We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Relaxing Enjoyable Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville
Ranked #43 of 66 Hotels in Asheville
South TX
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Very Relaxing Enjoyable Stay”
Reviewed 3 June 2009

We stayed here for 3 nights. I agree with other reviewers that it's more than a little tricky to find, but the winding road certainly had no potholes when we were there. Loved the spacious and attractive room with the small refrigerator. Bed was fantastic. Grounds were beautiful. Golf with cart was only $20. Pool was beautiful. Restaurant was a little pricey, but excellent. Don't understand the the reviews complaining about smoke, as it was non smoking when we were there. Balcony was nice, and had a great view of the entire resort. Wi fi was non working in our room, so don't bring your computer, but who needs it at this place? Can't give high marks to service because my complaints about wi fi were practically ignored, even so I would highly recommend!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmb994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    377
    311
    146
    102
See reviews for
282
410
41
197
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2009

As I was planning my trip I could tell that finding the place would be a challenge. Even after staying there I still don't know where the main entrance road is, the only access I could find was a one way winding pot-hole filled lane. I had to back up once to let other traffic through. The overall appearance is quite shabby. I have never experienced such a gap between the pictures on the internet versus the appearance in person. I suppose the hotel served its purpose. We had no major cleanliness issues. But the whole complex was sprawlng and the parking rather inconvenient in relation to the entrances. No free breakfast. If I'm ever in Asheville again I will definitely look for another place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brooks04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2009

Plus side..room was clean and we found very acceptable
Staff was very social & helpful
A good location for our travel plans
Shuttle service to downtown
Very good fitness equipment and area
Very good clay tennis courts
Negative Side..pets are allowed..couple nights listen to barking a dog apparently left alone in a room
Room walls could transmit less sound
An afternoon at the pool, listen to a barking dog in a kennel left on a balconey for several hours
Fees associated with outside tennis courts

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveCleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
247 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2009

This was our 4th stay here over the past 10+ years. The pros are that the rooms and public areas have been maintained. If you are on the breakfast program the buffet is very good. Wifi is excellent. Rooms clean.
The down is the service.
At check in they could not find my room. A second Rep came out and fixed it quickly. Sat night - No Vermouth!!!? Duh...we ran out! Have red wine? yes sir, Cab or Pinot. OK Pinot. Wife wanted out of the smoke! Later found out I was charged $15.50 for a glass of rat gut Red Pinot!! TWO inquires IGNORED as that can't be right! $46pp+ dinners at the Bilmore charged $8.50 for FAR better wine. If $15.50 is the price RESPOND to my inquiries! Could not find ANYONE at checkout!
Next night - rain+ - went to the dining room. We have been there before and it is pretty good. Waited over 10 mins as a sever and a Hostess ran aound and watched us from a far. Gals behind us thought they could eat in the bar. The smoke in the bar ran us all out.
This bar has gone from great to beer and smoke We left, ate downtown. Upon return the gals behind us are just exiting (!) saying never again. How long did they wait?
Fireplaces cut. Service cut. Bar cut.
As much as we have liked this place in the past I doubt we will ever stay again. This is NOT Crown Plaza class. I suspect their business is going to be nothing but groups to try and pay the bills.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MBNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2009

My mom and I decided to add an additional night to our weekend trip to Asheville, so we booked one night at this hotel on hotwire.com. It was a great deal for the price, which was around $65.

The resort was difficult to find, so don't be surprised if you get a bit lost. I was expecting this after reading previous reviews, so we were prepared for some difficulty finding the place. The entrance is very weird and looks like a service entrance to a Sams Club, as it's a small driveway immediately in front of Sams that is not well marked. However, once you figure out where the hotel is located, it is in a convenient area less than two miles from downtown.

The room was nothing fancy, but was clean and adequate. The outdoor pool looked nice, but it wasn't warm enough to swim. The beds were extremely comfortable - some of the nicest I've slept on in a hotel. I would stay here again for a rate under $75.

If you are just looking for a clean place with a comfortable bed and get a good rate, I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoDawgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Louis, MO
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2009

Stayed here for 2 nights in April 2009. Never had been to Asheville, this hotel is right off of 240, about 5 minutes from Downtown Asheville. Hotel was clean, good shower pressure, comfortable beds. Walls a bit thin, so know that going in. We had the breakfast buffet, which was adequate, if not a bit pricey(like $11pp.) We booked online at a very good rate, so definitely felt the value was spot on. A good hotel, would stay again if in the area if the price is right.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigperm86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RICHMOND
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2009

We stayed here for one night through Priceline for $45.00. The hotel was nothing special. The lobby was very nice and check in was fast/friendly once we were waited on, as there were at least 8 people waiting to be checked in and only one person working the desk. The rooms were very clean, although they were a bit small and dated. The location is close to downtown, but not close enough to be withing walking distance. At $45 it was a good value, if I was paying full rate I would have been a bit disappointed.

My only complaints were that the room's have very, very thin walls. When guests in the next room talked, it was as if they were in our room. When they wake up, you WILL be waking up with them.

We stayed on the first floor which is also occupied by a medical supplies company. (We later found out the owner, a doctor, converted some rooms for his business.) We were stunned to find racks of medical goods in the hallway in between the guest rooms! Our concern was that there were children in the hallway digging through the items! This was very bizarre. We reported this to the front desk who told us they would look into it. When we checked out the racks were still in the hallway?

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VAFOODY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Asheville Westgate, NC
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown
1.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Asheville Downtown
3.1 mi away
Courtyard Asheville
Courtyard Asheville
#42 of 66 in Asheville
245 reviews
1.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Asheville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville

Property: Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville
Address: 1 Resort Dr, Asheville, NC 28806-3815 (Formerly Holiday Inn Sunspree Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville 3.5*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville, a sanctuary of elegance and a welcome retreat from the busy world. Nestled against the majestic backdrop of the Blue Ridge Mountains on 125 acres, this year-round resort provides all the comforts for the leisure and business traveler alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville Hotel Asheville
Crowne Plaza Asheville
Crowne Plaza Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing