tried to talk to front desk about it they acted like they could care less. Needless to say will never stay here again and will not use it for corporate purposes.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kriskrisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon M, Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. I truly regret that we have missed the opportunity to meet and exceed your expectations, but I can assure you that we will address every point you have mentioned with our staff using your feedback as a learning opportunity. I sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity to provide you with a great stay in the future. Once again, thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza Tennis & Golf Resort and we appreciate your feedback.

Shannon Mason
Assistant General Manager
Crowne Plaza Tennis & Golf Resort – 1 Resort Drive, Asheville, NC 28806
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Asheville Westgate, NC
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown
1.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Asheville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Renaissance Asheville Hotel
1.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Asheville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville

Property: Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville
Address: 1 Resort Dr, Asheville, NC 28806-3815 (Formerly Holiday Inn Sunspree Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville 3.5*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville, a sanctuary of elegance and a welcome retreat from the busy world. Nestled against the majestic backdrop of the Blue Ridge Mountains on 125 acres, this year-round resort provides all the comforts for the leisure and business traveler alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville Hotel Asheville
Crowne Plaza Asheville
Crowne Plaza Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing