We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville
Ranked #43 of 66 Hotels in Asheville
Level 6 Contributor
496 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“A great place for the price”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We really liked this place. The service was good and the rooms were clean. The first night we slept in a full size bed. It was way to small. So the next night we moved to a room with 2 full size beds. We got 2 breakfasts for $8 when we re booked for the 2nd night. Do that if you want the breakfast. Otherwise it is $11 apiece. The breakfast was OK. Way to much greasy food for us. The omelets are good so do that. Our service in the breakfast room was excellent. This man worked his butt off. We would stay there again. The Zip line is right on the property. We did that and had a great time.

Room Tip: The AC was loud, but that helps us sleep better. The pool was really nice. It's close to downtow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shalloh60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon M, Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you taking the time to post your comments. I am so glad we had the opportunity to meet your expectations. I sincerely hope that you will plan your next trip with us so we can provide you with another great stay in the future. Once again, thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza Tennis & Golf Resort and we appreciate your feedback.

Shannon Mason
Assistant General Manager
Crowne Plaza Tennis & Golf Resort – 1 Resort Drive, Asheville, NC 28806
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    377
    311
    146
    102
See reviews for
282
410
41
197
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Augusta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We didn't find the other reviewers to have same experience as we did. In fact, there is not much to complain about here. If coming from the south, GPS routes you around the back the Earth Fare shopping center parking lot, which is very weird.
Room (#486) was outstanding. No complaints. Bathroom is a bit tight. They should have enlarged it, & cut back on dead space in rest of room. Has a window A/C. Cleanliness, amentiies, towels, etc., were all fine. What you would expect for a $99/night room these days is here.

Room Tip: Ask for 4th floor, facing the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon M, Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you taking the time to post your comments. I am so glad we had the opportunity to meet your expectations. I sincerely hope that you will plan your next trip with us so we can provide you with another great stay in the future. Once again, thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza Tennis & Golf Resort and we appreciate your feedback.

Shannon Mason
Assistant General Manager
Crowne Plaza Tennis & Golf Resort – 1 Resort Drive, Asheville, NC 28806
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suwanee, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Free WiFi in the room, easy access to downtown, nice pool, good food, easy shuttle service to downtown, friendly and accommodating staff, quiet location, walking trails, clean pool, etc all contributed to our comfortable stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aeinewman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon M, Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you taking the time to post your comments. I am so glad we had the opportunity to meet your expectations. I sincerely hope that you will plan your next trip with us so we can provide you with another great stay in the future. Once again, thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza Tennis & Golf Resort and we appreciate your feedback.

Shannon Mason
Assistant General Manager
Crowne Plaza Tennis & Golf Resort – 1 Resort Drive, Asheville, NC 28806
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I gave this hotel an average rating ONLY because of the price. I travel a lot (especially holidays) and the price for the July 4th weekend was 30 to 40 dollars over what their hotel should have been. I'm comparing their hotel to a 3 year old property that is ON THE BEACH with larger and better appointed rooms...this hotel was still charging more without the full breakfast included in the newer beach front hotel. That being said, it is an older and well maintained hotel with some nice remodeled areas. Hotel staff was friendly, check in and out was easy as expected. Hotel food was not bad. Only real complaint, the bar staff closed early on the 4th with three people in line to buy drinks. (REASON OFFERED "We're not selling as many drinks as we had hoped") There were three people in line to buy and I counted 14 people in the pool area. If you advertise that you will be there until 7, you need to stay with your patrons until 7.

Room Tip: We got a room on the VERY end and those rooms have a larger entry way (more room) the average rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon M, Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. I truly regret that we have missed the opportunity to meet and exceed your expectations, but I can assure you that we will address every point you have mentioned with our staff using your feedback as a learning opportunity. I sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity to provide you with a great stay in the future. Once again, thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza Tennis & Golf Resort and we appreciate your feedback.

Shannon Mason
Assistant General Manager
Crowne Plaza Tennis & Golf Resort – 1 Resort Drive, Asheville, NC 28806
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbeville, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

This is our third time staying here. Each time we stay, we discover tips that help make the stay more pleasant the next time around. Having the golf course near to walk in the evenings is great. Front desk staff is always respectful, courteous, and make you feel as if they really want you there; and not a burden . The food at the bar is always exceptional; pricey but enjoyable. You can hear everything in the hallways and the adjacent rooms. Had to pull the desk chair over by the entry door to sit in to get a WiFi signal. Couldn't get a signal at the bed or desk area. Small microwave in the room would have been a great addition. Had to walk to the lobby to use the microwave at the vending machine area.
All in all was a great relaxing weekend. We like staying here at Crowne Plaza. That's why we have been here three times now.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon M, Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you taking the time to post your comments. I am so glad we had the opportunity to meet your expectations. I sincerely hope that you will plan your next trip with us so we can provide you with another great stay in the future. Once again, thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza Tennis & Golf Resort and we appreciate your feedback.

Shannon Mason
Assistant General Manager
Crowne Plaza Tennis & Golf Resort – 1 Resort Drive, Asheville, NC 28806
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthews, North Carolina, United States
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Was able to get a room during 4th of July weekend . The beds were super comfy and the amenities were nice (spa-like toiletries). The room was large and roomie, but we definitely could hear everything in the room next to us. Hmm with that being said, I wonder if they could hear us too ..lol . I'll leave it at that. Anyway, the pub downstairs was quaint and we enjoyed a few drinks on the porch to watch the fireworks. The hotel itself needs alot of updating, as its dark and dreary.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenoral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon M, Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. I truly regret that we have missed the opportunity to meet and exceed your expectations, but I can assure you that we will address every point you have mentioned with our staff using your feedback as a learning opportunity. I sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity to provide you with a great stay in the future. Once again, thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza Tennis & Golf Resort and we appreciate your feedback.

Shannon Mason
Assistant General Manager
Crowne Plaza Tennis & Golf Resort – 1 Resort Drive, Asheville, NC 28806
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This is the fourth hotel I've stayed at in Asheville in the last year. We stayed Friday and Saturday of 4th of July weekend.
When we visit Asheville, we love to do things downtown, however, downtown hotels are very costly. We've stayed at inexpensive options outside of downtown as well as an expensive option in the heart of downtown. But we decided on this hotel as it seemed like a good compromise. It was "mid price" and the location was close to downtown (about a mile and a half away) and we assumed we could take a quick cab if we didn't want to deal w/ driving. However, we did go through Hotwire. Unfortunately due to this, our reserved King room became two doubles. ( I didn't even know doubles were an option at hotels? If it were queens, that would've been fine of course. ) We didn't discover this until we entered the room and were obviously disappointed (the two of us in no way can comfortably sleep in a double & after one uncomfortable night, opted to sleep separately the second night). When we walked in and discovered it, we called the front desk and were told that with Hotwire, you can only "request" it's not a guarantee. The hotel was sold out for the holiday weekend, so we were obviously bumped for those who would've paid full price. So for next time, we know/understand the risks.
The room itself was nice with a nice view of the golf course, zip line course and bike trail. We enjoyed sitting out on the patio and relaxing. I saw many guests with their dogs (and wish I had my pup with me too)
In addition to the two double bed & nightstand, the room had a round table & 2 chairs (I think this is the 'workspace' that is mentioned in the room description?), flat screen tv (we didn't turn on), under that was a cabinet that housed a tiny fridge and next to that, a table with a coffee maker and coffee supplies on it. There was a radio alarm that had a CD player. We luckily just purchased CDs (at Harvest Records) and were able to play them.
(*Side note: why do hotels put that strip of fabric at the bottom of the bed? It is made to look like a folded down blanket, but it's just fabric/useless? This cracks me up. All the hotels are doing this.) :-)
My only 'complaints' with the room would be that there weren't quite enough outlets and no provided USB charging port (I would think at the nicer level of hotel, this would be available). The outlet by the table/chairs only had one available spot, the only other outlet we saw was in the corner next to the bed. So while I used the one outlet for my computer to do work, our phones charged over on the floor in the corner. (Also, the internet speed was slow and I had a very weak signal. I was able to get my work done, and was very happy to have free wifi, it just took awhile for the webpages to load.)
Also, apparently there is some loud maintenance vehicle that is run in the middle of the night. I didn't know if it was a train or plane or what. But when I looked out the window, I saw a light coming from the golf course. First night it was about midnight. The second night, they did it even later at night.. 2am maybe? Other than that, it was a very quiet room. We didn't hear any neighbors.
For the hotel itself, the lobby area is quite nice with a beautiful large stone fireplace in the dining area. Just from walking the main hall I saw a bar, fitness center, business center and a place of worship. The property seemed extensive and had many things to do. We unfortunately did not take advantage of that due to our short visit and plans to spend our free time downtown. (We really wanted to do the ziplining though, just wasn't enough time.)
Front desk was friendly and helpful. We checked in after 4pm and our room unfortunately wasn't ready for about another 1/2 hour (close to 5pm). We weren't the only ones and I guess being sold out kept them and their cleaning staff very busy.
Once we were able to 'freshen up' in our room, we needed to quickly get downtown as we had a dinner reservation. I was pleasantly surprised to find out the hotel offered shuttle service every 1/2 hour to downtown ($5 each/roundtrip). However, due to them being busy and everyone wanting to go downtown for fireworks/festival, it was a bit hectic. When we walked outside, there was a very large party waiting (maybe about 10 - 12 w/ children) and there was one other couple waiting. Just before the shuttle arrived, about 10 more people showed up and of course all started crowding around when the shuttle pulled up. (*Suggestion: It would've been nice if there was a "line starts here" sign to ensure those who have waited longer are ensured to get on first.*) No one but the very large party got on the shuttle. Luckily, we were told that they were going to get their passenger van asap to handle the demand. About 15 of us crammed onto that (oddly, probably more than what filled up their larger shuttle?). I knew the demand to go back to the hotel immediately after fireworks would be great (I just read someone else's review that confirmed that). The entire downtown was crazy busy and this doesn't surprise me. When we decided to go back to the hotel later, about 11:30p (their last shuttle runs after 1am, which is great), we were put in the passenger van again, so I'm assuming they must've still been using both it and the larger shuttle van to try and accommodate.
I would definitely stay here again. It seems like a great place to stay if you are going to be here for at least several days.. they have so much to do on their property and it's ideal to downtown (plus that shuttle is great!) and it's right off the interstate so it's convenient to other nearby destinations (Biltmore House, Blue Ridge Parkway, etc) I hope next time we have opportunity to do more.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank hollyNhollywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon M, Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. I am so glad we had the opportunity to meet your expectations. I sincerely hope that you will plan your next trip with us so we can provide you with another great stay in the future. Once again, thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza Tennis & Golf Resort and we appreciate your feedback.

Shannon Mason
Assistant General Manager
Crowne Plaza Tennis & Golf Resort – 1 Resort Drive, Asheville, NC 28806
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Asheville Westgate, NC
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown
1.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Asheville Downtown
3.1 mi away
Courtyard Asheville
Courtyard Asheville
#42 of 66 in Asheville
245 reviews
1.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Asheville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville

Property: Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville
Address: 1 Resort Dr, Asheville, NC 28806-3815 (Formerly Holiday Inn Sunspree Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville 3.5*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville, a sanctuary of elegance and a welcome retreat from the busy world. Nestled against the majestic backdrop of the Blue Ridge Mountains on 125 acres, this year-round resort provides all the comforts for the leisure and business traveler alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville Hotel Asheville
Crowne Plaza Asheville
Crowne Plaza Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing