We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville
Ranked #39 of 63 Hotels in Asheville
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
“Fantastic Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed with my fiance for a romanitc weekend in the Charles Fraizer Suite. It was a wonderful property and a lovely room. Front desk staff was phenomenal! Always helpful when we had any questions. Only 2 hiccups during our stay. The bed linens had to be changed as soon as we arrived because the sheets that were on the bed had very noticeable stains. And, We ordered room service for breakfast one morning and a two hours later a man tried entering our room (to get the tray) without knocking first. His excuse was, "Oh, I didn't know anyone was in there." It was a bit annoying but definitely not enough to ruin our stay. Would love to go back!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CS_SCupstate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon M, Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you taking the time to post your comments. I am so glad we had the opportunity to meet your expectations. I sincerely hope that you will plan your next trip with us so we can provide you with another great stay in the future. Once again, thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza Tennis & Golf Resort and we appreciate your feedback.

Shannon Mason
Assistant General Manager
Crowne Plaza Tennis & Golf Resort – 1 Resort Drive, Asheville, NC 28806
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    368
    300
    141
    95
See reviews for
269
403
40
188
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Panama
Level Contributor
176 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

Weird entrance but, Great Golf Course. Staff was much better towards the ladder part of my stay. Once I checked in they said we will give you a few drink vouchers but, once we where going to us them there was only one. The main floor is the third floor I would stay at the hotel again but, not on that floor because it is loud late night and early morning. The noises echo into the room. Coffee pot did not work either but, things had. They also have a shuttle that cost 5.00 and a spa, bar, breakfast/ lunch/ dinner place to eat there. As well as tennis and golf. Balconies are small bit nice on a early morning view.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the main level which is 3rd floor. It is loud....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon M, Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. I truly regret that we have missed the opportunity to exceed your expectations, but I can assure you that we will address every point you have mentioned. As a Gold or platinum member 1 drink voucher is the IHG standard but if they promised several my staff should have delivered. I apologize for the coffee pot as well. this is something that should have been replaced immediately. I sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity to provide you with a great stay in the future. Once again, thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza Tennis & Golf Resort and we appreciate your feedback.

Shannon Mason
Assistant General Manager
Crowne Plaza Tennis & Golf Resort – 1 Resort Drive, Asheville, NC 28806
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocracoke, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Great staff and the Van shuttle to down town is tremendous and very affordable. Good breakfast buffet with friendly chef and wait staff.

Grounds are immaculate, great amenities such as golf, tennis, 3 pools and a killer fitness center. Spa very professional and clean and Lena was a wonderful masseuse.

Nice clean rooms with balconies.

Room Tip: 230's to 260 even room # will but you facing grounds and not parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon M, Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you taking the time to post your comments. I am so glad we had the opportunity to meet your expectations. I sincerely hope that you will plan your next trip with us so we can provide you with another great stay in the future. Once again, thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza Tennis & Golf Resort and we appreciate your feedback.

Shannon Mason
Assistant General Manager
Crowne Plaza Tennis & Golf Resort – 1 Resort Drive, Asheville, NC 28806
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bamako, Mali
Level Contributor
101 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Excellent selection of breakfast. We only stayed three days but there was variety each day. We got facials at the spa and they were extremely professional and delightful. Wanted pedicure as well but not available...so best to book ahead ... Called same day. The shuttle into down town Asheville is very convenient if you don't want to drive. We were planning on drinking so didn't want to drive back. Overall the checkin and the check out was extremely smooth. The gym is. Excellent with lots of variety. Only down fall is you can't change the channel on the tv in front of treadmill and elliptical without help from staff. The lap pool is also excellent with access to awesome jacuzzi and steam. He walking trails are somewhat limited because of dirt bike stations, zip lines and golf course...I would only suggest opening more walking trails. Only hiccup was one afternoon when we were waiting for the shuttle which is supposed to depart ever half an hour and we were told it would be a ten min wait and we waited an hour. Nonetheless, Overall excellent experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ciararivera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon M, Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you taking the time to post your comments. I am so glad we had the opportunity to meet your expectations. I sincerely hope that you will plan your next trip with us so we can provide you with another great stay in the future. Once again, thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza Tennis & Golf Resort and we appreciate your feedback.

Shannon Mason
Assistant General Manager
Crowne Plaza Tennis & Golf Resort – 1 Resort Drive, Asheville, NC 28806
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

Went here with my girlfriend for a weekend getaway. Sure, it's an older place. The lobby did smell like old people (though there was some kind of reunion there upon our arrival, so that could be why), which is the only reason for this not getting 5 stars. However, the rooms have been updated and the staff was great. I got this from a Priceline deal and, while I knew it was a possibility when booking, I was disappointed that I got this property because of the reviews here. I shouldn't have been though. Much better deal than staying downtown and still only a 5 minute car ride away.

I did not notice any thinness to the walls, as has been complained about here, and never heard anyone next door to us. We were originally put in a room with 2 double beds and I called down to the desk and they changed us to a king room for $15 more a night, which was well worth it. I wouldn't pay full price to stay here (you might as well stay downtown if you're going to do that), but it's easily available on Priceline for 25-30% off and you shouldn't be disappointed if you end up with it. A fine place.

That being said, I'd spend the money and stay downtown next time, but that's just because I want to experience something different. Asheville's a great town if you've never been. A big city vibe to the bars and restaurants and the food is impeccable. I'll be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a King Room on the 5th floor. Seems more isolated from the rest of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon M, Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Thank you taking the time to post your comments. I am so glad we had the opportunity to meet your expectations. I sincerely hope that you will plan your next trip with us so we can provide you with another great stay in the future. Once again, thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza Tennis & Golf Resort and we appreciate your feedback.

Shannon Mason
Assistant General Manager
Crowne Plaza Tennis & Golf Resort – 1 Resort Drive, Asheville, NC 28806
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Stayed at this property back in May. It is very old and the rooms and grounds are in serious need of updating. There are a lot of other hotel options which have better and updated amenities. Only good thing about the hotel was the shuttle to and from Asheville.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carribtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon M, Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. I truly regret that we have missed the opportunity to exceed your expectations, but I can assure you that we will address every point you have mentioned with our staff using your feedback as a learning opportunity. I sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity to provide you with a great stay in the future. Once again, thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza Tennis & Golf Resort and we appreciate your feedback.

Shannon Mason
Assistant General Manager
Crowne Plaza Tennis & Golf Resort – 1 Resort Drive, Asheville, NC 28806
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

I really like this place. Great sized room with a balcony. Bed was comfortable and the food was very good. I spend a lot of nights away from home and most places are exactly the same in every city but this place has something different. I think it has a history and they are keeping it up extremely well.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Tcwayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon M, Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you taking the time to post your comments. I am so glad we had the opportunity to meet your expectations. I sincerely hope that you will plan your next trip with us so we can provide you with another great stay in the future. Once again, thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza Tennis & Golf Resort and we appreciate your feedback.

Shannon Mason
Assistant General Manager
Crowne Plaza Tennis & Golf Resort – 1 Resort Drive, Asheville, NC 28806
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Asheville Westgate, NC
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown
1.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Asheville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Renaissance Asheville Hotel
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Asheville Downtown
1.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville

Property: Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville
Address: 1 Resort Dr, Asheville, NC 28806-3815 (Formerly Holiday Inn Sunspree Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville 3.5*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville, a sanctuary of elegance and a welcome retreat from the busy world. Nestled against the majestic backdrop of the Blue Ridge Mountains on 125 acres, this year-round resort provides all the comforts for the leisure and business traveler alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo and IHG so you can book your Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville Hotel Asheville
Crowne Plaza Asheville
Crowne Plaza Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing